Rootserver Sponsor

webtropia"

Donations

Please support your operating system's further development:

donate"

Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
debabaOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: 2015-01 or 2016-01?  PostPosted: 18.12.2015, 06:37



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 51
Location: Hessen
Status: Offline
Moin,moin,

@elish:
What's your problem?
Aptosid is debian based, so install an actual debian.
Then add the aptosid repositories.
How? RTFM!
Then change the distribution/pinning in your favorite installationprogram.
Upgrade.
Finished.

bye in a rolling world
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
elishOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: 2015-01 or 2016-01?  PostPosted: 06.01.2016, 19:16



Joined: 2013-11-09
Posts: 33

Status: Offline
      debaba wrote:

Then change the distribution/pinning in your favorite installation program.

How do you do that?
Is this action reversible?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
debabaOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: 2015-01 or 2016-01?  PostPosted: 19.01.2016, 11:05



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 51
Location: Hessen
Status: Offline
Excuse me for the long period of no reply.

To change to aptosid as user root just add a file with extension .list in /etc/apt/sources.list.d and append the deb entries for aptosid. Don't forget to install the keyring to not have questions about missing keys while installation.

      Code:
su
cd /etc/apt/sources.list.d
echo 'deb http://aptosid.com/debian/ sid fix.main main' > aptosid.list
echo 'deb-src http://aptosid.com/debian/ sid fix.main main' >> aptosid.list
apt-get update
apt-get install aptosid-archive-keyring

From now on it's possible for you to install stuff from the aptosid repositories.

If you want to use the aptosid kernel (has always been pretty stable since the times of sidux, thanks slh), just install linux-image-aptosid-amd64. this will keep you uptodate with the newest kernel. Next time you boot you will see an additional boot-entry (normally as default entry) with the newly installed aptosid kernel.

      Code:
su
apt-get install linux-image-aptosid-amd64


Your original kernel now can still be used. It is behind one of the other boot entries. Your original kernel and things stay untouched as long as you don't remove by yourself.

If you use dkms or want to compile things by yourself, it's necessary to install linux-headers-aptosid-amd64 to have the header files for the aptosid kernel. A very useful script if you regularly change your kernel is kernel-remover. This script removes old unnecessary kernels from your machine.

If you use something like synaptic you will see some new stuff in origins under 'unstable/main (aptosid.com)'. Be sure the settings/distribution is set to 'unstable'

To revert just apt-get remove the installed stuff from aptosid. Then delete the file from /etc/apt/sources.list.d
After a reboot, there is no more Aptosid entry in boot manager.

      Code:
su
apt-get remove linux-image-aptosid-amd64
apt-get remove aptosid-archive-keyring
cd /etc/apt/sources.list.d
rm aptosid.list
apt-get update

That's all folks

Thanks for the good work on aptosid kernel
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
elishOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: 2015-01 or 2016-01?  PostPosted: 19.01.2016, 13:06



Joined: 2013-11-09
Posts: 33

Status: Offline
Thank you.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
elishOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: 2015-01 or 2016-01?  PostPosted: 19.01.2016, 18:44



Joined: 2013-11-09
Posts: 33

Status: Offline
Well, this works in theory...
In practice there are problems - text screen instead of GUI after startup
need to type startx for Xfce to be shown
Also Libreoffice and Kodi not working.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
debabaOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: 2015-01 or 2016-01?  PostPosted: 25.01.2016, 07:01



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 51
Location: Hessen
Status: Offline
I'm always using this way. I had no probs until now, of course you need to install some recommended packages.
Did you care about the messages when installing?

Did you use a newly installed debian or an existing machine, on bare metal or VM?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
elishOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: 2015-01 or 2016-01?  PostPosted: 03.02.2016, 18:26



Joined: 2013-11-09
Posts: 33

Status: Offline
After the steps above a dist-upgrade was performed according to manual (if that's what you mean by recommended packages).
I didn't notice something unusual about the messages when installing, but I'm no expert.
The transition was made from Debian 8 on hard disk.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio