Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
wkauzOffline
15 Post subject: [SOLVED] No DU in Thailand  PostPosted: 21.10.2013, 10:09



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 24
Location: Saarbrücken/Germany///SO Asia
Status: Offline
Hello!

Before I arrived in Thailand, I stood 3 month in India without connecting-problems to server in the Internet, only the speed was mostly to low for DU's or big downloads or often the connections breaked down.
Now in Thailand(Bangkok) the speed is fast enough and the connection stable, but a lot of servers I normaly use and need are not available, even those to make my "to late" DU, one of my two bank-sites and many others.
I get connection to the home-page of GMX, but after the login, I get the messages "Server not found"

"apt-get update" gives:
      Code:

Fehl http://ftp.de.debian.org sid Release.gpg                           
  Beim Auflösen von »ftp.de.debian.org:http« ist etwas Schlimmes passiert (-5 - Zu diesem Hostnamen gehört keine Adresse).

Fehl http://oscar.aptosid.com sid Release.gpg                           
  Beim Auflösen von »oscar.aptosid.com:http« ist etwas Schlimmes passiert (-5 - Zu diesem Hostnamen gehört keine Adresse).


Sadly, I must use W7 for a lot of my importend work, was I really don't like.

For my Banking-Works I use now a "Bankix"-CD.
A projekt of the IT-Journal C't for saver Bankingworks witch based of a self-booting Ubuntu and only nessesary applications for a saver work.
With Ubuntu I get all choosen servers!

Fortunatly the aptosid-server is available.

What is the problem, and how can I get my improtend DU. I stay 2 month in Thailand?

Please excuse my bad english, but the Leo-server for correcting my english is even not available.

Lenovo ThinkPad T420
Aptosid Thanatos / last DU 13.08.13 in Dehli.

Thanks
wkauz
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
michaaa62Offline
Post subject: RE: No DU in Thailand  PostPosted: 21.10.2013, 14:09



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 53
Location: Berlin, Germany
Status: Offline
Did you try or consider using any VPN service to first connect out of Thailand to some server in another country. There are free services available from most of the VPN-providers.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
wkauzOffline
Post subject: RE: No DU in Thailand  PostPosted: 22.10.2013, 11:34



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 24
Location: Saarbrücken/Germany///SO Asia
Status: Offline
Thanks for your answer.
Yes, I condidered befor my journey, but I didn´t.
For me a bit complex. The last solution.
But it´s no answer, why with W7 or Ubuntu(Bankix) I have not this problem.
There must be an other solution.
With aptosid, I get no connection with the 4th populare VPN-Services.

Thanks
Wkauz
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: No DU in Thailand  PostPosted: 22.10.2013, 15:05



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 737

Status: Offline
Debian has a mirror network almost spanning the whole world, there certainly is a mirror more local/ accessible to your current location. For our own packages we also have a number of mirrors on several continents, it's certainly not as large and diverse as Debian's, but at least one of them should be accessible from your location as well.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject: RE: No DU in Thailand  PostPosted: 22.10.2013, 18:38
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 482

Status: Offline
APT is printing this message (the English one says "something wicked happened") if it has no good idea what is wrong exactly. This usually means that your connection to your DNS server is broken in the sense that it is either really broken, very slow (sometimes) or purposefully not answering certain requests (e.g.: "Great Firewall of China").


I have seen this kind of problem being reported by users who have a broken configuration regarding DNS servers to contact. Given that other systems have no problem this could be your problem as well:
      Code:
$ ls -l /etc/resolv.conf
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 31 Apr  8  2013 /etc/resolv.conf -> /etc/resolvconf/run/resolv.conf

As shown in the codebox /etc/resolv.conf should be a link rather than a real file nowadays in Debian (on other systems this might be different!). It could also be interesting to compare the content of this file ("cat /etc/resolv.conf" on both systems).

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
wkauzOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.10.2013, 13:23



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 24
Location: Saarbrücken/Germany///SO Asia
Status: Offline
Hello!

Many thanks for the answers!


To slh:

For Debian with
http://ftp.th.debian.org sid/main OK

But for aptsosid I get in Australia and div. mirrors in US and Europ
the same messages:

      Code:
Fehl http://mirror.yellowfiber.net sid/main amd64 Packages
  404  Not Found [IP: 67.23.107.22 80]
Fehl http://mirror.yellowfiber.net sid/fix.main amd64 Packages
  404  Not Found [IP: 67.23.107.22 80]

E: Einige Indexdateien konnten nicht heruntergeladen werden. Sie wurden ignoriert oder alte an ihrer Stelle benutzt.



Can I live with this?
Thanks
wkauz
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
wkauzOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.10.2013, 14:09



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 24
Location: Saarbrücken/Germany///SO Asia
Status: Offline
Hello!

To DonKult:

      Code:
root@aptosidbox:/home/wkauz# ls -l /etc/resolv.conf
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 31 Apr  7  2013 /etc/resolv.conf -> /etc/resolvconf/run/resolv.conf


and

      Code:
root@aptosidbox:/etc/resolvconf/run# cat resolv.conf
# Dynamic resolv.conf(5) file for glibc resolver(3) generated by resolvconf(8)
#     DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE BY HAND -- YOUR CHANGES WILL BE OVERWRITTEN
nameserver 203.144.206.29
nameserver 203.144.206.49


On the Bankix-Ubuntu exists in /etc two resolv.conf-files with the same content.
resolv.conf and resolv.conf.orig

      Code:
# Generated by NetworkManager
domain ct.heise.de
search ct.heise.de
nameserver 10.10.10.32
nameserver 10.10.10.30


In the direktory resolvconf I found this:

http://paste.debian.net/hidden/dc844428


Perhaps it is a good example to learn somthing, but for me to complicate.
I belive to understand, that this scripts manage the availibility of DNS-Servers, but not more.

Thanks for your answer
Greetings
wkauz
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.10.2013, 15:23
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 482

Status: Offline
      wkauz wrote:
      Code:
Fehl http://mirror.yellowfiber.net sid/main amd64 Packages
  404  Not Found [IP: 67.23.107.22 80]
Fehl http://mirror.yellowfiber.net sid/fix.main amd64 Packages
  404  Not Found [IP: 67.23.107.22 80]

E: Einige Indexdateien konnten nicht heruntergeladen werden. Sie wurden ignoriert oder alte an ihrer Stelle benutzt.


That is a different message from the one you told us first, though. Check your sources.list configuration, is it really a correct one?

For yellowfiber the line should be e.g.
      Code:
deb http://mirror.yellowfiber.net/aptosid/debian/ sid main fix.main

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
wkauzOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 25.10.2013, 08:28



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 24
Location: Saarbrücken/Germany///SO Asia
Status: Offline
Thanks a lot!

I copied the link from the mirror-list(post of slh)


      Code:
http://mirror.yellowfiber.net/aptosid
/


and maked only the extension: /sid main fix.main.

After correcting to /debian/ sid main fix-main
it works fine.


Happy that it works now.
On a 2year-asia-trip it's not easy to get the enviroment for a DU, witch I need.

With the "DNS-Server-Problem" I can live with the "Bankix-CD"
for my 2month-staying in Thailand.

Thanks for your effort,
Greatings from Bangkok
wkauz
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio