Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
domiciusOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 20.04.2012, 23:22



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 35
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Status: Offline
      hrs wrote:
In this thread it's suggested to turn EXAPixmaps of as a work-around.

There seem to be performance penalities with that workaround - better workaround would be downgrading the package: http://lists.x.org/archives/xorg-driver ... 22730.html

There is already a fix (workaround) in xf86-video-ati Git - unless we build it ourselves, we just have to wait until it reaches repos.

      drb wrote:
This has hit me with libreoffice-impress where Slideshow fails to run

On another system the screen freezes and becomes unresponsive. As suggested at https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=47266#c89 this is definitely a separate issue.

_________________
domicius
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
drbOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 21.04.2012, 08:09



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 96

Status: Offline
It may be a separate issue . . . but reverting to libcairo2/testing 'solves' the problem . . . so it still points to a libcairo2 'bug'
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
domiciusOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 22.04.2012, 12:57



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 35
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Status: Offline
      drb wrote:
so it still points to a libcairo2 'bug'
Actually, the new version of Cairo only exposes the bug in xserver. Technically it isn't the Cairo's bug but xserver's. Smile

Anyway, the issue you're talking about is discussed in 668172 (although it's obviously also connected to Cairo, we shall see if the patch from fd#47266 fixes that as well)

_________________
domicius
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
oddballOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 23.04.2012, 19:27



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 107
Location: Skåne, Sweden
Status: Offline
Just did a d-u om my wife’s Thinkpad Edge and it looks like the problem is solved. I could see that there was xorg...files updating, maybe that was it?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
seasonsOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 25.04.2012, 20:56



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 92

Status: Offline
Yes, it is fixed with an update of xserver-xorg-video-ati: http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=666982

      Code:
xserver-xorg-video-ati (1:6.14.4-2) unstable; urgency=medium

  * Cherry-picks from upstream git:
    - r6xx-r9xx: force 1D tiling for buffer with height < 64
    - Make radeon_setup_kernel_mem failures more graceful and verbose
    - RADEONCopySwap: Fix RADEON_HOST_DATA_SWAP_16BIT case
    - EXA: Support acceleration of solid pictures on R3xx-R7xx
    - EXA: Support acceleration of solid pictures on Evergreen/NI
    - EXA: Support acceleration of solid pictures on R1xx
    - EXA: Support acceleration of solid pictures on R2xx
  * The solid picture acceleration should fix the rendering mess people have
    been seeing with cairo 1.12, and thus closes: #666982.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
finottiOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 25.04.2012, 21:20



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 316

Status: Offline
      seasons wrote:
Yes, it is fixed with an update of xserver-xorg-video-ati: http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=666982

      Code:
xserver-xorg-video-ati (1:6.14.4-2) unstable; urgency=medium

  * Cherry-picks from upstream git:
    - r6xx-r9xx: force 1D tiling for buffer with height < 64
    - Make radeon_setup_kernel_mem failures more graceful and verbose
    - RADEONCopySwap: Fix RADEON_HOST_DATA_SWAP_16BIT case
    - EXA: Support acceleration of solid pictures on R3xx-R7xx
    - EXA: Support acceleration of solid pictures on Evergreen/NI
    - EXA: Support acceleration of solid pictures on R1xx
    - EXA: Support acceleration of solid pictures on R2xx
  * The solid picture acceleration should fix the rendering mess people have
    been seeing with cairo 1.12, and thus closes: #666982.


Is it fixed only for ATI cards? (I'm using nouveau.)

Thanks,

Luis
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
eris0xffOffline
Post subject: Re: upgrade problem with libcairo2_1.12.0-2_amd64  PostPosted: 26.04.2012, 20:44



Joined: 2012-02-24
Posts: 3

Status: Offline
      pjnsmb wrote:
fairly annoying problem located to an upgrade in libcairo2 :

after the upgrade When using chromium browser and thunar the text gets distorted and unreadable .

Debian Bug report logs - #666538
libcairo2: text rendering broken with cairo 1.12

seems to be covering the problem



I'm seeing similar problems, except I don't even get that far. I'm using NX for remote X thin client (X2GO specifically) and the new libcairo2 (1-12-02) crashes nxagent.

These bugs are pretty significant UI killers and I'm somewhat suprised they haven't been patched yet.

I haven't done a full dist-upgrade yet, but my 'apt-get update' and 'apt-get install libcairo2' says I have the latest.

Isn't this affecting the cairo dev team themselves?

eris0xff
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
pjnsmbOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.04.2012, 05:59



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 18
Location: Solihull.U.K
Status: Offline
tried 1.12.0-2.1 which is available on dist-upgrade now......


still the same problem as the original warning from me Sad Sad Sad

_________________
pjnsmb
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Luis_POffline
Post subject: Solved (for me)  PostPosted: 27.04.2012, 20:43



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 151
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Status: Offline
Sorry, pjnsmb, but I cannot confirm it. Some days ago I was bit by this issue and I had to put libcairo2 on hold. Today, I've reverted it, I did d-u and all was right.

More info:
      Code:
root@myxbox:/home/lluis# apt-cache policy xserver-xorg-video-ati
xserver-xorg-video-ati:
  Installed: 1:6.14.4-2
  Candidate: 1:6.14.4-2
  Version table:
 *** 1:6.14.4-2 0
        500 ftp://ftp.rediris.es/debian/ sid/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
root@myxbox:/home/lluis# apt-cache policy libcairo2
libcairo2:
  Installed: 1.12.0-2.1
  Candidate: 1.12.0-2.1
  Version table:
 *** 1.12.0-2.1 0
        500 ftp://ftp.rediris.es/debian/ sid/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
root@myxbox:/usr/share# infobash -v3
Host/Kernel/OS  "myxbox" running Linux 3.3-3.slh.2-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ Debian GNU/Linux wheezy/sid ]
CPU Info        2x AMD Athlon II X2 250 1024 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm svm ) clocked at [ 800.000 MHz ]
Videocard       Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RV730 PRO [Radeon HD 4650]  X.Org 1.11.4  [ 1280x1024@60.0hz ]
Network cards   NVIDIA MCP77
                Realtek RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+
Processes 147 | Uptime 3:10 | Memory 794.8/2008.5MB | HDD ST3250318AS,Maxtor 6Y080L0 Size 332GB (16%used) | GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on AMD RV730 | GLX Version Yes | Client Shell | Infobash v3.45

Regards.

Luis_P.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
pjnsmbOffline
Post subject: RE: Solved (for me)  PostPosted: 28.04.2012, 05:38



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 18
Location: Solihull.U.K
Status: Offline
glad you are sorted

not so good with my nouveau

root@petersbox:/home/peter# apt-cache policy xserver-xorg-video-nouveau
xserver-xorg-video-nouveau:
Installed: 1:0.0.16+git20111201+b5534a1-1
Candidate: 1:0.0.16+git20111201+b5534a1-1

root@petersbox:/home/peter# infobash -v3
Host/Kernel/OS "petersbox" running Linux 3.3-3.slh.2-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ aptosid 2011-02 Ἡμέρα - xfce - (201107131632) ]
CPU Info 2x Intel Core2 Duo E8400 @ 6144 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm vmx ) clocked at [ 2000.000 MHz ]
Videocard NVIDIA G96 [GeForce 9500 GT] X.Org 1.11.4 [ 1440x900@59.9hz ]
Network cards Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit
Processes 195 | Uptime 57min | Memory 1873.4/3959.3MB | HDD Hitachi HDT72103,FA GoFlex Desk Size 1322GB (3%used) | GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on NV96 | GLX Version Yes | Client Shell | Infobash v3.45

cheers

_________________
pjnsmb
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Luis_POffline
Post subject: The culprit  PostPosted: 28.04.2012, 12:09



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 151
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Status: Offline
Then, my system and yours differs on the graphic card. Yours is nvidia, mine is ati. Only a clue to find the culprit.

Regards
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
CarnophageOffline
Post subject: RE: The culprit  PostPosted: 01.05.2012, 18:26



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 59

Status: Offline
After update of the following packages:
      Code:
ii  xserver-xorg                            1:7.6+12                        X.Org X server
ii  xserver-xorg-core                       2:1.12.1-1                      Xorg X server - core server
ii  xserver-xorg-video-nouveau              1:0.0.16+git20120322+ab7291d-1  X.Org X server -- Nouveau display driver

so far, no more problems for me with libcairo2 1.12.2-1
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
pjnsmbOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: The culprit  PostPosted: 01.05.2012, 20:20



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 18
Location: Solihull.U.K
Status: Offline
      Carnophage wrote:
After update of the following packages:
      Code:
ii  xserver-xorg                            1:7.6+12                        X.Org X server
ii  xserver-xorg-core                       2:1.12.1-1                      Xorg X server - core server
ii  xserver-xorg-video-nouveau              1:0.0.16+git20120322+ab7291d-1  X.Org X server -- Nouveau display driver

so far, no more problems for me with libcairo2 1.12.2-1


still no good for me using the above updates and libcairo2 1.12.2-1

what video card are you using please ?

_________________
pjnsmb
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
CarnophageOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: The culprit  PostPosted: 01.05.2012, 21:36



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 59

Status: Offline
GF 9600M (Lenovo Ideapad Y530 laptop)
      Code:
Host/Kernel/OS  "deska" running Linux 3.3-4.slh.1-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ sidux 2009-04 Μόρος - xfce - (200912310312) ]
CPU Info        2x Intel Core2 Duo T6600 @ 2048 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm ) clocked at [ 1600.000 MHz ]
Videocard       NVIDIA G96 [GeForce 9600M GS]  X.Org 1.12.1  [ 1280x800@60.0hz ]
Network cards   Broadcom NetLink BCM5906M Fast PCI Express
                Intel PRO/Wireless 5100 AGN [Shiloh]
Processes 132 | Uptime 3:13 | Memory 741.6/3927.9MB | HDD WDC WD5000BEVT-2 Size 500GB (21%used) | GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on NV96 | GLX Version Yes | Client Shell | Infobash v3.45
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
manulOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: The culprit  PostPosted: 03.05.2012, 16:02



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 96

Status: Offline
Problem was NOT fixed with me with the new xorg and video drivers.

Videocard NVIDIA C77 [GeForce 8200] X.Org 1.12.1 [ 1280x1024@60.0hz ]

So I had to downgrade libcairo2 as mentioned above.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio