Rootserver Sponsor

webtropia"

Donations

Please support your operating system's further development:

donate"

Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
someoneanywhereOffline
15 Post subject: A quick DU question  PostPosted: 08.01.2016, 20:19



Joined: 2010-10-31
Posts: 55
Location: usa
Status: Offline
Hello.
I wish to ask, without setting off flaming vituperative emotions, the correct way for me to proceed to bring my aptosid system up to date.
My installation is one originating in 2008 sidux always before successfully resurrected to the latest status until the show stop api changes in 072015. At the first postings in this forum (topic: Various windows based problems 09072015) I have stopped attempting to du. Simply just have been using the installation.
My question:
Were I to decide to ¨bite the bullet¨ as it were, and today du, would the proper procedure be to issue:
A: # apt-get update
B: # apt-get dist-upgrade --purge kio-extras+ kde-baseapps+ kio+ kwin-x11+ plasma-desktop+ fonts-oxygen+ kde-config-gtk-style+ kde-config-sddm+ kde-style-oxygen-qt5+ khelpcenter+ khotkeys+ kinfocenter+ kio-extras+ kmenuedit+ kscreen+ ksshaskpass+ ksysguard+ kwrited+ systemsettings+ plasma-workspace+ kde-window-manager- klipper- kactivities+ libkactivities-bin- libkf5config-bin+ libkf5dbusaddons-bin+ libkf5emoticons-bin+ libkf5filemetadata-bin+ libkf5iconthemes-bin+ libkf5kdelibs4support5-bin+ libkf5khtml-bin+ libkf5parts-plugins+ libkf5su-bin+ libkf5wallet-bin+ libkf5xmlgui-bin+ libqt5sql5-sqlite+ kdm- sddm+ plasma-desktop-data+

Followed by:
C: # apt-get dist-upgrade libstreamanalyzer0v5+ libstreams0v5+ libstreams0- kdeutils+ kdeadmin+ konversation+

OR some composite apt-get command string?

I fully realize my beloved digikam, calligra and likely some other nice bloat-ware, will have to be sacrificed for awhile. However I do now need to work with kmail which I had never before installed.
Any hope?
infobash
CPU[-Quad-Core AMD Opteron 2386 SE clocked at Min:800.000Mhz Max:2100.000Mhz-] Kernel[-Linux 4.1.0-2.slh.2-aptosid-amd64 x86_64-

Thank you!!
Rolling Eyes


Last edited by someoneanywhere on 17.01.2016, 22:15; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
finottiOffline
Post subject: RE: A quick DU question  PostPosted: 09.01.2016, 12:30



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 470

Status: Offline
I cannot guarantee anything, but I did recently a similar DU and it went OK. There was only one extra command, as some package was preventing plasma of being installed, but I don't remember what it was. (Also be prepared for many "apt-get -f install".)

I don't use Kmail, but it is in my system, and digikam is installable, but not calligra...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
someoneanywhereOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: A quick DU question  PostPosted: 09.01.2016, 17:34



Joined: 2010-10-31
Posts: 55
Location: usa
Status: Offline
      finotti wrote:
I cannot guarantee anything, but I did recently a similar DU and it went OK. There was only one extra command, as some package was preventing plasma of being installed, but I don't remember what it was. (Also be prepared for many "apt-get -f install".)

I don't use Kmail, but it is in my system, and digikam is installable, but not calligra...


Thank you, finotti!
I will clone the hdd, suhtdown and remove the ¨master¨ hdd, install the cloned hard drive and boot it. If all is okay then, as the old fighter pilots said: ¨Chocks away, let us pray..¨ off to the du battles!
Rolling Eyes
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: A quick DU question  PostPosted: 09.01.2016, 22:30



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 949

Status: Offline
Yes, the advice for upgrading from KDE4 to KDE5 still stands (not all of that might still be strictly necessary, but it will still help to reach the correct dependency resolution) - and I'd suggest combining it to one command invocation.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
someoneanywhereOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Re: RE: A quick DU question  PostPosted: 10.01.2016, 21:27



Joined: 2010-10-31
Posts: 55
Location: usa
Status: Offline
      slh wrote:
Yes, the advice for upgrading from KDE4 to KDE5 still stands (not all of that might still be strictly necessary, but it will still help to reach the correct dependency resolution) - and I'd suggest combining it to one command invocation.

Thank you, slh! I had been with the thought of waiting to see if you made a comment before wading into the pond of du fun-i-ness! I'll give a try tonight or tomorrow.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
someoneanywhereOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: A quick DU question  PostPosted: 12.01.2016, 20:52



Joined: 2010-10-31
Posts: 55
Location: usa
Status: Offline
Hello, again.
The du progressed smoothly, well, relatively smooth waters; 2-3/4 hrs. with 2 invocations of apt-get -f install plus one final re-invocation of the slh magic apt-get string.


Yes, certainly select sddm as default.
Alas, all was not well on reboot. No boot loader, grub had not installed on /dev/sda. Time for a Knoppix 7.6 chroot session to install grub (# grub-install --force /dev/sda, then update-grub). Yes, yes, I know this is a blocklist 386-pc grub not the embedded grub. I have no idea how to fix the partition table to correct that. But grub does work at least until the next upgrade.
Reboot okay so now as root invoke: system enable gddm and download prop. nvidia driver run package. Reboot. Nice big black blank screen!! CTRL + ALT + F1 log in as root issue systemctl status sddm which shows it stopped. Issue service sddm stop.
apt-get update, apt-get install libqt5xcbqpa5 which says already installed. Thus at this point I have no idea what next to do and issued shutdown -h now and pulled the hdd. Then rebooted the Knoppix 7.6 live dvd to write this.
Any ideas what you need to see to guide me through to find a solution?
- though supposedly running only black blank screen displays-
      Quote:

# systemctl status sddm
● sddm.service - Simple Desktop Display Manager
Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/sddm.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
Active: active (running) since Tue 2016-01-12 19:25:19 UTC; 3min 52s ago
Docs: man:sddm(1)
man:sddm.conf(5)
Process: 5453 ExecStartPre=/bin/sh -c [ "$(cat /etc/X11/default-display-manager 2>/dev/null)" = "/usr/bin/sddm" ] (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
Main PID: 5491 (sddm)
Tasks: 2 (limit: 512)
CGroup: /system.slice/sddm.service
├─5491 /usr/bin/sddm
└─5493 /usr/lib/xorg/Xorg -nolisten tcp -auth /var/run/sddm/{89da4c62-b4d6-4613-b992-e7f932617163} -background none -noreset -displayfd 17 vt7

Jan 12 19:25:20 Perseverance sddm[5491]: Socket server started.
Jan 12 19:25:20 Perseverance sddm[5491]: Greeter starting...
Jan 12 19:25:20 Perseverance sddm[5491]: Adding cookie to "/var/run/sddm/{89da4c62-b4d6-4613-b992-e7f932617163}"
Jan 12 19:25:20 Perseverance sddm-helper[5501]: [PAM] Starting...
Jan 12 19:25:20 Perseverance sddm-helper[5501]: [PAM] Authenticating...
Jan 12 19:25:20 Perseverance sddm-helper[5501]: [PAM] returning.
Jan 12 19:25:20 Perseverance sddm[5491]: Greeter session started successfully
Jan 12 19:25:20 Perseverance sddm[5491]: Message received from greeter: Connect
Jan 12 19:25:20 Perseverance sddm[5491]: Auth: sddm-helper exited with 11
Jan 12 19:25:20 Perseverance sddm[5491]: Greeter stopped.


      Quote:
slh magic string:

# apt-get dist-upgrade --purge kio-extras+ kde-baseapps+ kio+ kwin-x11+ plasma-desktop+ fonts-oxygen+ kde-config-gtk-style+ kde-config-sddm+ kde-style-oxygen-qt5+ khelpcenter+ khotkeys+ kinfocenter+ kio-extras+ kmenuedit+ kscreen+ ksshaskpass+ ksysguard+ kwrited+ systemsettings+ plasma-workspace+ kde-window-manager- klipper- kactivities+ libkactivities-bin- libkf5config-bin+ libkf5dbusaddons-bin+ libkf5emoticons-bin+ libkf5filemetadata-bin+ libkf5iconthemes-bin+ libkf5kdelibs4support5-bin+ libkf5khtml-bin+ libkf5parts-plugins+ libkf5su-bin+ libkf5wallet-bin+ libkf5xmlgui-bin+ libqt5sql5-sqlite+ kdm- sddm+ plasma-desktop-data+ libstreamanalyzer0v5+ libstreams0v5+ libstreams0- kdeutils+ kdeadmin+ konversation+

Attached .jpg is after a second or third reboot and ctrl + alt + f1 root login invocation of systemctl status sddm.
Thank you.



DSCF1916.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  81.7 KB
 Viewed:  21168 Time(s)

DSCF1916.jpg


 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
finottiOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: A quick DU question  PostPosted: 14.01.2016, 23:15



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 470

Status: Offline
OK, I'm not the best person to reply here, but let me try...

I am not sure what could have happened with grub, but if you can boot,
I guess it is fine, right? Honestly, I don't understand you comment:

      Quote:

Yes, yes, I know this is a blocklist 386-pc grub not the embedded grub. I have no idea how to fix the partition table to correct that. But grub does work at least until the next upgrade.


Why do you think it might not work anymore, if the installation worked?

So, now I assume it is a problem getting X (or sddm) to run.

      Quote:

Reboot okay so now as root invoke: system enable gddm and ...


Do you mean sddm or gdm? If the latter, maybe it is a bad idea...
(It seems you mean sddm, though.) Then:

      Quote:

... download prop. nvidia driver run package.


Maybe you should have waited, but in any case, what is the card?
What does
      Code:

infobash -v3

show? How did you install? From the repositories, from nVidia...?
(I assume is the proprietary driver.) Did it install successfully?

So, sddm does not work, but can you get to Plasma 5 from a tty with
"startx" (or "startkde")? We need to find if the problem is sddm or
X. (Probably the latter, due to a problem with the video driver.) If
you can't get to Plasma from the tty, show us your
"/var/log/Xorg.0.log" from right after an attempt. (I assume plasma 5
is installed... Does
      Code:

apt-cache policy plasma-desktop

show it is installed?)

I am not sure if any of this help, but some of the logs above might
point in the write direction...

Best,

Luis
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
finottiOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: A quick DU question  PostPosted: 15.01.2016, 05:35



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 470

Status: Offline
Also, if you can't get to Plasma, maybe see if you can run fluxbox (with "startfluxbox", I'd asssume). So, we can see if the problem is X or Plasma.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
someoneanywhereOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: A quick DU question  PostPosted: 15.01.2016, 06:06



Joined: 2010-10-31
Posts: 55
Location: usa
Status: Offline
finotti; Thank you for your time and replies.
I will answer briefly several of your questions and points here, then tomorrow night put the hard drive back into the machine and boot it to get the other answers to post.

      Quote:

I am not sure what could have happened with grub, but if you can boot,
I guess it is fine, right? Honestly, I don't understand you comment:

Yeah, sorry, I should not have even mentioned that here. Grub does not like my partition table and always (since grub 2 thrown error messages:
      Quote:

root #grub2-install /dev/sda1Attempting to install GRUB to a partition disk or to a partition. This is a BAD idea.Embedding is not possible. GRUB can only be installed in this setup by using blocklists. However, blocklists are UNRELIABLE and their use is discouraged.)

I'll one day go back and set up new gpt partitions on a new hdd and move the aptosid onto it. But for now as long as I remember to issue ¨ # grub-install --force /dev/sda ¨ follwed by ¨#update-grub¨ before rebooting after a du it is okay. This time I forgot which meant I needed to do the live dvd chroot thing to fix it.

      Quote:

Do you mean sddm or gdm? If the latter, maybe it is a bad idea...
(It seems you mean sddm, though.)

Yes, I meant sddm. My typo which I did not notice in message preview.
      Quote:


Maybe you should have waited, but in any case, what is the card?
How did you install? From the repositories, from nVidia...?
(I assume is the proprietary driver.) Did it install successfully?

The card is Nvidia GK104 GeForce GTX760 Yes the driver installed with no errors or problems.
I usually hesitate on the aptosid forums to mention using certain ¨Dragon scripts¨ as some intense flame festivals have been set off in the past.
However, as you ask I use:
      Quote:

#sgfxi -f -B

I will post the exact nvida number in the next post. Likely it is: NVIDIA-Linux-x86-361.16.run Or it may be Nvidia 358.16 which is what is running here now on the un-du'd hdd:
      Quote:

beaumarchais@Perseverance:~$ infobash -v3
Host/Kernel/OS "Perseverance" running Linux 4.1.0-2.slh.2-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ sidux 2009-04 Μόρος - kde-full - (200912310312) ]
CPU Info 8x Quad-Core AMD Opteron 2386 SE 512 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm svm ) clocked at [ 800.000 MHz ]
Videocard NVIDIA GK104 [GeForce GTX 760] X.Org 1.17.2 [ 2560x1440@59.95hz ]
Network cards NVIDIA MCP55
NVIDIA MCP55
Processes 179 | Uptime 13:30 | Memory 1180.4/16052.4MB | HDD Hitachi HDT72101,Hitachi HDP72505 Size 1500GB (25%used) | GLX Renderer GeForce GTX 760/PCIe/SSE2 | GLX Version 4.5.0 NVIDIA 358.16 | Client Shell | Infobash v3.49



      Quote:

So, sddm does not work, but can you get to Plasma 5 from a tty with
"startx" (or "startkde")? We need to find if the problem is sddm or
X. (Probably the latter, due to a problem with the video driver.) If
you can't get to Plasma from the tty, show us your
"/var/log/Xorg.0.log" from right after an attempt. (I assume plasma 5
is installed...

I'll be able to answer those queries in the next posting.

Thank you. Wink
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
someoneanywhereOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: A quick DU question  PostPosted: 17.01.2016, 23:04



Joined: 2010-10-31
Posts: 55
Location: usa
Status: Offline
I edited the thread title to reflect a successful du as slh and finotti suggested was possible.
I merely forgot when rebooting after the several hour process to install the nvidia driver; exactly as finotti thought likely.
Today I booted the hdd and looked at infobash -v 3 output, no driver shown.
So:
      Quote:

# service sddm stop
# sgfxi -f -B
select ¨1¨ ¨start desktop¨ after NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-361.18.run completed (and verifying /etc/x11/xorg.conf parameters look similar to the back up versions )

Up and away to the login-greeter screen. Both my default Enlightenment session and Plasma session work (though I hate the plasma background and pray aptosid graphics team design an appropriate background and theme).
Running now:
      Quote:

root@Perseverance:/# apt-cache policy plasma-desktop
plasma-desktop:
Installed: 4:5.4.3-1
Candidate: 4:5.4.3-1
Version table:
*** 4:5.4.3-1 500
500 http://ftp.at.debian.org/debian sid/main amd64 Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
root@Perseverance:/# infobash -v 3
Host/Kernel/OS "Perseverance" running Linux 4.4.0-0.slh.1-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ sidux 2009-04 Μόρος - kde-full - (200912310312) ]
CPU Info 8x Quad-Core AMD Opteron 2386 SE 512 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm svm ) clocked at [ 800.000 MHz ]
Videocard NVIDIA GK104 [GeForce GTX 760] X.Org 1.17.3 [ 2560x1440@59.95hz ]
Network cards NVIDIA MCP55
NVIDIA MCP55
Processes 207 | Uptime 54min | Memory 1885.8/16052.5MB | HDD Hitachi HUA72201,Hitachi HDP72505 Size 1500GB (25%used) | GLX Renderer GeForce GTX 760/PCIe/SSE2 | GLX Version 4.5.0 NVIDIA 361.18 | Client Shell | Infobash v3.50

Thank you for the great help! Wink
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio