Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
AriyaOffline
Post subject: (Solved) How to make English as base language?  PostPosted: 16.07.2011, 10:57



Joined: 2011-07-16
Posts: 8

Status: Offline
I have the Xfce variant. When I write, I get all words underlined in red. How to make English as the main language and how to have the spellcheck working?

Thanks![/b]


Last edited by Ariya on 17.07.2011, 09:55; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject: RE: How to make English as base language?  PostPosted: 16.07.2011, 16:45
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 481

Status: Offline
Which application with spellchecking?

If it is iceweasel: try 'apt-cache pkgnames myspell' and install the package representing your local, e.g. myspell-en-us. You can then rightclick on a textarea in iceweasel and choose the right one under 'Languages'.

Others like libreoffice use different spellcheckers, but with a similar package-naming scheme: see e.g. aspell and co.

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
AriyaOffline
Post subject: RE: How to make English as base language?  PostPosted: 16.07.2011, 17:32



Joined: 2011-07-16
Posts: 8

Status: Offline
The problem is with Iceweasel. Everything written in English gets undelined in red, as though everything is wrong.
myspell-en-us was installed. There must be some other problem.

Maybe I should drop Iceweasel and get Firefox...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject: RE: How to make English as base language?  PostPosted: 16.07.2011, 17:48



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
Firefox is Iceweasel in aptosid (and other Linux distros/derivatives).

Have a nice try.

dpt

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: How to make English as base language?  PostPosted: 16.07.2011, 18:49
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 481

Status: Offline
      Ariya wrote:
The problem is with Iceweasel. Everything written in English gets undelined in red, as though everything is wrong.
myspell-en-us was installed. There must be some other problem

Do you have 'English / United States' selected in the right-click Languages menu?

It works for me here since ever (TM) with -de-de and -de-us (always the wrong one selected of course) so thats a bit strange. Can you try if it works with a new profile?

P.S.: With firefox it might be harder to get it going as it might not be as well integrated as iceweasel -- e.g. you might need to install the dictionaries by hand as extensions which is nasty…
As dpt already said, the effective difference is marginal as iceweasel is just a rebranded firefox (for license reasons) with default config values to search in the right places on a debian system.

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
AriyaOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: How to make English as base language?  PostPosted: 17.07.2011, 06:06



Joined: 2011-07-16
Posts: 8

Status: Offline
I agree that Iceweasel is rebranded Firefox.
The language in the preference menu of Iceweasel is English en-us, but every word I write here comes underlined with red. Is there another language menu?
The keyboard is US.
The Aptosid is Xfce 4.8
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Re: RE: How to make English as base language?  PostPosted: 17.07.2011, 07:30
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 481

Status: Offline
      Ariya wrote:
The language in the preference menu of Iceweasel is English en-us,

It's NOT in the preference menu - there you can choose in which language a website should be presented if mulitple languages are available.

You have to do a right-click on one of the underlined words. In this context-emnu is an option-group 'Languages' in which you can choose 'English / United States'.

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
AriyaOffline
Post subject: (Sloved) How to make English as base language?  PostPosted: 17.07.2011, 07:44



Joined: 2011-07-16
Posts: 8

Status: Offline
Thank you!
I didn't know that Aptosid's main language is German.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject: Re: (Sloved) How to make English as base language?  PostPosted: 17.07.2011, 18:18



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
      Ariya wrote:
Thank you!
I didn't know that Aptosid's main language is German.


I never saw this with aptosid (sidux earlier).

dpt

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio