Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
gangstaOffline
Post subject: Aptosid don't see CD  PostPosted: 01.10.2010, 19:43



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 37
Location: Poland
Status: Offline
Aptosid don't see CD Sad

Edit...


Last edited by gangsta on 20.10.2010, 13:22; edited 4 times in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: DVD room don  PostPosted: 01.10.2010, 19:53



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
      Quote:

DVD room don't see CD

you mean dvd rom?
what CD?
what means 'unstable' in this case?

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hubiOffline
Post subject: RE: DVD room don  PostPosted: 01.10.2010, 20:12
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 228
Location: Vienna (AT)
Status: Offline
Moved to hardware. I cannot see a warning regarding upgrades of particular packages.

Do you mean: CDs can't be read but DVDs can?

hubi

_________________
Tilos Rádió Budapest
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
spacepenguinOffline
Post subject: RE: DVD room don  PostPosted: 01.10.2010, 21:18



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 98
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Maybe it's the same issue I suffer from since about three months and mentioned without any solution in the sidux forum? A problem that's spread over all current distributions I guess, in combination with certain hardware... Data CDRs are not recognized, can be mounted manually but do not appear in dolphin's sidebar and the devicemanager. Independent from drive, sata, pata, distribution, kernel. Affects only certain PCs (mainboard?), no problem with fresh install of old sidux Ourea on same machine.

http://sidux.com/index.php?name=PNphpBB ... highlight=
http://sidux.com/index.php?name=PNphpBB ... highlight=


Can you mount the CDRs manually as root via konsole?

_________________
Susan | Hardware: SysProfile | 32bit
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
gangstaOffline
Post subject: RE: DVD room don  PostPosted: 02.10.2010, 06:07



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 37
Location: Poland
Status: Offline
Aptosid don't autodetect all types CD. But DVD yes.
I can mount CD as root via console.
      Code:
# mount /dev/cdrom /media/cdrom
mount: block device /dev/sr0 is write-protected, mounting read-only


Thanks for any suggestions and sorry for My english.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 02.10.2010, 11:59



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
Can we see:

      Code:
cat /etc/fstab


please?
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
gangstaOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 02.10.2010, 15:19



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 37
Location: Poland
Status: Offline
      dibl wrote:
Can we see...?

Of course.
      Code:
/dev/cdrom                                    /media/cdrom                   udf,iso9660     noauto,ro,users                            0      0
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.10.2010, 01:11



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
I would try changing the "noauto" option to "auto", and then remount (or reboot) and see if it likes the CDs better. If it's not better, change it back to "noauto", which appears to be the default for the cdrom device.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
spacepenguinOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.10.2010, 01:47



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 98
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=245822

_________________
Susan | Hardware: SysProfile | 32bit
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
blackholeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.10.2010, 07:06



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 110

Status: Offline
I have the same problem.

So I tried this: added the line in fstab, made a "link to device" icon. This is the result. This is very strange. /dev/cdrom mistaken for the system hard disk?



snapshot2.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  43.52 KB
 Viewed:  9612 Time(s)

snapshot2.png


 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
gangstaOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 08.10.2010, 09:31



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 37
Location: Poland
Status: Offline
Now Aptosid see CD.
I didn't do anything apart from a daily d-u.

Thanks.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
clubexOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 08.10.2010, 12:24



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 98

Status: Offline
gangsta:There was a recent asptosid udev upgrade which may have contributed to your resolution.

In my case things are slightly worse. For sometime audio CD and data CD/DVD were auto-mounted and notified but recently this will only happen with audio CDs.

I still think the problem will only be solved when

https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=245822

is resolved.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
spacepenguinOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.10.2010, 15:37



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 98
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
I also cannot open audio cds anymore with kscd, amarok, banshee etc., only kaffeine can do it. That's not a problem of the device manager, the audio cd is recognized as such and all options are available. Just the programs don't want to see the cds.

_________________
Susan | Hardware: SysProfile | 32bit
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
gangstaOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 10.10.2010, 17:44



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 37
Location: Poland
Status: Offline
Now Aptosid see all types CD and DVD apart from bootable CD and DVD.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
blackholeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 20.10.2010, 09:15



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 110

Status: Offline
The problem has been fixed with kde 4.5 (unsupported for now). Just checked: data cd is mounted correctly.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio