Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
nmcbrideOffline
Post subject: [Solved] Logical Volumes not being seen by installer.  PostPosted: 05.04.2011, 20:18



Joined: 2011-04-05
Posts: 4

Status: Offline
Hello,

I wanted to give aptosid a spin after reading some good things about it as compared to my previous distro (archlinux). However I can't seem to get it installed.

My hard drive has 3 partitions:

sda1 boot
sda2 LVM
sda3 data

After I make my volume group and then 7 logical volumes, vgchange -ay to make them active, I start the installer and only see sda1 and sda3. I can't figure out how to install to the logical volumes? I also don't seem to have a .sidconfig. I am running the latest xfce release.

Any help would be awesome!

Thanks


Last edited by nmcbride on 05.04.2011, 21:45; edited 2 times in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject: RE: Frustrated with the installer... (LVM)  PostPosted: 05.04.2011, 20:52
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

I don't know if this fits exactly what you want, but first to read:
http://manual.aptosid.com/en/part-lvm-en.htm#part-lvm
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
nmcbrideOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.04.2011, 21:00



Joined: 2011-04-05
Posts: 4

Status: Offline
I've come to that page a bunch searching for LVM related articles. It only tells you how to make LVM layouts and not how to get the installer to work with them.

Thanks though.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
michaaa62Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.04.2011, 21:17



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 53
Location: Berlin, Germany
Status: Offline
Please try those *scan command after activating to make your lvs known to the kernel
      Code:
pvscan
vgscan
lvscan
Then start the installer.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
nmcbrideOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.04.2011, 21:22



Joined: 2011-04-05
Posts: 4

Status: Offline
I did a 'vgchange -ay' it said activating 7 logical volumes.
pvscan:
PV /dev/sda2 VG VolGroup00 lvm2 [300.01 GiB...

vgscan:
Found volume group "VolGroup00" using metadata type lvm2...

lvscan:
Show 7 logical volumes as active...

installer (under partitioning):
Root-Partition: only shows /dev/sda1 and /dev/sda3
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
nmcbrideOffline
Post subject: [Solved] Frustrated with the installer... (LVM)  PostPosted: 05.04.2011, 21:43



Joined: 2011-04-05
Posts: 4

Status: Offline
The installer requires that the partitions have a filesystem on them. Even if it is going to re-format root.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
mirixOffline
Post subject: RE: [Solved] Frustrated with the installer... (LVM)  PostPosted: 05.09.2011, 09:36



Joined: 2010-10-25
Posts: 28

Status: Offline
I am facing a similar problem. I would like to do a reinstall keeping the data in one of the LV. I have just one PV with one VG containing 4 LV and a separate boot partition. My problem is that the liveCD does not recognise the LV at all (they are designed /dev/sda1-4) and they are not recognised by lvm2. I guess that is not a big problem. The big issue is that the boot partition does not appear to be recognised at all by the liveCD (leave alone the installed). If if do fdisk -l only the 4 LV appear...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: [Solved] Frustrated with the installer... (LVM)  PostPosted: 05.09.2011, 10:10



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 725

Status: Offline
LVs are detected by the live CD, but are only accepted by the installer as installation target if they're also formatted with a linux filesystem (preferably ext4); if you ignore your other LVs as install targets, the installer won't touch them.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio