Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
k1tt3hOffline
32 Post subject: Re: not with compositing on even nouveau  PostPosted: 19.12.2012, 01:13



Joined: 2012-11-18
Posts: 21
Location: lap, window sill, or top of refrigerator
Status: Offline
      diensthunds wrote:
Looks like there is something in the 3.7 that does not like nvidia at all even the nouveau drivers.


I bet you it is the spirit of Linus.

 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
etorixOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: not with compositing on even nouveau  PostPosted: 19.12.2012, 01:49
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 137

Status: Offline
the nouveau driver works fine here
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
pupiddoOffline
19 Post subject: RE: Re: not with compositing on even nouveau  PostPosted: 19.12.2012, 05:30



Joined: 2012-03-21
Posts: 10

Status: Offline
      etorix wrote:
the nouveau driver works fine here
Not for me with an FX5200 video card!My screen at login is crappy!I come back to 3.6-9.slh.1
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
diensthundsOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: not with compositing on even nouveau  PostPosted: 19.12.2012, 07:22



Joined: 2012-12-12
Posts: 3
Location: West Virginia
Status: Offline
The composting for KDE is what didn't work with it and the nouveau.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
drbOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 19.12.2012, 10:19



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 96

Status: Offline
Making the following link worked here :

      Code:
ln -s /usr/src/linux-headers-3.7-0.slh.3-aptosid-686/include/generated/uapi/linux/version.h /usr/src/linux-headers-3.7-0.slh.3-aptosid-686/include/linux/version.h


      Code:
Host/Kernel/OS  "hypnos32" running Linux 3.7-0.slh.3-aptosid-686 i686 [ sidux 2010-01 Ύπνος - kde-full - (201006131622) ]
CPU Info        2x AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5600+ 1024 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm svm ) clocked at [ 1000.000 MHz ]
Videocard       NVIDIA GT218 [GeForce 210]  X.Org 1.12.4  [ 1680x1050@60.0hz ]
Network cards   NVIDIA MCP55
Processes 160 | Uptime 3:31 | Memory 625.5/3041.9MB | HDD WDC WD3200AAKS-0,WDC WD5000AAKS-0,WDC WD6400AAKS-0,WDC WD15EADS-00P Size 2960GB (34%used) | GLX Renderer GeForce 210/PCIe/SSE2/3DNOW! | GLX Version 3.3.0 NVIDIA 313.09 | Client Shell | Infobash v3.45
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
k1tt3hOffline
32 Post subject:   PostPosted: 21.12.2012, 06:54



Joined: 2012-11-18
Posts: 21
Location: lap, window sill, or top of refrigerator
Status: Offline
      drb wrote:
Making the following link worked here :

      Code:
ln -s /usr/src/linux-headers-3.7-0.slh.3-aptosid-686/include/generated/uapi/linux/version.h /usr/src/linux-headers-3.7-0.slh.3-aptosid-686/include/linux/version.h



I gave that a try, making changes where applicable, and had no success.

On a brighter note, I do believe we are all about to find out that some wizards have fought this evil monster, and slain the beast.

 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
etorixOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 21.12.2012, 15:19
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 137

Status: Offline
not here dear, still no buildee

YMMV
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
CaesarTjalboOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.12.2012, 23:20



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 95
Location: Enschede
Status: Offline
      k1tt3h wrote:
As an aside, and since I don't really know where to mention something this silly, I noticed a typo in the apt-get update output. Has anyone else seen it? It states ``rred'' instead of ``read''.
I always assumed it was some technical term/nerd joke.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
etorixOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.12.2012, 16:14
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 137

Status: Offline
ALLEGEDLY the nvidia drivers from the experimental repo work/build ok
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
drbOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.12.2012, 19:23



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 96

Status: Offline
As I said above 313.09 installs if I add the link above,

      Code:
Host/Kernel/OS  "hypnos32" running Linux 3.7-1.slh.1-aptosid-686 i686 [ sidux 2010-01 Ύπνος - kde-full - (201006131622) ]
CPU Info        2x AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5600+ 1024 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm svm ) clocked at [ 1000.000 MHz ]
Videocard       NVIDIA GT218 [GeForce 210]  X.Org 1.12.4  [ 1680x1050@60.0hz ]
Network cards   NVIDIA MCP55
Processes 161 | Uptime 10:51 | Memory 731.5/3041.9MB | HDD WDC WD3200AAKS-0,WDC WD5000AAKS-0,WDC WD6400AAKS-0,WDC WD15EADS-00P Size 2960GB (34%used) | GLX Renderer GeForce 210/PCIe/SSE2/3DNOW! | GLX Version 3.3.0 NVIDIA 313.09 | Client Shell | Infobash v3.45
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
SpaceferretOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.03.2013, 03:41



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 97

Status: Offline
Good news for all of you guys using NVIDIA legacy branch drivers,the latest 304.84 from NVIDIA website works just fine with the newest kernel Exclamation
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.03.2013, 07:15



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 499
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
      Quote:
the latest 304.84 from NVIDIA website works just fine with the newest kernel

And breaks your system, especialy for multiarch.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
drbOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.03.2013, 09:01



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 96

Status: Offline
      towo wrote:
      Quote:
the latest 304.84 from NVIDIA website works just fine with the newest kernel

And breaks your system, especialy for multiarch.


What does this mean?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.03.2013, 11:52



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 499
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
What is unclear?
The installer from the nvidia-website is fucking up the glx-alternatives system.
On multiarch the 32bit glx-libs landing in woing directory.
So this is what i call a break.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
SpaceferretOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.03.2013, 12:54



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 97

Status: Offline
Let me repeat it again. The NVIDIA kernel module builds without a glitch with the latest 304.84 driver , I'm using 6150LE Nvidia card and it works superbly.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio