Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
towoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.10.2011, 18:46



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 497
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
With a GTX480, you don't need this patched xserver, since your card is supporting accelerated trapazoids.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.10.2011, 19:04



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
      towo wrote:
With a GTX480, you don't need this patched xserver, since your card is supporting accelerated trapazoids.


OK, thank you towo.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
vinurOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 08.10.2011, 22:52



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 58
Location: Lake Oswego
Status: Offline
Some time Later today I am building (rebuilding a good machine)... a new install using a nVidia card.
there will be no proprietary drivers. I will be building Google Earth 6.x as its main functional use
This is a test, as I hear it can be done.
This is an infobash -v3 of its current state:
Eyland3:~$ infobash -v3
Host/Kernel/OS "Eyland3" running Linux 2.6.39-3.slh.1-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ aptosid 2011-01 Γῆρας - kde-lite - (201102051540) ]
CPU Info 2x AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5000+ 512 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm svm ) clocked at [ 1800.000 MHz ]
Videocard nVidia G86 [GeForce 8500 GT] X.Org 1.10.2.902 [ 1920x1080@50.0hz ]
Network cards D-Link System DGE-560T PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Adapter, at port: 6c00
Processes 115 | Uptime 7days | Memory 442.6/2013.3MB | HDD Maxtor 6V300F0 Size 302GB (10%used) | GLX Renderer GeForce 8500 GT/PCI/SSE2 | GLX Version 3.3.0 NVIDIA 275.09.07 | Client Shell | Infobash v3.36
michael@Eyland3:~$

It will be using a different hard drive and the install will be 2011-2 aptosid

lets see what it does... I really don't want goobernary code drivers. Smile

edit - sorry for delay in report, I had to buy a replacement for the DVD drive... it was 6 years old and kicked the bucket as it were. It was a Plextor 716 DVD writer drive. replaced with another Plextor drive.
Principle build with 2011-2 and using nVidia Video card was flawless with stock aptosid build and upgrade to current build configuration.
I have installed the .deb GooglEarth building tools already and will download the GoogleEarth 6 .bin very soon from Google.
repositories used for this are:
repositories:

http://aptosid.com/debian/ sid main fix.main

http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ experimental main contrib non-free

http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ unstable main contrib non-free

staying away from nVidia non-free deliberately for this test.
looks good so far with freedom - drivers
mike@Eyland3:~$ infobash -v3
Host/Kernel/OS "Eyland3" running Linux 3.0-6.slh.4-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ aptosid 2011-02 Ἡμέρα - kde-lite - (201107131633) ]
CPU Info 2x AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5000+ 512 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm svm ) clocked at [ 1000.000 MHz ]
Videocard nVidia G86 [GeForce 8500 GT] X.Org 1.11.1 [ 1920x1080@60.0hz ]
Network cards D-Link System Inc DGE-560T PCI Express Gigabit
Processes 135 | Uptime 10:04 | Memory 481.8/2013.2MB | HDD ST3500418AS Size 502GB (1%used) | GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on NV86 | GLX Version Yes | Client Shell | Infobash v3.37
mike@Eyland3:~$
Final note here... I have installed the Free video drivers to my main system, in fact rebuilt it with just non Proprietary drivers for all now... they perform better than I had hoped, better than the formal drivers for all that I do at this point.
The system is faster than it has ever been, no issues or complaints from me.
michael@Eyland1:~$ infobash -v3
Host/Kernel/OS "Eyland1" running Linux 3.1-0.slh.2-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ aptosid 2011-02 Ἡμέρα - kde-lite - (201107131633) ]
CPU Info 4x AMD Phenom II X4 955 512 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm svm ) clocked at [ 3214.410 MHz ]
Videocard nVidia G96 [GeForce 9400 GT] X.Org 1.11.1.901 [ 1920x1080@60.0hz ]
Network cards D-Link System Inc DGE-560T PCI Express Gigabit
Processes 138 | Uptime 9:44 | Memory 631.0/7991.5MB | HDD ST3500418AS,ST32000641AS Size 2500GB (37%used) | GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on NV96 | GLX Version Yes | Client Shell | Infobash v3.37
Google Earth is no longer an issue either.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
CaesarTjalboOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 06.11.2011, 09:45



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 95
Location: Enschede
Status: Offline
I don't do DUs very regularly so I've no overview of development. Today's DU brought in
      Code:
nvidia-glx:
  Installed: 280.13.really.275.36-1
and perhaps other relevant packages. So far it looks like the compositing issues are fixed (without using Towo's patch).
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
kidiotOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 08.11.2011, 12:59



Joined: 2011-10-15
Posts: 3

Status: Offline
I d-u'd today and now when i startx this message appears:
      Quote:
Parse error on line 7 of section ServerLayout in file /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-nvidia.conf
" -reen0" is not a valid keyword in this section.
(EE) Problem parsing the config file
(EE) Error parsing the config file

Fatal server error:
no screens found


which leaves me without X.
There is no such option/keyword in the config file.
I already renamed the file and reinstalled the Nvidia Module, without success.
Old kernel also doesn't work with X anymore.

Is there any chance to get X back with Nvidia driver or do I need to switch to nouveau?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
broweOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 08.11.2011, 13:23



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 152
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Please post the xorg.conf (if you have one) and 20-nvidia.conf files. From what you pasted already I suspect a typo in 20-nvidia.conf.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
kidiotOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 08.11.2011, 14:06



Joined: 2011-10-15
Posts: 3

Status: Offline
Well, that took me to the right direction, after restoring an old 20-nvidia.conf X is starting again. It seems "nvidia-settings" is screwing things up.
I'll try to find out what excactly is going wrong there.
Thanks for now and sorry if i caused any trouble.

Edit: Now i found out where the problem was in the file.
I just switched back from TwinView as i don't use it atm and the part marked red was missing.
      Quote:
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
Option "metamodes" "DFP-0: 1366x768 +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection


What did i learn from this experience? Never trust "nvidia-settings" again and don't take X-error-messages literally Wink
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
broweOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.11.2011, 18:27



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 152
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
I find nvidia-setting useful as a reference for what's going on while in the gui, but the write to disk functionality from within the program shouldn't be trusted. It is good you had an old conf to rely on, however I'd go one step further and either comment out the lines that refer to TwinView or have 2 conf files, one for when you use TwinView and one for when you don't.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio