Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
apogarteOffline
Post subject: system freeze  PostPosted: 06.07.2011, 10:27



Joined: 2011-01-25
Posts: 83

Status: Offline
hello

not shure i can post this here since my topic about du was moved but it is looking like a bug

after moving my fresh install (with d-u) to 2.26.39-2 i noticed the system hangs (totally freeze only sysreq B for reboot works) when navigating the web (this seems to happens randomly as far as i can say for now)

tell me if i must give more info to fix this, thanks

apoG
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
bfreeOffline
Post subject: RE: system freeze  PostPosted: 06.07.2011, 11:27
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 258

Status: Offline
Hi,

this will probably get moved also, but don't worry having your thread moved isn't anything bad, it's just a way of trying to make the forum a little more useful. Quick explanation, this thread is for bugs with the release itself, not with the system once you start dist-upgrading it (at which point you have a current system the same as people who installed with any release).

You will need to give some more information. First off what sort of hardware are you using? In particular what processor, graphics card and network card. An easy way to add this info would be to post the output of running "infobash -v 3" in a terminal.

The other question I would ask is what browser are you using (and what version)?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
apogarteOffline
Post subject: RE: system freeze  PostPosted: 06.07.2011, 13:36



Joined: 2011-01-25
Posts: 83

Status: Offline
-hi

i try to answer with the system itself so may be i have probs

ok i understand this might be moved

the system : dell optiplex gx 260 with intel 82845

freeze occurs randomly with 2.26.39-2
also freezes with original kernel 2.26.37-0 slh 18 but not the same
(i keep ability when booting 2.26.37 to use console partly after a desktop freeze, after a while freeze again have to reboot)

i have this at dmesg end : (errors not significant ?)

monique@cohendys:~$ dmesg | tail -c 1000
...
[ 13.019789] NET: Registered protocol family 31
[ 13.019793] Bluetooth: HCI device and connection manager initialized
[ 13.019801] Bluetooth: HCI socket layer initialized
[ 13.019803] Bluetooth: L2CAP socket layer initialized
[ 13.019883] Bluetooth: SCO socket layer initialized
[ 13.271091] Bluetooth: BNEP (Ethernet Emulation) ver 1.3
[ 13.271097] Bluetooth: BNEP filters: protocol multicast
[ 13.271532] Bluetooth: RFCOMM TTY layer initialized
[ 13.271540] Bluetooth: RFCOMM socket layer initialized
[ 13.271543] Bluetooth: RFCOMM ver 1.11
[ 19.011081] [drm] capturing error event; look for more information in /debug/dri/0/i915_error_state
[ 19.012013] render error detected, EIR: 0x00000010
[ 19.012013] [drm:i915_report_and_clear_eir] *ERROR* EIR stuck: 0x00000010, masking
[ 19.012013] render error detected, EIR: 0x00000010
[ 21.042012] eth0: no IPv6 routers present
[ 27.777388] EXT4-fs (sda1): re-mounted. Opts: errors=remount-ro,commit=0
monique@cohendys:~$

the browser i use is iceweasel fresh install with l10n-fr
and nothing more (no extra plugin)

even offline i get freezes (apparently not related to using the web as i got a freeze using the kde systemsettings app)

uname -a :

Linux cohendys 2.6.39-2.slh.3-aptosid-686 #1 SMP PREEMPT Mon Jul 4 21:00:23 UTC 2011 i686 GNU/Linux

help appreciated

apoG
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
bfreeOffline
Post subject: RE: system freeze  PostPosted: 07.07.2011, 21:02
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 258

Status: Offline
I don't think those dmesg errors are particularly interesting, but maybe check and see if you have kde desktop effects enabled and if so disable them.

Other then that I don't know. Do you have any other OS on the machine and does it work ok? If not can you try booting the aptosid live system and see if it also suffers from the same problems? Maybe you have some hardware problems? Running memtest might be a good idea unless you have some system you can use on the machine without it freezing.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
apogarteOffline
Post subject: RE: system freeze  PostPosted: 07.07.2011, 21:41



Joined: 2011-01-25
Posts: 83

Status: Offline
hi ok well

desktop effects were disabled from start

this machine works fine with other versions of debian including t(a)ils, from "old" aptosid live cds, mint, elive, bodhi, also with slax and similar, and puppy-s


not even had trouble with latest live cd in live mode

no prob with usbkey + unetbootin + distros either in live mode, probs comes after hd install. what i did :

i just finished installing the last kubuntu on a spare partition, with same (more or less) funcionnalities including firefox (instead of iceweasel hum)

i've been using it for 2 hours and did not experience any freeze.just slowliness and flikkering, things i often noticed with kubuntu

it's a pity because i do not enjoy using kubuntu for may reasons but i must admit in spite it's reacting VERY slowly (compared to aptosid, wondering why...) this is looking way more stable for what's concerning the graphic system... hav'nt compared yet X versions... will add this here later...

i would like to recover the use of aptosid but for now this is making system unusable... but it sound like this cause is getting lost...

good night, thanks,


apogarte
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject: RE: system freeze  PostPosted: 07.07.2011, 22:53
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

Then what about starting in fluxbox from Session menu of KDM?
If the same problem occurs on fluxbox, it's probably X's problem. (graphic driver, etc.)
If it does not freeze, then the problem is at the level of KDE.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio