Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
kermOffline
15 Post subject: [solved] grub hangs (here too)  PostPosted: 09.12.2011, 07:05



Joined: 2011-01-03
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
Friends:

Some 3 months ago, on my #2-rig, a grub1>grub2 upgrade went sour:
grub loading stage 1.5.
grub loading, please wait...
Error 15

Since then I've just been looking at it, scratching my head; because cfdisk shows two partitions flagged as boot:
-sda1 (fat32) containing win2k, and,
-sda5 (reiserfs): /

Q1: Is there something I ought to do about that before proceeding with the manual's guide (Using chroot to recover ...) ?

Following the manual procedure:

      Code:
mount --bind /run /mnt/aptosid-chroot/run

the system answers:
"mount: mount point /mnt/aptosid-chroot/run does not exist"

Q2:What means that, please?
Q3:With my partitions as described above, and dual-boot, I presume I ought to run the mount /dev/sda1 etc,etc, /efi line.
Yes?

My system was a fairly mature sidux full installation frequently aptosid dist-upgraded. My live disk is aptosid 2011-02 full.

I'll be grateful, as always, for assistance.

kerm
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject: RE: grub hangs (here too)  PostPosted: 09.12.2011, 20:39
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
Use/boot to the live disk

As root
      Code:
mkdir -p /media/sda5  (might have to do this)

mount /dev/sda5 /media/sda5

/usr/sbin/grub-install --recheck --no-floppy --root-directory=/media/sda5 /dev/sda

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
kermOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.12.2011, 03:12



Joined: 2011-01-03
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
Piper:

Thank you for your reply.

I hope you won't take offense at my ignorance. I ought always to begin with a disclaimer: I'm a perpetual beginner.

Are you suggesting that I apply your code as a stand-alone solution that ought (by itself) to restore grub?
Or are you suggesting I apply your code before the chroot routine?
Or that I apply it after the chroot routine?

kerm
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.12.2011, 04:31
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
Lets look at some things
      Quote:
a grub1>grub2 upgrade went sour: Error 15


This *usually happens during the transition when an option is given about where to
install grub 2 and the user either hits enter or chooses the
wrong partition/drive.

Do you remember such an option ? What did you choose ?

I have never had to use the chroot routine as of yet, what I posted above has worked for me countless times for fixing grub, but it could be just luck, you can try that first,please include this --> mkdir -p /media/sda5, do the above what I posted in the order I posted it

      Quote:
cfdisk shows two partitions flagged as boot
In theory linux doesn't have/need to be flagged.

      Quote:
Are you suggesting that I apply your code as a stand-alone solution that ought (by itself) to restore grub?


Yes, if that don't work, then the chroot comes into play http://manual.aptosid.com/en/sys-admin- ... rub1-grub2

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
kermOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.12.2011, 21:47



Joined: 2011-01-03
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
Piper:

To your query- do I remember what I did in my grub1>grub2 upgrade that may have created the mess: I have no idea.
I'll be 75 next month; my memory is going the way of the planet's icepack;-)

I'm in awe! Your fix worked perfectly. My rig is up and running; apparently all is well.
MANY thanks!

Looking back at the manual, I now see your fix here:
MBR Bootsector overwritten by Windows, a corrupted and /or to recover Grub2

I overlooked that (for whatever reason) and jumped to the chroot routine. Perhaps for the benefit of other "perpetual beginners", an overworked admin could give your fix a little more prominence?

Best regards to all.
kerm
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.12.2011, 00:22
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
Glad it worked (it's not my fix, but the manual is great Smile)

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
RoEnOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.12.2011, 10:37
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 15

Status: Offline
http://manual.aptosid.com/en/sys-admin- ... htm#chroot



manual_1.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  93.08 KB
 Viewed:  7838 Time(s)

manual_1.png


 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio