Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
grefabuOffline
15 Post subject: (solved) SATA Hotplug  PostPosted: 27.10.2011, 08:15



Joined: 2010-09-15
Posts: 9

Status: Offline
Hi,

is it possible to change a sata harddisk until the system runs?

My opoinion is to setup with this hardware a small home server. And no I wonder if I could change a harddisk from a (mdadm) raid without shoutdown the system,...


Chenbro ES34169 http://www.mini-tft.de/xtc-neu/product_info.php/info/p42522_Chenbro-ES34169--Gehaeuse--Mini-ITX--4-Hot-Swap-HDD.html/XTCsid/a19274a41b8e30edfcdec7c26c4367a0
and
Jetway JNC9C-550-LF
http://www.mini-tft.de/xtc-neu/product_ ... c26c4367a0

There are two sata controlers:

Intel NM10:

- 2x SATA2 3Gb/s ports

JMicron® JMB363 PATA and SATA controller:

- 1x UltraDMA 133/100/66/33 for up to 2 PATA devices
- 2 Internal SATA2 3.0Gb/s port with RAID 0, 1, JBOD

If it isn't possible with this hardware is there the possibility with linux overall?

Bye

Gregor


Last edited by grefabu on 10.12.2011, 07:59; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOnline!
Post subject: RE: SATA Hotplug  PostPosted: 27.10.2011, 08:27



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 500
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Online!
Sata itself is hotplugable.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
grefabuOffline
Post subject: RE: SATA Hotplug  PostPosted: 04.12.2011, 12:00



Joined: 2010-09-15
Posts: 9

Status: Offline
Hi,

when I tried it, the changed disk don't reconiesed from the system.

I change althoug the slot.
Wheter dmesg nor a log told me that there something happend.
And I can't see a new device in /dev/sdX

Bye

Gregor
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dieresOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.12.2011, 10:55



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 30

Status: Offline
if you want sata hotplugable, I think you have to set it to ahci mode in bios.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 08.12.2011, 02:11



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
      dieres wrote:
if you want sata hotplugable, I think you have to set it to ahci mode in bios.


Not all systems may have that mode however
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
grefabuOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.12.2011, 07:59



Joined: 2010-09-15
Posts: 9

Status: Offline
AHCI was the clue,

Thanks
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio