Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
cliveOffline
Post subject: [SOLVED] Can't get dual head working under 3.3 kernel  PostPosted: 04.04.2012, 14:28



Joined: 2012-03-26
Posts: 14
Location: London
Status: Offline
I posted on Upgrade Warnings a while back but have had no response.

I've been running aptosid on this Dell machine for a while with two screens and until the kernel upgrade to 3.3 everything worked fine. Since then every kernel up to today's 3.3-1 produces the same result: In console both screens show the output from the command line but starting X renders one blank.

Dual head works fine under 3.2-11.slh.3. I'm using the nouveau module and don't have any proprietary nvidia stuff installed.

card is nVidia Corporation G72 [GeForce 7300 LE]

I noticed today libdrm-nouveau1a was upgraded which gave me cause to hope it may fix it but sadly not. This is clearly an X problem related to nouveau but I'm out of ideas on how to troubleshoot this.

Thanks


Thanks
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject: RE: Can  PostPosted: 05.04.2012, 10:37
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
Cannot confirm, dual head ist just fine with nouveau as it was before. Please provide the content of your /var/log/Xorg.0.log in a code box.
Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
cliveOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.04.2012, 18:27



Joined: 2012-03-26
Posts: 14
Location: London
Status: Offline
Thanks Slam

Xorg.0.log attached



Xorg.0.log.tar
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  Xorg.0.log.tar
 Filesize:  40 KB
 Downloaded:  273 Time(s)

 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
cliveOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.04.2012, 12:01



Joined: 2012-03-26
Posts: 14
Location: London
Status: Offline
It occurred to me that I'd posted the /Xorg.0.log having booted into 3.2.11 kernel which wasn't the brightest move Sad Attached is the file generated by 3.3 kernel



Xorg.0.log.3.3.tar
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  Xorg.0.log.3.3.tar
 Filesize:  20 KB
 Downloaded:  279 Time(s)

 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.04.2012, 07:43
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
Hi, this is the relevant info:
      Code:
[    67.847] (EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.
[    67.847]
Fatal server error:
[    67.847] no screens found
[    67.847]

Please delete /etc/X11/Xorg.conf and all files in /etc/X11/Xorg.conf.d/ and try again. Use xrandr to configure your dual monitors.
Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
cliveOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.04.2012, 10:03



Joined: 2012-03-26
Posts: 14
Location: London
Status: Offline
Thanks Chris

I didn't have an /etc/X11/Xorg.conf or /etc/X11/Xorg.conf.d. So I rebooted after a dist upgrade and then ran:

      Code:
 $ xrandr --output VGA-1 --mode 1024x768 --pos 1024x0 --output DVI-I-1 --mode 1024x768 --pos 0x0


The unuseable screens error seems to have gone:
      Code:
/var/log$ cat Xorg.0.log | grep EE
[    17.864] Current Operating System: Linux Enobarbus 3.3-1.slh.2-aptosid-686 #1 SMP PREEMPT Thu Apr 5 04:39:20 UTC 2012 i686
   (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
[    18.538] (II) Loading extension MIT-SCREEN-SAVER
[    18.826] (EE) Failed to load module "nv" (module does not exist, 0)
[    18.862] (EE) Failed to load module "fbdev" (module does not exist, 0)


But there is still nothing showing in the left hand screen
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
finottiOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.04.2012, 08:58



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 294

Status: Offline
I am not an "expert", by any means, but is the line "Failed to load module "nv" (module does not exist, 0)" indicating that nv was not completely removed? (The module was removed, but why would it expect to load it if you are using nouveau?)


Last edited by finotti on 11.04.2012, 12:10; edited 2 times in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.04.2012, 09:22



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 496
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
Since xserver is trying all matching drivers, this message is normal.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
cliveOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 22.04.2012, 10:27



Joined: 2012-03-26
Posts: 14
Location: London
Status: Offline
I'm still having to use the 3.2.11 kernel because every 3.3 kernel gives me the same problem. The only errors in Xorg.0.log are failure to load nv and fbdev modules. Running xrandr produces a slight temporary flicker on the LH screen but nothing more, as does changing the display resolution or refresh rate through XFCE Display settings. The monitors are identical although the one which is blank is connected via a VGA to DVI connector.

Am I destined to run this kernel forever to have a usable system?
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
cliveOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.06.2012, 09:52



Joined: 2012-03-26
Posts: 14
Location: London
Status: Offline
SOLVED!

I've been running on 3.2-11 for weeks because of losing the second screen on every 3.3. kernel I upgraded to. Today, having not upgraded for a while, the kernel was upgraded to 3.4-1.slh.3-aptosid-686 and lo dual head has returned.

Confused as to why but very happy

Thanks

PS I tried to post a full reply with SOLVED in the subject but it kept throwing a PHP error. Be grateful if some would edit the subject line accordingly
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
cliveOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.06.2012, 09:54



Joined: 2012-03-26
Posts: 14
Location: London
Status: Offline
Apologies for multiple posts but it kept telling me send had failed
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.06.2012, 12:53



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 689

Status: Offline
I've removed the multiple/ identical posts.

[I have no multi-head capable nvidia graphics cards over here, even less anything remotely recent; dual-head was working fine on radeon and intel cards using 3.2, 3.3 and 3.4, basically everything I remember, though]

The reason for that PHP error is because our mail server occassionally (more often lately) can't answer quickly enough, the message will still be posted and while very annoying, the consequences are mostly cosmetic.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio