Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
blackholeOffline
Post subject: kdm logout: black screen  PostPosted: 29.09.2010, 07:38



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 110

Status: Offline
It's happening again! When I try to go to console from kde (init 3 as root inside kde, login to console from kdm screen) the screen is black. Really I know that this is not a crash, the system is working but nothing can be seen on the screen.

All black also shutting down the PC. Starting is OK.


I have the latest nvidia driver 256.35 (the one supplied from the debian repository was abolutely not working with my NextWindow touchscreen in my Sony Vaio all-in-one)

The installation of hypnos didn't have this problem. It occured after some update.

Grub update? But I have not changed grub configuration files...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
labOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 02.10.2010, 06:41



Joined: 2010-09-18
Posts: 17

Status: Offline
Try reading this thread and see if it applies to your situation:
http://aptosid.net/index.php?name=PNphp ... &t=120
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
blackholeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 02.10.2010, 08:19



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 110

Status: Offline
No, thank you, I know that thread. The last message is mine.

I am sure that this is about grub and nvidia driver.
I had the same problems before, see:

http://www.sidux.com/index.php?name=PNp ... highlight=
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hubiOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 02.10.2010, 08:38
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 228
Location: Vienna (AT)
Status: Offline
I have the same on a Vaio as well but it has an intel video card.

Symtoms:

- KDE logout: black screen, ALT+F1 works to get the terminal
- shutdown, restart: no problems

Unfortunately: no solution, no idea yet.

How could grub interfere into a KDE logout?

hubi

_________________
Tilos Rádió Budapest
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
blackholeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 02.10.2010, 08:52



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 110

Status: Offline
No my problem is not about kde logout, this is fine.

If I want to go to console login from kdm login screen I have a black screen.

No way to go to console in different ways also, from example typing init 3 from a root terminal inside kde.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hubiOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 02.10.2010, 10:37
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 228
Location: Vienna (AT)
Status: Offline
I see. That's different. I don't even see the KDM login screen reappearing after a KDE logout.

hubi

_________________
Tilos Rádió Budapest
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 02.10.2010, 22:22
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

      hubi wrote:

Symtoms:

- KDE logout: black screen, ALT+F1 works to get the terminal
- shutdown, restart: no problems

Unfortunately: no solution, no idea yet.

How could grub interfere into a KDE logout?

hubi


If Alt-F1 works, it means black screen is VT7 after the X windows shutdown. Your problem maybe that only it fails to go to VT1 when X is stopped.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ikeinthaiOffline
Post subject: Re: kdm logout: black screen  PostPosted: 03.10.2010, 16:04



Joined: 2010-09-22
Posts: 119
Location: bigannastybkk
Status: Offline
      blackhole wrote:
The installation of hypnos didn't have this problem. It occured after some update.


i had one of four systems that got slightly borked somehow in the change from sidux to aptosid. the only problem with it was, i couldn't get a tty with init 3, and also X wouldn't start properly unless i did a console login.

i figured that the change from sidux to aptosid scripts got tangled up somehow (init 3 is not a Debian runlevel, but unique to sidux/aptosid). rather than bother anybody (myself included) i just reinstalled. i wanted to see what a clean new system would be like anyway.

ike.

_________________
aptosid: magic in action, the point of the spear. bleedin pearls before swine? lets hope not. freesoftware/freedomsoftware=a chance at freedom. participants, engage your vehicle. . . avatar by zenren
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
blackholeOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: kdm logout: black screen  PostPosted: 03.10.2010, 16:53



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 110

Status: Offline
The problem was there before aptosid.

My problem in any case is that I cannot go to console, init 3 or init 5 or whatever.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio