Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
christophe60_frOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 26.09.2011, 08:30



Joined: 2011-06-08
Posts: 14

Status: Offline
Hello everyone,

Finally, although I can now directly boot without adding anything to the linux / boot / vmlinuz line (just purge xerver-xorg-video-radeon), other issues can accumulate slowly : at each dist-upgrade a new package is ignored, such as samba, then cups, then resolvconf, then dbus etc ...

Certainly, this version of aptosid is not for me : too many problems that bode nothing well for more ...

I prefer to give up for now.

I will return to take a peek at the next iso available.

Hi,,

Christophe
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 26.09.2011, 09:04
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
If you count several strange issues, the reason might be a bad download/bad burn. Please check the md5sum of your installation media.
Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
christophe60_frOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 30.09.2011, 09:36



Joined: 2011-06-08
Posts: 14

Status: Offline
Hi guys,

Finally, after a few days rest and after careful consideration, I decided to make a final attempt installation. One never knows, sometimes it works ...

So last night I reinstalled everything.

Yet another surprise: I reboot and I am with a screen labeled "GRUB>" and nothing else.

Does anyone know if there is opportunity to get out of there in a "professional" way (I'm sure yes) or should I yet again make a complete reinstall?

Should I really love aptosid to continue ...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 01.10.2011, 18:33
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
      Quote:

So last night I reinstalled everything


Exactly what steps did you do to achieve this ?

Where are you downloading your iso from

http://manual.aptosid.com/en/sys-admin- ... htm#chroot

http://manual.aptosid.com/en/sys-admin- ... over-grub2

May help

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 01.10.2011, 19:06



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
      christophe60_fr wrote:


Yet another surprise: I reboot and I am with a screen labeled "GRUB>" and nothing else.



I saw that behavior on a USB stick installation, when trying to boot on an old Dell Optiplex 270 computer. Retry a couple of times -- it might decide to boot. I don't think it is any issue with aptosid or grub-pc -- I think it is just a combination of old hardware, old BIOS, and new USB device.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
bety33Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 30.12.2011, 13:21



Joined: 2011-12-30
Posts: 1

Status: Offline
Try to check all wire and cable connections.

_________________
kvepalai adidas
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
sx9Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.01.2012, 01:03



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 219
Location: Wiesbaden,Germany
Status: Offline
And try to install firmware-linux-nonfree and set up your keymaps next time before you install aptosid Wink
Additionally, have you changed grub's cmd line or have you changed the grub.cfg before booting

_________________
My new self-made computer:
Intel Core i7-2600k
ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z (Mainboard)
2x4GB DDR3 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 6770
OCZ Vertex 3 60GB (SSD)
Western Digital Caviar Green WD20EARX 2TB (HDD)
...
aptosid x86_64
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
christophe60_frOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.01.2012, 12:43



Joined: 2011-06-08
Posts: 14

Status: Offline
Hi all and happy new year !

I'm back with the new release of aptosid.

Good news: no problems with installation, all my hardware is supported, even my graphics card ! Great work !

However, another concern: how can I do to make an "update" or a "dist-upgrade" with the graphical X server off ?

Indeed, Ctrl+Alt+F1 gives me a black screen (as well as adding 3 to the end linux / boot / vmlinuz line).

I guess it's still due to my graphics card.

An idea ?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dieresOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.01.2012, 12:01



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 30

Status: Offline
do you use radeon driver? or fglrx?
did you install firmware-linux-nonfree ?

if I remember right, your problem is caused by missing firmware kms disabled. (radeon.modeset=0)
To install it, you have to add non-free to /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian.list, do apt-get update and then apt-get install firmware-linux-nonfree.

you should have kms enabled (=radeon.modeset=1 or nothing in kernel params) and firmware-linux-nonfree installed.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
christophe60_frOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.01.2012, 18:39



Joined: 2011-06-08
Posts: 14

Status: Offline
Well, I use radeon driver and firmware-linux-nonfree is installed.
As I no longer need to add anything to boot, so I assumed (wrongly ?) that kms was ok.
Still, no possible textmode.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
snvvOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.01.2012, 16:01



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 287

Status: Offline
From a shell as root try init 3

If you get a blanc screen press once enter and you should get the login prompt.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
christophe60_frOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.01.2012, 18:59



Joined: 2011-06-08
Posts: 14

Status: Offline
Hi snvv,

Still the same black screen.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio