Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
LanziOffline
Post subject: Looking for webcam - any good suggestions?  PostPosted: 10.10.2010, 22:32



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 126
Location: Hessen
Status: Offline
I am looking for a vga webcam for my parents computer. They are running aptosid like me Smile
I tried a Logitech Webcam HD Webcam C270 on my 64bit system, and had major problems.
Which brands/ models are running out of the box?
Any tips?

_________________
Urlaub im Harz? http://pension-grueneinsel.de
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject: RE: Looking for webcam - any good suggestions?  PostPosted: 10.10.2010, 23:28



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
I got a Logitech QuickCam Chat running OOTB

      Code:
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 046d:092e Logitech, Inc. QuickCam Chat
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
snvvOffline
Post subject: Re: Looking for webcam - any good suggestions?  PostPosted: 10.10.2010, 23:52



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 295

Status: Offline
      Lanzi wrote:
I am looking for a vga webcam for my parents computer. They are running aptosid like me Smile
I tried a Logitech Webcam HD Webcam C270 on my 64bit system, and had major problems.
Which brands/ models are running out of the box?
Any tips?


What problems do you have?
It is a uvc camera and should supported out of the box.
Any way, the non-HD version is supported (the are simillar).
The Microsoft VX-5000 supported too and has quite good quality.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject: Re: Looking for webcam - any good suggestions?  PostPosted: 11.10.2010, 02:11



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
      snvv wrote:
      Lanzi wrote:
I am looking for a vga webcam for my parents computer. They are running aptosid like me Smile
I tried a Logitech Webcam HD Webcam C270 on my 64bit system, and had major problems.
Which brands/ models are running out of the box?
Any tips?


What problems do you have?
It is a uvc camera and should supported out of the box.
Any way, the non-HD version is supported (the are simillar).
The Microsoft VX-5000 supported too and has quite good quality.


Pretty ironic that Microsoft's hardware's pretty damn well supported in Linux, eh? Smile
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 11.10.2010, 14:12



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
Logitech QuickCam Communicate STX works fine, but I don't know if it is still available (this one is a couple years old).

      Code:
Bus 005 Device 002: ID 046d:08d7 Logitech, Inc. QuickCam Communicate STX
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
SordonOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.10.2010, 11:02



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 55

Status: Offline
I'm using a Logitech C500 Webcam without any problems.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
snvvOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.10.2010, 11:24



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 295

Status: Offline
In http://www.ideasonboard.org/uvc/ you can find a wide range of supported webcams. The list is not complete (i.e. I have a logitech C1000 that works out of the box).

In general any webcam supporting uvc protocol should work in linux.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.10.2010, 11:32
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
Actually, buying an unsupported new web cam today is almost impossible. Even professional cams used for serious microscopy in the lab are mostly supported. Your milage may differ with several years old hardware, though.
Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
broweOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 12.10.2010, 13:14



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 155
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
I'm using a Microsoft HD-6000. It can run at multiple resolutions up to 720p 16:9 30fps and has autofocus. It works with aptosid plug & play with no extra drivers. Only thing I haven't figured out is the integrated microphone.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 13.10.2010, 00:56



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
      browe wrote:
I'm using a Microsoft HD-6000. It can run at multiple resolutions up to 720p 16:9 30fps and has autofocus. It works with aptosid plug & play with no extra drivers. Only thing I haven't figured out is the integrated microphone.


The microphone's considered another audio device in Linux, so you should see an entry for it in /proc/asound/cards
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
LanziOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 13.10.2010, 17:27



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 126
Location: Hessen
Status: Offline
Thanks to everybody. I bought a MS VX2000, If I remeber the numer right. I ran out of the box.
Now I try to face my problem with my webcam Logitech Webcam HD Webcam C270.
It is even broken, or has some problems under 64 bit

If anybody want s to help:
http://www.aptosid.net/index.php?name=P ... highlight=
http://www.aptosid.de/index.php?name=PN ... highlight=

_________________
Urlaub im Harz? http://pension-grueneinsel.de
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 14.10.2010, 17:40



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
      Lanzi wrote:
Thanks to everybody. I bought a MS VX2000, If I remeber the numer right. I ran out of the box.
Now I try to face my problem with my webcam Logitech Webcam HD Webcam C270.
It is even broken, or has some problems under 64 bit

If anybody want s to help:
http://www.aptosid.net/index.php?name=P ... highlight=
http://www.aptosid.de/index.php?name=PN ... highlight=


Nice that the webcam worked for you right out of the box. Pretty funny it's Microsoft hardware that you can't go wrong with Very Happy
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio