Rootserver Sponsor

webtropia"

Donations

Please support your operating system's further development:

donate"

Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
2spoonsOffline
Post subject: Sound No Longer Working  PostPosted: 10.07.2015, 10:45



Joined: 2011-02-27
Posts: 13
Location: colchester essex england
Status: Offline
I have no sound with 4.1 kernels. Reverting to 4.0.0.-5-slh.2 all works fine.

      Code:
lspci | grep Audio

00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)


Thanks.

      Code:
infobash -v3
Host/Kernel/OS  "trumpet" running Linux 4.0.0-5.slh.2-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ aptosid 2011-02 Ἡμέρα - kde-full - (201107131633) ]
CPU Info        2x AMD Athlon II X2 240e 1024 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm svm ) clocked at [ 1600.000 MHz ]
Videocard       Advanced Micro Devices, [AMD/ATI] RS780L [Radeon 3000]  X.Org 1.17.2  [ 1024x768@75.08hz ]
Network cards   Qualcomm Atheros AR8131 Gigabit
Processes 150 | Uptime 22min | Memory 787.2/3705.7MB | HDD MAXTOR STM380215,ST3250318AS Size 330GB (12%used) | GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on AMD RS780 | GLX Version Yes | Client Shell | Infobash v3.49
[/code]
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: Sound No Longer Working  PostPosted: 11.07.2015, 19:57



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 949

Status: Offline
While it's certainly possible that the kernel might have regressed, chances are higher that 'just' the order selecting the default audio controller has changed (e.g. HDMI output suddenly getting a higher priority than your normal sound output). Please check first that all volumes are at maximum (alsamixer) and then to emit sound to all the possible sound output (see "cat /proc/asound/cards") with aplay (-D default:CARD=XXX).
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
2spoonsOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.07.2015, 10:31



Joined: 2011-02-27
Posts: 13
Location: colchester essex england
Status: Offline
Sorry for the delay.

The only difference between the states of audio with 4.0.0-5 and 4.1.0-1 kernels that I can find is that with latter kernel lsmod shows an additional sound module, snd_hda_core, not present with the 4.0.0.-5 kernel.

      Code:
lsmod | grep -i snd
snd_hda_codec_via      13970  1
snd_hda_codec_generic    55239  1 snd_hda_codec_via
snd_hda_intel          21713  2
snd_hda_controller     17433  1 snd_hda_intel
snd_hda_codec          80759  4 snd_hda_codec_via,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
snd_hda_core           17287  4 snd_hda_codec_via,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_controller
snd_hwdep               5914  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                79169  3 snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_controller
snd_timer              18770  1 snd_pcm
snd                    58773  11 snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_hda_codec_via,snd_pcm,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
soundcore               5359  1 snd


This I cannot remove because, as you see, it is a dependency for other modules.

Any further advice welcome.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
bfreeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.07.2015, 20:57
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 267

Status: Offline
Have a look at the output from "aplay -l" and "aplay -L" under the working and non-working setups. I'd still think slh's guess that the order of sound cards/devices (or choice of default) has changed is the best guess. If you look at "man speaker-test" you can also find out how you might test different outputs using the output from "aplay -L". Or are you confirming you checked and there is no difference there?

The other thing is that it might be something fairly specific to your motherboard/laptop and searching about that (or telling us here what it is) might turn up something like a change in modes used or something.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
2spoonsOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 18.07.2015, 08:57



Joined: 2011-02-27
Posts: 13
Location: colchester essex england
Status: Offline
This morning's d-u fixed the problem.

Great. Many thanks.

      Code:
infobash -v3
Host/Kernel/OS  "trumpet" running Linux 4.1.0-2.slh.2-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ aptosid 2011-02 Ἡμέρα - kde-full - (201107131633) ]
CPU Info        2x AMD Athlon II X2 240e 1024 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm svm ) clocked at [ 2100.000 MHz ]
Videocard       Advanced Micro Devices, [AMD/ATI] RS780L [Radeon 3000]  X.Org 1.17.2  [ 1024x768@75.08hz ]
Network cards   Qualcomm Atheros AR8131 Gigabit
Processes 161 | Uptime 4min | Memory 760.8/3705.6MB | HDD ST3250318AS,MAXTOR STM380215 Size 330GB (12%used) | GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on AMD RS780 | GLX Version Yes | Client Shell | Infobash v3.49
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio