Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
paolopOffline
Post subject: no internet for update/upgrade with systemd  PostPosted: 24.05.2014, 10:23



Joined: 2013-10-17
Posts: 3
Location: Treviso, Italy
Status: Offline
according with the new install of systemd, steps for dist-upgrade are now a bit changed (or not?).
From aptosid manual:
"go to textmode by doing CTRL+Alt+F1, logon as root, and then type Init 3
....
Init 5 && exit"
Now init 3 is multi-user.target and init 5 is graphical.target.
For now to run old init 3 after Ctrl+Alt+F1 and logon as root, type:
#systemctl isolate multi-user.target
Is the right way for starting update/upgrade (or not?).
The problem for me is that after all, as root I have not internet connection for update/upgrade.
Why? Or where is my error?
No Ubuntu-dolce-vita for sid users! Laughing
Thanks for help!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
wkauzOffline
Post subject: No internetconnection in init 3 after changing to systemd  PostPosted: 02.06.2014, 06:05



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 27
Location: Saarbrücken/Germany///SO Asia
Status: Offline
Hello!

According to my post:

http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphp ... amp;t=2793


in init 3, I can't get an internetconnection.


      Code:
ip link show
:
wlan0 is down
      Code:
ip link set wlan0 up
:
no setting to up

      Code:
lsmod
:

iwlwifi, cfg80211, iwldvm are loaded

      Code:
ping -c 5 ###.###.#.##


network is unreachable



back to init 5, wpa_supplicant:

could not get status


How to do?

Thanks
wkauz
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
wkauzOffline
Post subject: RE: No internetconnection in init 3 after changing to system  PostPosted: 03.06.2014, 06:16



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 27
Location: Saarbrücken/Germany///SO Asia
Status: Offline
Problem solved!

Reconfiguration of the network(wlan0) with CENI in init 3.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
spockOffline
Post subject: Dist-upgrade with systemd  PostPosted: 29.06.2014, 22:13



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 80
Location: Near Milton Keynes, UK
Status: Offline
      paolop wrote:
according with the new install of systemd, steps for dist-upgrade are now a bit changed (or not?).
From aptosid manual:
"go to textmode by doing CTRL+Alt+F1, logon as root, and then type Init 3
....
Init 5 && exit"
Now init 3 is multi-user.target and init 5 is graphical.target.
For now to run old init 3 after Ctrl+Alt+F1 and logon as root, type:
#systemctl isolate multi-user.target
Is the right way for starting update/upgrade (or not?).
I'd also like to know what is now the "correct" way to perform a DU. Should I use the above command or:
      Code:
service lightdm stop
or on KDE:
      Code:
service kdm stop

And what's up with the "halt" command, which now that systemd has taken over the init process, just terminates all processes but leaves the machine powered up, so that I have to hold in the power button until it actually goes off? To prevent this, I have to type "shutdown now" as root to actually get it power off as well. Is this a bug or a feature? Wink

I'm loving the super fast bootup though Smile I'm currently using systemd version 204-12 from a couple of days ago, but I see that a new version 204-14 is upon us now. I'll test that and see if it's any different...
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
spockOffline
Post subject: RE: Dist-upgrade with systemd  PostPosted: 29.06.2014, 23:54



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 80
Location: Near Milton Keynes, UK
Status: Offline
OK, trying paolop's suggested command "systemctl isolate multi-user.target" does what it says it will, stopping the graphical window manager (as proved by typing "service lightdm status") and even also killing off all the virtual terminals except CTRL-ALT-F1.

Even after upgrading systemd to 204-14, the "halt" command still doesn't power off.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: Re: Dist-upgrade with systemd  PostPosted: 30.06.2014, 00:50



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 747

Status: Offline
      spock wrote:
And what's up with the "halt" command, which now that systemd has taken over the init process, just terminates all processes but leaves the machine powered up, so that I have to hold in the power button until it actually goes off? To prevent this, I have to type "shutdown now" as root to actually get it power off as well. Is this a bug or a feature? Wink
According to upstream, shutting off the system upon "halt" (instead of merely, well, halting the system) is supposed to be a bug, an alternative would be "poweroff", which serves its implied purpose. So this is an intential change.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio