Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
pupiddoOffline
15 Post subject: [Solved] error for grub upgrade  PostPosted: 21.03.2012, 15:32



Joined: 2012-03-21
Posts: 10

Status: Offline
in the last dist-upgrade there's an upgrade of grub:

grub-common (1.99-17 => 1.99-18 )
grub-pc (1.99-17 => 1.99-18 )
grub-pc-bin (1.99-17 => 1.99-18 )
grub2-common (1.99-17 => 1.99-18 )

but in the installation procedure this was the output:
Setting up grub-pc (1.99-18 ) ...
/usr/sbin/grub-setup: avviso: Tentativo di installare GRUB su un disco privo di partizioni o su una partizione. Tale pratica non è raccomandabile..
/usr/sbin/grub-setup: avviso: L'embed non è possibile. GRUB pu◈ essere installato con questa configurazione solo usando blocklist. Le blocklist non sono comunque affidabili e ne viene sconsigliato l'uso..
Installation finished. No error reported.
(my system is in italian)

after reboot the system did't find my harddisk.So I came back to my image backup.

Do you have any suggestion?Am I the only one with this problem?

This is my harddisk:
fdisk -l /dev/sda

Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders, total 976773168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000c8d83

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 63 41158529 20579233+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 41158530 43230914 1036192+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda3 43230915 976768064 466768575 8e Linux LVM


Last edited by pupiddo on 22.03.2012, 08:48; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dorinOffline
Post subject: RE: error for grub upgrade  PostPosted: 21.03.2012, 17:02



Joined: 2011-01-20
Posts: 18
Location: Vatra Dornei, Romania
Status: Offline
Same problem here on my home box. I try to recover grub2 with live iso and chroot but no luck.
If I use the live option "Boot from harddisk" it work.
I have 4 OS but non work as usual.The message is:
error: no such partition
Press any key to continue...
Then again the grub menu....endless
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
x-un-i
Post subject: RE: error for grub upgrade  PostPosted: 21.03.2012, 17:22
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 170

the manual describes the procedure to recover from an overwritten grub or to reinstall the grub just folllow it

_________________
Why do strong arms fatigue themselves with frivolous dumbbells?
To dig a vineyard is worthier exercise for men.
Marcus Valerius Martialis, römischer Satiriker und Epigrammdichter

Será que o diabo perdeu a virgindade?


Last edited by x-un-i on 21.03.2012, 17:22; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
grumpyOffline
Post subject: RE: error for grub upgrade  PostPosted: 21.03.2012, 17:22



Joined: 2012-03-21
Posts: 1

Status: Offline
puppido,dorin,
see this:
http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=664718
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dorinOffline
Post subject: RE: error for grub upgrade  PostPosted: 21.03.2012, 17:37



Joined: 2011-01-20
Posts: 18
Location: Vatra Dornei, Romania
Status: Offline
@x-un-i
I've use the manual and live iso for recover BUT NO LUCK!
@grumpy
Thanks for info. I'l try to downgrade.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
x-un-i
Post subject: RE: error for grub upgrade  PostPosted: 21.03.2012, 17:50
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 170

if you can boot the HD install using the iso you could try to reinstall the grub from the running system

http://manual.aptosid.com/en/sys-admin- ... over-grub2

_________________
Why do strong arms fatigue themselves with frivolous dumbbells?
To dig a vineyard is worthier exercise for men.
Marcus Valerius Martialis, römischer Satiriker und Epigrammdichter

Será que o diabo perdeu a virgindade?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
pupiddoOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: error for grub upgrade  PostPosted: 21.03.2012, 19:01



Joined: 2012-03-21
Posts: 10

Status: Offline
      x-un-i wrote:
if you can boot the HD install using the iso you could try to reinstall the grub from the running system

http://manual.aptosid.com/en/sys-admin- ... over-grub2


@x-un-i
my backup works properly ..so I'm waiting a packages upgrade, different from 1.99-18.
Thanks
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dorinOffline
Post subject: RE: error for grub upgrade  PostPosted: 21.03.2012, 19:05



Joined: 2011-01-20
Posts: 18
Location: Vatra Dornei, Romania
Status: Offline
@x-un-i
I've already do this at least 5 times but NO LUCK!
I've follow the manual (by the way, I translate it) and no chance.
I don't use to scream for help when I don't really need.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
mheyesOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: error for grub upgrade  PostPosted: 21.03.2012, 19:16



Joined: 2011-02-10
Posts: 41

Status: Offline
      grumpy wrote:


From this bug report it sounds like the problem occurs if you have grub installed to a partition? I have grub-pc, grub-common, and grub-pc-bin at v. 1.99-18 without any problem. Grub is installed in MBR.

Is that correct?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dekOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: error for grub upgrade  PostPosted: 21.03.2012, 20:19



Joined: 2011-03-04
Posts: 1

Status: Offline
      mheyes wrote:
      grumpy wrote:

From this bug report it sounds like the problem occurs if you have grub installed to a partition? I have grub-pc, grub-common, and grub-pc-bin at v. 1.99-18 without any problem. Grub is installed in MBR.

Is that correct?

I can confirm this. I had grub installed to a partition and wasn't able to boot after the upgrade to grub-1.99-18. Actually i had grub installed in the partition by accident. 'grub-setup' didn't raise any warning in my case though, even after running it in a chroot when grub wasn't working already.

Here's how i solved it:

  • Booted the live CD.
  • Chrooted into the system like described in the manual.
  • Ran 'dpkg-reconfigure grub-pc', unselected the partition and choosen to install into the MBR only (/dev/sda in my case).
  • Rebooted and grub was working fine again.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dorinOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: error for grub upgrade  PostPosted: 21.03.2012, 21:51



Joined: 2011-01-20
Posts: 18
Location: Vatra Dornei, Romania
Status: Offline
Other solution if You have more then 1 HD.
1. Start boot from aptosid.iso and chose "Boot from Hard Disk"
2. As root use blkid and cat /etc/fstab to find Your / file system
3. grub-install --no-floppy --recheck /dev/sdc (in my case)
to install grub in MBR of your specific HD
4. remove CD/DVD & reboot
I don't know why the new grub forget to do this in proper way
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
pupiddoOffline
15 Post subject: Re: RE: error for grub upgrade  PostPosted: 22.03.2012, 08:47



Joined: 2012-03-21
Posts: 10

Status: Offline
      dek wrote:
      mheyes wrote:
      grumpy wrote:

From this bug report it sounds like the problem occurs if you have grub installed to a partition? I have grub-pc, grub-common, and grub-pc-bin at v. 1.99-18 without any problem. Grub is installed in MBR.

Is that correct?

I can confirm this. I had grub installed to a partition and wasn't able to boot after the upgrade to grub-1.99-18. Actually i had grub installed in the partition by accident. 'grub-setup' didn't raise any warning in my case though, even after running it in a chroot when grub wasn't working already.

Here's how i solved it:

  • Booted the live CD.
  • Chrooted into the system like described in the manual.
  • Ran 'dpkg-reconfigure grub-pc', unselected the partition and choosen to install into the MBR only (/dev/sda in my case).
  • Rebooted and grub was working fine again.


thanks for your suggestion dek:
I used dpkg-reconfigure grub-pc before dist-upgrade without chroot, selected /dev/sda as device (not /dev/sda1 like before) and everything was ok.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Luis_POffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.03.2012, 11:12



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 151
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Status: Offline
Despite this thread is marked as solved, I reborn it because I don't understand what was "solved". Does it refer to workaround by chroot for recover grub or it refer that grub (and grub-pc, grub-common, etc.) is already without problems?

Because some time ago I had an issue with grub which caused me a lot of troubles, after reading the first post of this thread I put grub (and its siblings) on hold. Must I maintain it?

Regards.

Luis_P
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.03.2012, 13:38
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
IMHO grub shoud never be put on hold

What troubles were you having with it ?

I would say *most* of the troubles with grub is a users config (dual booting with windows, other distros) and when trying to *fix grub, or when grub is updated, mess it up by not knowing which partition grub is installed to.

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Luis_POffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.03.2012, 14:29



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 151
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Status: Offline
As said, my problem was some months ago and I don't exactly remember how it was, but it is easy to guess that I had troubles booting my system, which has two HD and three or four partitions on each. Btw it uses AMD64 processor.

Pupiddo and Dorin reported that they had issues updating grub from 1.99-17 to 1.99-18; because that I put grub on hold. Then the discussion derived towards the use of chroot.

My question is simple: is grub 1.99-18 secure now?

Luis_P
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio