Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
snvvOffline
Post subject: misplaced panel [solved]  PostPosted: 18.10.2011, 15:35



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 291

Status: Offline
The top panel of my desktop is misplaced every time I start the PC. (see pic1)

Also when the panel is misplaced and I maximize a program windows cover the upper part of the program (see pic2)

That happens after I changed the screen resolution from 1366x768 to 1024x768 to match a projector resolution that I used. After the presentation I restored my normal resolution. After that every time I open the PC I have the problem shown in PIC's.

Every time I boot I have center the panel alignment in order for the panel to take the normal position.

Is something that I can do about that problem?

Thank you

PIC1



PIC2


Last edited by snvv on 29.10.2011, 14:15; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
spacepenguinOffline
Post subject: RE: misplaced panel  PostPosted: 22.10.2011, 14:26



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 98
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Does this also happen with a new panel?
Did you change anything besides the resolution like e.g. absolute position in systemsettings?

_________________
Susan | Hardware: SysProfile | 32bit
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
snvvOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 25.10.2011, 16:57



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 291

Status: Offline
I did not chanenged anything at all.

The new panel is going on the left and I don't use it.

The strange thing is when I choose panel -> alignment -> center (or whatever) it takes the normal position. Rolling Eyes but the problem is that I have to do that every time I boot.
Regards
snvv
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.10.2011, 08:50
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
      snvv wrote:
I did not chanenged anything at all.

The new panel is going on the left and I don't use it.

The strange thing is when I choose panel -> alignment -> center (or whatever) it takes the normal position. Rolling Eyes but the problem is that I have to do that every time I boot.
Regards
snvv


Try rebooting after the change (alignment -> center) with widgets unlocked

You may have to recenter it again, if so, then lock widgets and reboot again

This happened to me once before in the early stages of kde4 and the above helped. A lot of reboots, but it worked finally.

Note:

Has to be reboot, not restarting kde (been there done that)

This may not work for you period, good luck

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
snvvOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.10.2011, 11:59



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 291

Status: Offline
Thank you I will try and I will report what happens.
However, after extensive googling I know taht this is a very old and very common problem that is going to be solved in KDE 4.7.

Regards
snvv
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
snvvOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 28.10.2011, 15:27



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 291

Status: Offline
It does not work.
Every time I have to adjust the panel to fit the screen.
I will wait for next KDE version
Regards
snvv
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 28.10.2011, 23:02
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
You can try reloading plasma after you make your changes
      Code:
kquitapp plasma-desktop
plasma-desktop


You can also try if the above don't work to just delete ~/.kde4/share/config/plasm* and restart kde or the drastic delete of .kde

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
snvvOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 29.10.2011, 14:00



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 291

Status: Offline
      piper wrote:
You can try reloading plasma after you make your changes
      Code:
kquitapp plasma-desktop
plasma-desktop


You can also try if the above don't work to just delete ~/.kde4/share/config/plasm* and restart kde or the drastic delete of .kde


Thank you
After the commands

      Code:
kquitapp plasma-desktop
plasma-desktop


I got


      Code:
~$ kquitapp plasma-desktop
Invalid D-BUS interface name 'org.kde.plasma-desktop.PlasmaApp' found while parsing introspection
snvv@aptosidbox:~$ plasma-desktop
QDBusObjectPath: invalid path ""
QDBusObjectPath: invalid path ""
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)

plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
Object::connect: No such slot AbstractItemView::iconSettingsChanged()
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(-22, -12)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(-22, -12)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(-22, -12)
Object::connect: No such signal KWindowSystem::windowChanged(WId,unsigned long*)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(-22, -12)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(-22, -12)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(-22, -12)
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
link XMLID_34_ hasn't been detected!
link XMLID_34_ hasn't been detected!                                                                                                                                   
link XMLID_36_ hasn't been detected!                                                                                                                                   
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)
plasma-desktop(5991)/kdecore (services) KServiceFactory::findServiceByDesktopPath: "/usr/share/applications/kde4/dolphin.desktop" not found                             
plasma-desktop(5991)/kdecore (services) KServiceFactory::findServiceByDesktopPath: "systemsettings" not found                                                           
Object::connect: No such signal QDBusAbstractInterface::Changed()                                                                                                       
plasma-desktop(5991)/kdecore (services) KServiceFactory::findServiceByDesktopPath: "/home/snvv/.kde/share/apps/RecentDocuments/Stock_Market_Forum_Cypros.PPT.desktop" not found
plasma-desktop(5991)/kdecore (services) KServiceFactory::findServiceByDesktopPath: "/home/snvv/.kde/share/apps/RecentDocuments/ΧΑΡΤΟΦΥΛΑΚΙΟ1.ppt.desktop" not found
plasma-desktop(5991)/kdecore (services) KServiceFactory::findServiceByDesktopPath: "/home/snvv/.kde/share/apps/RecentDocuments/ch16.ppt.desktop" not found
plasma-desktop(5991)/kdecore (services) KServiceFactory::findServiceByDesktopPath: "/home/snvv/.kde/share/apps/RecentDocuments/Πρόγραμμα Μαθημάτων 20-2012.doc.desktop" not found
plasma-desktop(5991)/kdecore (services) KServiceFactory::findServiceByDesktopPath: "/home/snvv/.kde/share/apps/RecentDocuments/FM-Lect-Cost-of-Capital.tex.desktop" not found
plasma-desktop(5991)/kdecore (services) KServiceFactory::findServiceByDesktopPath: "/home/snvv/.kde/share/apps/RecentDocuments/FM-Lect-Capital-Budgeting.tex.desktop" not found
plasma-desktop(5991)/kdecore (services) KServiceFactory::findServiceByDesktopPath: "/home/snvv/.kde/share/apps/RecentDocuments/Ch-6.doc.desktop" not found
plasma-desktop(5991)/kdecore (services) KServiceFactory::findServiceByDesktopPath: "/home/snvv/.kde/share/apps/RecentDocuments/Ch-5.doc.desktop" not found
plasma-desktop(5991)/kdecore (services) KServiceFactory::findServiceByDesktopPath: "/home/snvv/.kde/share/apps/RecentDocuments/Ch-5.pdf.desktop" not found
plasma-desktop(5991)/kdecore (services) KServiceFactory::findServiceByDesktopPath: "/home/snvv/.kde/share/apps/RecentDocuments/Ch-4.doc.desktop" not found
plasma-desktop(5991)/kdecore (services) KServiceFactory::findServiceByDesktopPath: "" not found
plasma-desktop(5991)/libplasma Plasma::FrameSvg::resizeFrame: Invalid size QSizeF(0, 0)


and the panel was misplaced again.
I will try the delete option
regards
snvv
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
snvvOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 29.10.2011, 14:17



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 291

Status: Offline
Ok I deleted all plasm* and recreated the panel. After configuring it I restarted X and it stays in place.

I will make a script to copy those new created files in ../config every time I use a projector.

Thank you.
snvv
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 29.10.2011, 17:26
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
Glad something worked Smile

      Quote:
Comment #4 from Aaron J. Seigo <aseigo>
while annoying and technically incorrect this:

"Invalid D-BUS interface name 'org.kde.plasma-desktop.PlasmaApp' found while
parsing introspection"

is harmless. the hyphen in the name technically violates the dbus spec, but the
dbus server does nothing to enforce it.

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio