Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
effoOffline
Post subject: VirtualBox build instructions in manual outdated  PostPosted: 09.08.2011, 17:15



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 20
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Status: Offline
My VirtualBox hasn't been working for a while. Today I tried fixing it.

I followed instructions in manual http://manual.aptosid.com/en/hd-install ... n.htm#vbox

This ends up with a blue screen and a grey box pointing to a buildlog file. That file is almost empty

      Code:
$ more virtualbox-ose-source.buildlog.3.0-1.slh.4-aptosid-686.1312909456
Build log starting, file: /var/cache/modass/virtualbox-ose-source.buildlog.3.0-1.slh.4-aptosid-686.1312909456
Date: Tue, 09 Aug 2011 19:04:16 +0200


According to this http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphp ... virtualbox thread, virtualbox-source should be used instead.

This works much better. Maybe manual should be updated...?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
bluewaterOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.08.2011, 07:44
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 58
Location: Hobart, Australia
Status: Offline
effo,
Thank you, fixed

Trevor

_________________
If all else fails, get the instructions back out of the rubbish bin and read them. http://manual.aptosid.com/
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
detaosOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.08.2011, 06:30
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 166
Location: floating in the ether
Status: Offline
@effo:

Thank you very much!!! It's people like you and bug reports like this that keep this a top notch OS with an equally top notch manual Smile Keep those reports coming!

Enjoy Smile

_________________
#aptosid-art ftw!
(what would cleary do?)
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.08.2011, 18:58



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
On every boot I get a warning that goes something like
"Not in virtual box".

Am I supposed to use virtual box by default?

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.08.2011, 19:08



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 497
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
apt-get purge virtualbox-guest-utils virtualbox-guest-x11

Then its gone.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio