Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
bmorencyOffline
15 Post subject: [SOLVED] monitor not going into standby.  PostPosted: 01.12.2013, 00:44



Joined: 2010-10-22
Posts: 71

Status: Offline
Hi,

I have a new asus vs247h monitor and I am noticing that it does not go into standby even though I have the screen energy saving setting set to 10 minutes. My previous monitor died so I was using a 15" lcd screen I had lying around until I bought a new one. The 15" screen would not go into standby either. I thought it was just that monitor since it would not turn off when my computer was off.

Does anyone know what I could check to see why this new monitor will not go into standby? Here is a bit of info about my system. I am using KDE 4.11.3.

Thanks for any help.


      Code:
Host/Kernel/OS  "aptosidbox" running Linux 3.12-0.slh.2-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ sidux 2010-01 Ύπνος - kde-lite - (201006131622) ]
CPU Info        2x AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ clocked at [ 2200.000 MHz ]
Videocard       NVIDIA G70 [GeForce 7800 GTX]  X.Org 1.14.3  [ 1920x1080@60.0hz ]
Processes 142 | Uptime 11:13 | Memory 908.2/2008.5MB | HDD Size 200GB (55%used) | GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on NV47 | GLX Version Yes | Client Shell | Infobash v3.46


Last edited by bmorency on 10.12.2013, 04:24; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: monitor not going into standby.  PostPosted: 01.12.2013, 01:17



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 750

Status: Offline
If you have an optical mouse and a very unsteady desktop surface, your mouse's sensor might easily see flickering and slightly shake the mouse pointer, enough to reset the activity counter. For testing, just make sure that no dust is in the mouse optics and place it on a clean white sheet of paper, chances are that your monitor will go into standby then.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
bmorencyOffline
Post subject: RE: monitor not going into standby.  PostPosted: 01.12.2013, 02:02



Joined: 2010-10-22
Posts: 71

Status: Offline
Ok I will give that a try. One thing I should mention is that when I do walk away and come back the lock screen is showing. When I move the mouse the lock screen will go away and the desktop will appear. If my mouse sensor is flickering a little bit would the lock screen still appear?

edit: I have tried your suggestion and I put my mouse on a white piece of paper and my monitor did not go into standby. The lock screen still came on though.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
bmorencyOffline
Post subject: RE: monitor not going into standby.  PostPosted: 10.12.2013, 04:23



Joined: 2010-10-22
Posts: 71

Status: Offline
I have solved this issue. My monitor came with a cable that had DVI on one end and HDMI on the other end so I was using that. Today I tried to use a cable with a DVI connector on both ends and now the monitor will go into standby at the specified amount of time.

I'm not sure why the cable was causing an issue. Does this seem like a driver bug?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio