Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
apogarteOffline
Post subject: [solved]dist-upgrade error  PostPosted: 04.07.2012, 13:32



Joined: 2011-01-25
Posts: 83

Status: Offline
hi
i've just finished to du on a system relatively old (last du was beginning of year) and process ended with an error concerning 4.8 kde version
      Quote:


...errors during execution :
/var/cache/apt/archives/konqueror_4%3a4.8.4-1_i386.deb (--unpack)

sub process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error (1)



after trying to do an "apt-get -f install" wich gave no results

before d-u, system was using kde 4.4.6.5-1 ...

untill now i can still start kde but

-A connexion error message shows up :

"warning cannot open consolekit session : unable to open session : the permission of the setuid helper is not correct"

-After checking the "ok" in message box, the desktop loads but very slowly, and i can see kde version is 4.8.4

-There is no internet connection, and using ceni gives an error :
      Quote:
/sbin/ifup: failed to open statefile /run/network/ifstate: no such file or directory
W: up eth0 failed due to error at /usr/bin/Ceni line 1482


then i mkdir /var/run/network as root, run ceni again, and i have networking ok till next reboot...

is it anyway to correct this ?

thanks for your suggestions,

apog


Last edited by apogarte on 09.07.2012, 10:34; edited 2 times in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject: RE: dist-upgrade error  PostPosted: 04.07.2012, 23:01
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 482

Status: Offline
You haven't copied the full error message from dpkg, but i presume it is the following bug in the konqueror packaging: http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=679789

Anyway, usually these bugs are quickly fixed, yet, this one is marked as pending but not yet uploaded. So you can do by hand what APT and dpkg can't work out (as the information is missing). Or, just wait for the upload …

      Code:
apt-get update
dpkg --configure --pending
dpkg --force-depends --remove kdebase-data
apt-get install --fix-broken
apt-get dist-upgrade

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
ngongOffline
Post subject: RE: dist-upgrade error  PostPosted: 08.07.2012, 09:34



Joined: 2011-12-28
Posts: 3

Status: Offline
I can confirm the problem with ceni:

If I boot up in a terminal as root (because an fsck failed) there is no initial eth0 connection. Using ceni led to the same failure as reported by apogarte. At my site it seems not to be related to the bug reported by DonKult.

However the workaround to manually create /run/network works fine.
 
 View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: dist-upgrade error  PostPosted: 08.07.2012, 11:15



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 736

Status: Offline
As part of the /run/ transition, ifupdown moved its state files to /run/. The upgrade process should work fine, but before the actual transition, there was an accidental upload to Debian, which was buggy in that regard. If you were affected by these broken packages, the 'recent' upgrades might have been confused. This should be the correct location, /etc/network/run being a symlink to /run/network
      Code:
$ ls -ld /etc/network/run
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 12 Jun 14  2011 /etc/network/run -> /run/network
if yours differs, you'll need to correct it
      Code:
rm -rf /etc/network/run
ln -fs /run/network /etc/network/run
reboot

Ceni is technically not part of this problem, as it just provides a configuration frontend to ifupdown - as long as the configuration is correct, actually making (and keeping up) the network connection is ifupdown's task.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
apogarteOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: dist-upgrade error  PostPosted: 09.07.2012, 09:13



Joined: 2011-01-25
Posts: 83

Status: Offline
      DonKult wrote:
You haven't copied the full error message from dpkg, but i presume it is the following bug in the konqueror packaging: http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=679789

Anyway, usually these bugs are quickly fixed, yet, this one is marked as pending but not yet uploaded. So you can do by hand what APT and dpkg can't work out (as the information is missing). Or, just wait for the upload …

      Code:
apt-get update
dpkg --configure --pending
dpkg --force-depends --remove kdebase-data
apt-get install --fix-broken
apt-get dist-upgrade


thanks DonKult i'm going to try this. not copied full message since it was in french... so translating to english could be a little unclear ...

also thank you slh for your answer i've done the correction you mentionned, there was effectively no symlink, i have to reboot now will edit later on...

EDIT : OK, everything seems to be fine by now, done the corrections by hand as DonKult suggested, they are applied and dist-upgrade gives no more errors, network runs fine. Thanks for your help !

Very Happy Razz Wink

apog
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
prp5627Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.07.2012, 02:29



Joined: 2012-07-09
Posts: 2
Location: Londrina
Status: Offline
Hi!
First cd / var / cache / apt / archives /
Within the directory dpkg-i - force-overwrite konqueror_4%3a4.8.4-1_i386.deb
After apt-get-f install.
Done the above mentioned use the Ctrl + Alt + F2.
Now again dist-upgrade.
I hope this helps.

_________________
always aptosid
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 13.07.2012, 17:58
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 482

Status: Offline
for the record, prp5627 method works, too, of course, but i prefer to avoid forcing dpkg to do something if there is a way to do it cleanly - even if the clean way is a bit longer. After all, these checks are there for a reason: They are a (thin) protection layer. Probably you can do it without protection and you will be fine, but once in a while no protection will result in a delivery of a new set of problems nine-months later (and just as in the talkshows on TV nobody knows anymore what they have done (with whom) nine-months before…).

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
roliOffline
Post subject: Re: [solved]dist-upgrade error  PostPosted: 08.08.2012, 16:46



Joined: 2010-09-14
Posts: 18

Status: Offline
For the records II
      apogarte wrote:
"warning cannot open consolekit session : unable to open session : the permission of the setuid helper is not correct"

On my system this was fixed by
      Code:
dpkg --configure -a
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
apogarteOffline
Post subject: Re: [solved]dist-upgrade error  PostPosted: 10.08.2012, 11:51



Joined: 2011-01-25
Posts: 83

Status: Offline
      roli wrote:
For the records II
      apogarte wrote:
"warning cannot open consolekit session : unable to open session : the permission of the setuid helper is not correct"

On my system this was fixed by
      Code:
dpkg --configure -a


thanks again

apog
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio