Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
rubenvbOffline
15 Post subject: [SOLVED] KDE's suspend to disk suspends, but clean reboots  PostPosted: 30.09.2010, 12:10



Joined: 2010-09-29
Posts: 16

Status: Offline
Hi,

When I click "suspend to disk" in the KMenu, the laptop tries to suspend (and does so without error it seems), but when resuming, GRUB loads and a clean reboot is initiated...

This is a fairly clean aptosid-2010-02 install, with only the binary NVIDIA blob and a custom xorg.conf (Busid entry) file for the crap NVIDIA Hybrid stuff.

I remember suspend to disk worked in sidux somewhere in late 2009, begin 2010, if that's a consolation.

What can I try? Thanks

PS: suspend to RAM works fine.


Last edited by rubenvb on 02.10.2010, 10:02; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
rubenvbOffline
Post subject: RE: KDE  PostPosted: 30.09.2010, 20:14



Joined: 2010-09-29
Posts: 16

Status: Offline
I have discovered the solution: grub was not configured to resume from a suspended session.

I added "resume=/dev/sda3" (sda3 = my swap partition) to /etc/default/grub:
      Quote:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet nosplash resume=/dev/sda3"

After the modification:
      Quote:

su
update-grub
exit


I feel this should be default behavior for an aptosid install with a swap partition, no?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ikeinthaiOffline
Post subject: suspend to disk.  PostPosted: 01.10.2010, 06:58



Joined: 2010-09-22
Posts: 119
Location: bigannastybkk
Status: Offline
      rubenvb wrote:
I have discovered the solution: grub was not configured to resume from a suspended session.

I added "resume=/dev/sda3" (sda3 = my swap partition) to /etc/default/grub:


thanks for this.

ike.

_________________
aptosid: magic in action, the point of the spear. bleedin pearls before swine? lets hope not. freesoftware/freedomsoftware=a chance at freedom. participants, engage your vehicle. . . avatar by zenren
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject: RE: suspend to disk.  PostPosted: 01.10.2010, 15:01



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
This should be in the wiki/manual to help others who have this issue too. Also your swap has to be a bit larger than the total amount of physical RAM in your machine in order for this to work properly
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
LatOffline
Post subject: RE: suspend to disk.  PostPosted: 02.10.2010, 18:42



Joined: 2010-09-19
Posts: 165

Status: Offline
I'd prefer to use UUID
resume2=swap=UUID=794b5358-b197-4757-0e94-26eb6c24c556

use
      Code:
blkid -t TYPE=swap -o value -s UUID
(taken from get-resume-partition)

to find the UUID of the swap partition(s)
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
LatOffline
Post subject: RE: suspend to disk.  PostPosted: 02.10.2010, 18:47



Joined: 2010-09-19
Posts: 165

Status: Offline
However, I do remember you could use a file instead a partition for a swap. I can't remember if you can use that swap file for hibernation
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
rubenvbOffline
Post subject: RE: suspend to disk.  PostPosted: 02.10.2010, 21:02



Joined: 2010-09-29
Posts: 16

Status: Offline
How come a resume takes so long? On Windows, resuming is about 15-20 seconds, suspend around 30-40. In linux, it takes 30-40 for both actions. The total amount of used memory is much less in Linux, why does it take longer to resume?

I have 4 GB RAM, but only around 800 MB is used (swap + RAM) in linx, about 1.5 GB (swap + RAM) is used in Windows.

About he UUID: agreed, it should be preferred, will change that when I have time/desire/.../need Smile
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
yollywauOffline
Post subject: RE: suspend to disk.  PostPosted: 03.10.2010, 07:33



Joined: 2010-09-25
Posts: 2

Status: Offline
Das mit der Bootoption resume=UUID=*** klappt bei mir jetzt auch, Smile
Schon mal ein Lichtblick. Bei hibernate klappt danach wlan, nur bei suspend leider nicht...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio