Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
kermOffline
Post subject: another grub1>grub2 upgrade gone wrong  PostPosted: 08.01.2012, 23:05



Joined: 2011-01-03
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
Friends:

Thanks to Piper's kind advice a month ago, grub2 is working properly on my #2-rig.
So today, seeing grub 1.97 on my #1-rig, I tried to upgrade it to grub2.
"Wenn es dem Esel zu wohl ist, geht er aufs Eis."

Now I'm stuck in glue again. At "grub loading" I get "Entering rescue mode... error: file not found grub rescue>"

I followed the manual's prescribed process:
"Upgrading from Grub Legacy to Grub 2"

I completed step#1.
After step#2, system reported "grub-gfxboot" wasn't found.
And I moved on to step#3; and that didn't work.
And I rebooted.And got the above error.

So, with usual apologies for my Dummheit: was nun Rolling Eyes ?
I have aptosid livedisk 2011-02.

kerm
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject: Re: another grub1>grub2 upgrade gone wrong  PostPosted: 08.01.2012, 23:21
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 480

Status: Offline
      kerm wrote:
And I moved on to step#3; and that didn't work.
And I rebooted.And got the above error.


Rebooting helps to fix windows or to boot into a new kernel (but that's not really needed either: kexec). In Linux/Debian/aptosid a reboot will fix nothing - in reality it is the worst thing you can do is reboot if something hasn't worked. Beside that you haven't told us what hasn't worked…

Anyway: Scroll a bit down on the manual page, it tells you how to recover from a broken grub2.

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
x-un-i
Post subject: RE: another grub1>grub2 upgrade gone wrong  PostPosted: 08.01.2012, 23:21
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 170

Probably you should reinstall the whole grub2 thing ...

Grub overwritten

Btw if something fails it's always important to know the error messages dont keep them secret.

_________________
Why do strong arms fatigue themselves with frivolous dumbbells?
To dig a vineyard is worthier exercise for men.
Marcus Valerius Martialis, römischer Satiriker und Epigrammdichter

Será que o diabo perdeu a virgindade?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
kermOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.01.2012, 22:03



Joined: 2011-01-03
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
@DonKult, @x-un-i:

Thank you very much for replying.

      Quote:
Btw if something fails it's always important to know the error messages dont keep them secret.


On fait son possible.

I take it you both suggest I follow the manual's "using chroot" routine to restore grub. And so I've begun.
After I ran
      Code:
mount --bind /proc /mnt/aptosid-chroot/proc

-came the reply:
      Quote:
mount: mount point /mnt/aptosid-chroot/proc does not exist

SVP: what does that mean? (And how should I continue?)

kerm
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
x-un-i
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.01.2012, 22:19
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 170

      kerm wrote:

And so I've begun.
After I ran
      Code:
mount --bind /proc /mnt/aptosid-chroot/proc

-came the reply:
      Quote:
mount: mount point /mnt/aptosid-chroot/proc does not exist

SVP: what does that mean? (And how should I continue?)

kerm


did you have done before... with the right device there not necessarly .. sda2 ...??

      Code:

mkdir /mnt/aptosid-chroot
mount /dev/sda2 /mnt/aptosid-chroot

_________________
Why do strong arms fatigue themselves with frivolous dumbbells?
To dig a vineyard is worthier exercise for men.
Marcus Valerius Martialis, römischer Satiriker und Epigrammdichter

Será que o diabo perdeu a virgindade?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
kermOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.01.2012, 00:31



Joined: 2011-01-03
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
@ x-un-i:

Thank you for your patience.
You asked:

      Quote:

did you have done before... with the right device there not necessarly .. sda2 ...??

Code:

mkdir /mnt/aptosid-chroot
mount /dev/sda2 /mnt/aptosid-chroot



Yes. Here is what has happened so far. sda6 is my root partition.

      Code:
root@aptosid:~# mkdir /mnt/aptosid-chroot
root@aptosid:~# mount /dev/sda6 /mnt/aptosid-chroot
root@aptosid:~# mount --bind /proc /mnt/aptosid-chroot/proc
mount: mount point /mnt/aptosid-chroot/proc does not exist
root@aptosid:~#


kerm
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
x-un-i
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.01.2012, 17:10
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 170

Please check that /dev/sda6 is the root partition of your aptosid-install

after have it mounted
      Code:

cat /mnt/aptosid-chroot/etc/aptosid-version


if it shows something interesting then you please verify that the directory proc under /mnt/aptosid-chroot/ exists.

In that case go further entering the commands carefully otherwise you did not have mounted your aptosid install partition.

_________________
Why do strong arms fatigue themselves with frivolous dumbbells?
To dig a vineyard is worthier exercise for men.
Marcus Valerius Martialis, römischer Satiriker und Epigrammdichter

Será que o diabo perdeu a virgindade?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
kermOffline
Post subject: another grub1>grub2 upgrade gone wrong  PostPosted: 08.02.2012, 00:14



Joined: 2011-01-03
Posts: 34

Status: Offline
x-un-i:

I apologize for my long silence.

It pains me to confess such stupidity. But. I had three hdds in my machine, and I was mistakenly trying to fix grub on the wrong hdd.
I know now I had only to look at fstab. But I didn't know at time I was trying to work the fix.

I've decided (possibly wrongly again) that I may have created further complications doing that.And I've chosen to do a fresh install on a new hdd.

I thank you very much for your generosity in trying to help.

I'm now going to ask in another thread for some clarification to the "Moving Home" guide in the manual.

kerm
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio