Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
hiltongilOffline
Post subject: failure to load modules in initramfs - fix  PostPosted: 21.01.2014, 16:04



Joined: 2012-02-01
Posts: 17
Location: Contry: Brazil, Estate: Rio Grande do Sul, City: Parobé
Status: Offline
After install the last version 3.13-0.slh.2 the system don't boot and the screen stop at this mensage (see image at link)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/xqcogtbi3l6a4 ... .54.36.jpg

EDIT: Finally discovered the reason for the system not to boot.

I have installed on my old notebook three systems: windows xp, Elementary OS and aptosid. The same layout use on three computers.

But the grub was installed Elementary OS. Today after reinstalling grub aptosid again tried the kernel from the aptosid this time and encountered no problems. Repeat steps on other computers and everything was once again working perfectly.


Last edited by hiltongil on 12.03.2014, 15:39; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DonKultOffline
Post subject: RE: Problem to boot  PostPosted: 23.01.2014, 13:52
Team Member


Joined: 2010-09-02
Posts: 482

Status: Offline
That looks real bad (e.g. not being able to load ext4 module). Are you sure the upgrade wasn't interrupted?
Can you boot with an older kernel?
If you can't, try with a LiveCD and chroot into your installation (the manual has the details). With that you should be able to fixup your system.

After that, you should check your hardware, at times such errors are an indication for a dying disk.

_________________
MfG. DonKult
"I never make stupid mistakes. Only very, very clever ones." ~ The Doctor
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
hiltongilOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Problem to boot  PostPosted: 23.01.2014, 15:01



Joined: 2012-02-01
Posts: 17
Location: Contry: Brazil, Estate: Rio Grande do Sul, City: Parobé
Status: Offline
      DonKult wrote:
That looks real bad (e.g. not being able to load ext4 module). Are you sure the upgrade wasn't interrupted?
Can you boot with an older kernel?
If you can't, try with a LiveCD and chroot into your installation (the manual has the details). With that you should be able to fixup your system.

After that, you should check your hardware, at times such errors are an indication for a dying disk.


The upgrade finish without interrupt.
And yes with older kernel I have boot normally.
I have 03 PCs and I verify that the problem happen only in i686, on my notebook with amd64 everything goes fine.

I will try reproduce this in a new vbox installation.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Problem to boot  PostPosted: 23.01.2014, 16:49



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 736

Status: Offline
Please do not mix unrelated issues (nvidia vs. initramfs failing) in one thread, as it makes debugging significantly harder; I've split off these unrelated topics from the original thread.

That said, this is not a generic issue with i686, as I'm successfully running this kernel on five legacy systems that don't support 64 bit.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hiltongilOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Re: RE: Problem to boot  PostPosted: 24.01.2014, 09:51



Joined: 2012-02-01
Posts: 17
Location: Contry: Brazil, Estate: Rio Grande do Sul, City: Parobé
Status: Offline
      slh wrote:
Please do not mix unrelated issues (nvidia vs. initramfs failing) in one thread, as it makes debugging significantly harder; I've split off these unrelated topics from the original thread.

That said, this is not a generic issue with i686, as I'm successfully running this kernel on five legacy systems that don't support 64 bit.


OK. slh, sorry to put this in wrong place.
Today i will try a new installation em after I report.
Thanks
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hiltongilOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Problem to boot  PostPosted: 24.01.2014, 18:31



Joined: 2012-02-01
Posts: 17
Location: Contry: Brazil, Estate: Rio Grande do Sul, City: Parobé
Status: Offline
So, in this evening I try a fresh installation.
I creat a vm on KMV and install the i686_Xfce ISO in ext4 filesystem.
After install run apt-get update and apt-get upgrade, than I reboot and the vm load without problems. Than I run apt-get dist-upgrade. After complete the upgrade reboot the vm and I can't boot the vm. I try boot with the older kernel 3.9 but dind't work.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hiltongilOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Problem to boot  PostPosted: 24.01.2014, 19:41



Joined: 2012-02-01
Posts: 17
Location: Contry: Brazil, Estate: Rio Grande do Sul, City: Parobé
Status: Offline
Try again in Virtualbox the same steps, everything goes ok.
So I don't know if there are any error...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Problem to boot  PostPosted: 24.01.2014, 21:17



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 736

Status: Offline
I can't reproduce that issue so far.
- installed aptosid-2013-01-hesperides-xfce-i386-201305050307.iso under kvm
- (re-)boot into the freshly installed VM
      Code:
# init 3
# apt-get update
# apt-get dist-upgrade
  - accept defaults for mdadm, lvm2, lightdm
  - select 105 generic keyboard in the keyboard selection
  - select proper grub2 install target (/dev/vda) for grub2
# reboot
/all_fine
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hiltongilOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Problem to boot  PostPosted: 25.01.2014, 16:06



Joined: 2012-02-01
Posts: 17
Location: Contry: Brazil, Estate: Rio Grande do Sul, City: Parobé
Status: Offline
      slh wrote:
I can't reproduce that issue so far.
- installed aptosid-2013-01-hesperides-xfce-i386-201305050307.iso under kvm
- (re-)boot into the freshly installed VM
      Code:
# init 3
# apt-get update
# apt-get dist-upgrade
  - accept defaults for mdadm, lvm2, lightdm
  - select 105 generic keyboard in the keyboard selection
  - select proper grub2 install target (/dev/vda) for grub2
# reboot
/all_fine


Well, if you don't had any problem, and considering than in the virtualbox here i can run without problems it's possible conclude than the problem is in my computer. So i think this thread can be closed.

Thank you for you help.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio