Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
superfluxOffline
Post subject: corrupted kde graphics  PostPosted: 29.10.2011, 02:25



Joined: 2011-10-26
Posts: 6

Status: Offline
Hi, I installed Aptosid on a computer that my dad does not use anymore. For some reason, the menus in the application launcher and panel would sometimes glitch up and I cannot see the text and colors would also change. I have done DUs correctly and I have pretty much changed nothing in terms of configurations. I have no idea of what is going on. Can anyone assist me? The computer is an HP a1010n if it helps to know.

Sorry if I have too many screenshots.



snapshot2.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  350.73 KB
 Viewed:  9537 Time(s)

snapshot2.png



snapshot4.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  271.96 KB
 Viewed:  9537 Time(s)

snapshot4.png



snapshot1.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  326.57 KB
 Viewed:  9537 Time(s)

snapshot1.png


 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject: RE: corrupted kde graphics  PostPosted: 29.10.2011, 17:30
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
I just started seeing this today myself

What video card are you using ?

I am using nvidia, I am out food shopping and will check this out later

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
superfluxOffline
Post subject: RE: corrupted kde graphics  PostPosted: 30.10.2011, 00:08



Joined: 2011-10-26
Posts: 6

Status: Offline
I am using Intel's integrated graphics, the i845 I believe.

Source:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/docu ... uct=459879

I have also had two times where the screen go blank on me for a second or two as well but turns back on. I don't know if this is related.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject: RE: corrupted kde graphics  PostPosted: 31.10.2011, 08:58
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
What mine looks like


http://home.roadrunner.com/~piper_1/ima ... pshot4.png

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
snvvOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 31.10.2011, 11:57



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 295

Status: Offline
Hello,
You may try system settings -> workspace appear -> Desktop theme

choose a different theme (i.e oxygen or Air) and report what happens).

Regards
snvv
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
superfluxOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 01.11.2011, 01:59



Joined: 2011-10-26
Posts: 6

Status: Offline
Changing the theme didn't help unfortunately... even the windows gets messed up.

The graphics doesn't look like piper's though.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
spockOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 01.11.2011, 11:37



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 80
Location: Near Milton Keynes, UK
Status: Offline
      superflux wrote:
Changing the theme didn't help unfortunately... even the windows gets messed up.

Your 2nd+3rd screenshots look like what happened back in April to my Intel graphics (82915G) machine of similar vintage, although I use Fluxbox not KDE:

http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphp ... =7588#7588

Scroll down to my second post for a screenshot (Right-click to View Image full size) to see similar symptoms like missing text. I never found out the cause but luckily it stopped happening a while later, probably fixed upstream. Sorry I can't offer much real help, but have you checked the logs for weird errors? (increase the number 100 for more messages, and Google any suspicious errors)
      Code:
tail -n 100 /var/log/Xorg.0.log

...or more importantly, check the size of logs; my /var partition got flooded with massive fast-growing log files when that bug hit me.
      Code:
ls -Sshr /var/log/
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
finottiOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 01.11.2011, 11:46



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 312

Status: Offline
FWIW, I very occasionally see some similar problems too in KDE.

      Code:

root@t510[/home/finotti]# infobash -v3
Host/Kernel/OS  "t510" running Linux 3.1-0.slh.2-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ sidux 2010-01 Ύπνος - kde-full - (201006131622) ]                                                           
CPU Info        4x Intel Core i5 M 520 @ 3072 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm vmx ) clocked at [ 1199.000 MHz ]                                                                       
Videocard       nVidia GT218 [NVS 3100M]  X.Org 1.11.1.901  [ 1366x768@60.0hz ]           
Network cards   Intel 82577LM Gigabit                                                     
                Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6200                                           
Processes 191 | Uptime 5min | Memory 1042.2/3822.3MB | HDD C300-CTFDDAC128M Size 128GB (55%used) | GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on NVA8 | GLX Version Yes | Client Shell | Infobash v3.37


Luis
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
alexkOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 01.11.2011, 16:11



Joined: 2010-10-01
Posts: 184
Location: Bay state
Status: Offline
      superflux wrote:
I have done DUs correctly and I have pretty much changed nothing in terms of configurations.

Have you upgraded your kernel (I'm not sure about the default kernel upgrade behavior in the latest Aptosid)? That may bring in an upgraded video driver. You could also try resetting KDE to defaults:
      Code:
Ctrl-Alt-F1 and log in as root
# service kdm stop
# mv /home/{your_username_here}/.kde .kde.bak
# service kdm start && exit
 
 View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
superfluxOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 02.11.2011, 08:41



Joined: 2011-10-26
Posts: 6

Status: Offline
So I copied what Luis did and ran the same command. Smile
Side Thought: I saw "ht" as one of the flags, any chance I can use HT? XD
      Code:

Host/Kernel/OS  "aptosid" running Linux 3.1-0.slh.3-aptosid-686 i686 [ aptosid 2011-02 Ἡμέρα - kde-lite - (201107131633) ]
CPU Info        Intel Celeron 256 KB cache flags( sse3 ht ) clocked at [ 2933.135 MHz ]
Videocard       Intel 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics Device  X.Org 1.11.1.901  [ 1280x1024@60.0hz ]
Network cards   Realtek RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+
                Atheros Atheros AR5001X+ Wireless
Processes 100 | Uptime 13min | Memory 242.3/1002.3MB | HDD SAMSUNG SP1604N,HDT722520DLAT80 Size 360GB (6%used) | Client Shell | Infobash v3.37


I also opened my logs and saw that there was this message:

      Code:

[   102.181] (EE) intel(0): Detected a hung GPU, disabling acceleration.
[   102.181] (EE) intel(0): When reporting this, please include i915_error_state from debugfs and the full dmesg.


I tried to post the relevant logs. I don't mean to impose my responsibility on anyone, its just that I don't really know what I am looking for. Sad
I have also noticed that the computer has been freezing up completely sometimes under KDE, especially when i first turn it on. For some reason though, when I boot into LXDE environment, I do not experience any problems. O_o



logs.zip
 Description:
some log files, apparently it wasn't that big

Download
 Filename:  logs.zip
 Filesize:  84 KB
 Downloaded:  239 Time(s)

 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 02.11.2011, 12:37



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 731

Status: Offline
ht := hyperthreading is used automatically, if the hardware allows it (your system does not use it). There are two requirements for HT:
- the CPU needs to have ht support, yours does.
- the mainboard (==BIOS) needs to enable it, especially early p4 mainboards (notebooks in particular) often disabled it on default and sometimes didn't even offer a knob to enable it in their BIOS.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
alexkOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.11.2011, 01:27



Joined: 2010-10-01
Posts: 184
Location: Bay state
Status: Offline
You may want to check for messages other than "no error state collected" in i915_error_state:
      Code:
# mount -t debugfs debugfs /sys/kernel/debug
# cat /sys/kernel/debug/dri/0/i915_error_state
 
 View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
superfluxOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.11.2011, 05:44



Joined: 2011-10-26
Posts: 6

Status: Offline
I redirected the cat results into a file.

I don't know what other files are important, I only posted the dmesg, Xorg.0.log and the i915_error_state log so far.



errorstate.zip
 Description:
only the errorstate

Download
 Filename:  errorstate.zip
 Filesize:  84.99 KB
 Downloaded:  271 Time(s)

 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
alexkOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.11.2011, 21:05



Joined: 2010-10-01
Posts: 184
Location: Bay state
Status: Offline
Looks like i915 driver issues in combination with your Intel 845G integrated graphics chipset. You could try turning off desktop effects in KDE, changing your font anti-aliasing settings or add a PCI video card. When you get a system freeze, is it really complete or can you still get to a console with Ctrl-Alt-F1 or get back to a log-in with Ctrl-Alt-PrtScreen-k?
 
 View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
superfluxOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 04.11.2011, 06:31



Joined: 2011-10-26
Posts: 6

Status: Offline
It's completely frozen.

What is also weird is that when I login into the desktop and not move the mouse after its done loading up everything, that is when it freezes. When I move the mouse, the desktop doesn't tend to freeze up, not to say that it won't freeze up later.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio