Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
tux09Offline
15 Post subject: solved: not booting after dist-upgrade - fatal error  PostPosted: 09.02.2014, 18:35



Joined: 2012-01-30
Posts: 13

Status: Offline
Hi,

first problem for a long time with thisd wonderful system:

      Code:
3.12-8.slh.1-aptosid-686
runs okay.

Trying to dist-upgrade to 3.13-2.slh.2-aptosid-686 only leads to an early error message:


      Code:
cannot load module ext3
can ' t access tty
job control turned off


stops at a rescue shell, but I do not know what to do at this point except for turning off the brutal way.

Problem was during the process the tty screen (init3) turned completely black, so there was no way of knowing what was going on and in the end, when I could not see any harddisk activity I could only type "init0" blindly.

What to do next? Thanks very much for your help!

My system:
A thinkpad T60

      Code:

running Linux 3.12-8.slh.1-aptosid-686 i686 [ sidux 2010-01 Ύπνος - kde-lite - (201006131622) ]
CPU Info        2x Intel Core2 T5500 @ 2048 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm vmx ) clocked at [ 1000.000 MHz ]
Videocard       Advanced Micro Devices, [AMD/ATI] RV515/M52 [Mobility Radeon X1300]  X.Org 1.15.0  [ 1400x1050@60.0hz ]
Network cards   Intel 82573L Gigabit
                Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG [Golan]
Processes 135 | Uptime 16min | Memory 548.7/2024.5MB | HDD SAMSUNG HM160HI Size 160GB (55%used) | GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on ATI RV515 | GLX Version Yes | Client Shell | Infobash v3.46


Last edited by tux09 on 14.04.2014, 14:19; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: not booting after dist-upgrade - fatal error  PostPosted: 09.02.2014, 19:33



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 760

Status: Offline
This might be related to http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=2744, however up to this moment I haven't been able to reproduce the problem locally. What appears to be obvious, is that 'something' on your local system affects the initramfs(-tools) generator to fail embedding the required modules into the initramfs, that could be a version mismatch between the affected packages (I tried to force it, but didn't succeed in creating a broken setup) or an issue with additional packages providing broken initramfs-tools hooks (at least the shipped ones don't seems to be problematic).

In order to try debugging it further, which filesystems do you use (especially for your rootfs), in particular ext3 or ext4? Please also provide the output of "lsinitramfs -l /boot/initrd.img-3.13-2.slh.2-aptosid-amd64".
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
tux09Offline
Post subject: Re: RE: not booting after dist-upgrade - fatal error  PostPosted: 09.02.2014, 19:59



Joined: 2012-01-30
Posts: 13

Status: Offline
Hi, slh
      slh wrote:


yes, looks very much like it!

filesystems are ext3.

      slh wrote:
Please also provide the output of "lsinitramfs -l /boot/initrd.img-3.13-2.slh.2-aptosid-amd64".


How should I chroot into that system in order to give you that information? I don 't have a live cd, can I so it from the older kernel?

thanks,
tux09
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: not booting after dist-upgrade - fatal error  PostPosted: 09.02.2014, 20:35



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 760

Status: Offline
Yes, you can use an older kernel as well - it's a static file on your filesystem.

That said, I just tested a newly installed 2012-01 system on ext3 as well; no issues after dist-upgrading.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
tux09Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.03.2014, 20:13



Joined: 2012-01-30
Posts: 13

Status: Offline
Hope that the problem would be solved with the new kernel was disappointed, same here.

I m still working with the old kernel 3.12.8, as it is the last one booting.

In the other thread Don KUlt asked whether the upgrade was interupted. In my case that might have been the case as the screen (init3) went black and there was nothing for it but to type init 0 blindly after there seemed to be no more disk activity.

How to give you the output of
lsinitramfs -l /boot/initrd.img-3.12-8.slh.1-aptosid-686?
Quote, attachment, aptosid-paste all forbiiden because it is too long.
Thank you for your patience.
-
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.03.2014, 21:07



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 760

Status: Offline
The original error message you quoted initially suggests a problem with assembling the initramfs, not necessarily the kernel itself. The problem remains that so far we haven't been able to reproduce this problem and to dissect the used initramfs, regenerate it or bisect the kernel - and I've tried it a lot under kvm and an old spare computer.

It's interesting to notice that the other affected person referenced previously couldn't reproduce this issue either, after installing the last release and upgrading it. This suggests a potential interoperability problem with other packages providing eventually faulty initramfs hooks, but this is just guesswork.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
tux09Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 04.03.2014, 07:29



Joined: 2012-01-30
Posts: 13

Status: Offline
Thank you, slh for you answer and your work!
So there is nothing for it but to do fresh installation or would you advise me just to wait a bit longer?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 04.03.2014, 19:52



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 760

Status: Offline
No, reinstalling is certainly not necessary. Most likely the bug is easily fixable, once it is identified, but so far reproducing that (so the actual error condition can be debugged) remains to be a problem. I'm just remarking that it's very likely that the problem won't show up on a fresh/ dist-upgraded installation, on the very same hardware. This would be the big hammer and certainly not necessary, but so far we're still missing the details for a targetted fix.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
c_goneOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.03.2014, 00:55



Joined: 2014-03-05
Posts: 5
Location: Greece
Status: Offline
Sometimes it helps to use a live bootable usb and use ie disk-manager or mount to seek the logs of that failed install.

(In my case after a recent debian disaster due to steam install gone bad, I managed to see the debian system from my aptosid partition and salvage files etc).

The bootable usb is a fast way to check the logs.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.03.2014, 01:38



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 760

Status: Offline
Given that the previously installed 3.12 kernels are still working, there's no need for using a live medium just to get at some logs.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
c_goneOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.03.2014, 02:28



Joined: 2014-03-05
Posts: 5
Location: Greece
Status: Offline
You are correct, that was off-topic but usefull in case one purges earlier kernels.

All that remains is for us to see the results of the: lsinitramfs -l /boot/initrd.img-3.12-8.slh.1-aptosid-686
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
tux09Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 18.03.2014, 19:17



Joined: 2012-01-30
Posts: 13

Status: Offline
      c_gone wrote:
All that remains is for us to see the results of the: lsinitramfs -l /boot/initrd.img-3.12-8.slh.1-aptosid-686


yes, but as I said before:
I don 't know how to give it to you. as all the ways I could think of are forbidden because of its length.

And I tried quote, attachment and aptosid-paste.
So what to do with it?
greetings
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
tux09Offline
15 Post subject:   PostPosted: 14.04.2014, 14:18



Joined: 2012-01-30
Posts: 13

Status: Offline
Working again!!

Had to stick to the last 3.12- kernel, but

3.14-0.slh.1-aptosid-686 boots again, without my having done anything.
Great!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio