Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
rueXOffline
Post subject: 3.13-....slh. radeon graphic-kernel CRASH  PostPosted: 02.02.2014, 00:54



Joined: 2011-05-16
Posts: 55

Status: Offline
hi slh,
in my "iceweasel-posting" you wanted my complete dmesg ...

well,
changing back to kernel: 3.13-0.slh.3-aptosid-686 i686 all is well:

infobash -v3
Host/Kernel/OS "aptosidbox" running Linux 3.13-0.slh.3-aptosid-686 i686 [ aptosid 2011-01 Γῆρας - kde-lite - (201102051540) ]
...
Videocard Advanced Micro Devices, [AMD/ATI] RS690 [Radeon X1200] X.Org 1.14.5 [ 1280x1024@0.0hz ]
Network cards Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit
Processes 138 | Uptime 4min | Memory 340.4/2914.4MB .... | GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.3, 128 bits) | GLX Version Yes | Client Shell | Infobash v3.46

dmesg
....output checked by slh...deleted


Last edited by rueX on 17.03.2014, 23:43; edited 6 times in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
rueXOffline
Post subject: RE: 3.13-1.slh.3 - strange graphic - crash  PostPosted: 02.02.2014, 01:00



Joined: 2011-05-16
Posts: 55

Status: Offline
and now: with newest kernel:

infobash -v3
Host/Kernel/OS "aptosidbox" running Linux 3.13-1.slh.1-aptosid-686 i686 [ aptosid 2011-01 Γῆρας - kde-lite - (201102051540) ]
......
Videocard Advanced Micro Devices, [AMD/ATI] RS690 [Radeon X1200] X.Org 1.14.5 [ 1280x1024@0.0hz ]
Network cards Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit
Processes 152 | Uptime 2min ..... | GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.3, 128 bits) | GLX Version Yes | Client Shell | Infobash v3.46

dmesg
...checked by slh....deleted.



....18 or 25minutes with this newest 3.13-1-kernel: the graphic has errors more and more ...and finally no "poweroff" was possible.

....sorry for this extreme-long dmesg output !


Last edited by rueX on 02.02.2014, 17:17; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: 3.13-1.slh.3 - strange graphic - crash  PostPosted: 02.02.2014, 01:36



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 760

Status: Offline
There is no trace within those logs, whatever happened before, it didn't happen after you last rebooted (at least not yet).
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
rueXOffline
Post subject: RE: 3.13-1.slh.3 - strange graphic - crash  PostPosted: 02.02.2014, 18:29



Joined: 2011-05-16
Posts: 55

Status: Offline
hi slh, thanks for fast answer !

This day: same crash !

Can't send a dmesg because: system (3.13-1) freeze totally after 35min. each day ! It is a graphic error ! What can i post to you ?

Now is all running fine with older kernel (3.13-0)
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: 3.13-1.slh.3 - strange graphic - crash  PostPosted: 02.02.2014, 19:03



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 760

Status: Offline
You might be affected by the same issue as http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=2743, try to supply radeon.runpm=0 to your kernel command line.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
rueXOffline
Post subject: RE: 3.13-1.slh.3 - strange graphic - crash  PostPosted: 02.02.2014, 20:31



Joined: 2011-05-16
Posts: 55

Status: Offline
hey whow - sounds good Smile

"this deactivates the runtime powermanagement, which is activated by default in 3.13" ... in all 3.13-kernels ??? is that good ?

My only available-running kernel is 3.13-0 ...what happenes if i chance that at "bootup" ...

( is that /etc/grub.d/00_header ...or which place - to change ?)
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: 3.13-1.slh.3 - strange graphic - crash  PostPosted: 02.02.2014, 20:36



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 760

Status: Offline
You can either set it on-the-fly while booting (just for the current boot), using [e] in grub2's menu or by adding it permanently to /etc/default/grub (GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX) and re-running update-grub.

Using powermanagement is good, it keeps the graphics card much cooler, saves battery power and avoids thermal/ noise issues, but it needs to work (and there's no way but testing…).
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
rueXOffline
Post subject: RE: 3.13-1.slh.3 - strange graphic - crash  PostPosted: 02.02.2014, 22:56



Joined: 2011-05-16
Posts: 55

Status: Offline
mmmh, it seems to kill all onboard radeon graphic "cards" ...it is to hot ! now ! very very hot ...



sorry - but notebook is very very hot now ...crazy.

Don't like any tests with this newest kernel any more...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
rueXOffline
Post subject: RE: 3.13-1.slh.3 - strange graphic - crash  PostPosted: 03.02.2014, 11:10



Joined: 2011-05-16
Posts: 55

Status: Offline
apt-cache search linux-image-*
...3.12.1... no old aptosid-kernel ??? to download ?



or: alternative:

is there a tool out to monitor onboard GPU temperature (Radeon installed) ???

apt-cache policy xserver-xorg-video-radeon
xserver-xorg-video-radeon:
Installiert: 1:7.3.0-1



or a command to read Onboard-GPU-Temperature ?

thanx
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
rueXOffline
Post subject: RE: 3.13-1.slh.3 - strange graphic - crash  PostPosted: 04.02.2014, 17:04



Joined: 2011-05-16
Posts: 55

Status: Offline
hi slh,

i only can find a debian kernel in repository.

Is there no aptosid-kernel out <3.13.0 ??
without that GPU-prob.

because: my System is still crashing ...with "radeon.runpm=0"

All freezes and: i always must press the power-button with a RUNNING HDD ...that is not very good ..i think ,)
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: 3.13-1.slh.3 - strange graphic - crash  PostPosted: 04.02.2014, 23:40



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 760

Status: Offline
The supported kernel is 3.13.x at the moment, the servers don't distribute multiple kernel versions.

Regarding temperatures, 3.12 and 3.13+radeon.runpm=0 should be identical, as it's just the default that has been toggled.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
rueXOffline
Post subject: RE: 3.13-1.slh.3 - strange graphic - crash  PostPosted: 06.02.2014, 22:50



Joined: 2011-05-16
Posts: 55

Status: Offline
hi slh,

? is this a solution in our aptosid-kernel :

another forum: "But there are a problem with the Radeon driver. I could see just lines all over the screen. The reason is that the Radeon Dynamic Power Management doesn't work. I have to add the argument and the value "radeon.dpm=0" to the bootargs. For example: setenv bootargs "root=/dev/sda4 radeon.dpm=0"

kernel/git/torvalds: http://git.kernel.org/cgit/linux/kernel ... a6040c8721

hope to help you ?!


Question: is it still necessary to edit:
in /etc/default/grub the command line:

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="radeon.runpm=0 radeon.dpm=0"

or is it obsolete in 3.13-1.slh.2-aptosid-686 ???
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
rueXOffline
Post subject: RE: 3.13-1.slh.3 - strange graphic - crash  PostPosted: 09.02.2014, 17:45



Joined: 2011-05-16
Posts: 55

Status: Offline
newest d-u ....Sunday, february 9. 2014

Terrible CRASH

pls. see kernel ...graphic ...:

infobash -v
Host/Kernel/OS "aptosidbox" running Linux 3.13-2.slh.2-aptosid-686 i686 [ aptosid 2011-01 Γῆρας - kde-lite - (201102051540) ]
CPU Info 2x AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3600+ clocked at [ 1000.000 MHz ]
Videocard Advanced Micro Devices, [AMD/ATI] RS690 [Radeon X1200] X.Org 1.15.0 [ 1280x1024@0.0hz ]
Processes 134 | Uptime 7:00 | Memory 603.7/2914.4MB | HDD Size 160GB (79%used) | GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.3, 128 bits) | GLX Version Yes | Client Shell | Infobash v3.46


dmesg:

http://paste.debian.net/81025/


How can i shutdown without keyboard/mouse and not to damage my running-hdd ?


Last edited by rueX on 09.02.2014, 17:51; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOnline!
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.02.2014, 17:49



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 500
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Online!
      Quote:
GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.3, 128 bits)

firmware-linux-nonfree not installed?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
rueXOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 09.02.2014, 17:53



Joined: 2011-05-16
Posts: 55

Status: Offline
still installed from the beginning of aptosid...


but how can i change:
GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe ??


Last edited by rueX on 09.02.2014, 18:32; edited 2 times in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio