Rootserver Sponsor

webtropia"

Donations

Please support your operating system's further development:

donate"

Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
finottiOffline
Post subject: RE: Panel Freezes  PostPosted: 06.01.2017, 19:28



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 470

Status: Offline
OK, this might be a new "false positive", but piper had recommended adding
      Code:

Option      "DRI" "3"

to 20-intel.conf and it seems it has worked in my two systems running intel drivers. Both have been running for a few days after the change with no freeze. I even tries moving a 34G file (as slh mentioned this sort of thing would trigger the freeze for him), and no problems.

Anyway, it might be a bit early, as I had been without freezes before for a few days, but it might be worth trying. Someone, please correct me if I am wrong. (I will post again if I have another freeze, or mark as solved if I don't for a while and no one responds.)
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
clubexOffline
Post subject: RE: Panel Freezes  PostPosted: 08.01.2017, 16:51



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 100

Status: Offline
The xorg.conf trick doesn't work for me on my nouveau system with an Nvidia GT 520 card..

I'm guessing there is a bug in the xserver-xorg-video-xxxx series or at least with the nouveau and intel drivers. All this began immediately after the last xserver-xorg-video-xxxx upgrade.

As evidence, although I haven't tried it, others say that dropping back to the previous version of the relevant xserver-xorg-video package cures the problem.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject: RE: Panel Freezes  PostPosted: 09.01.2017, 19:46



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 516
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
nouveau is well known for not propperly working with plasma5.

_________________
      Code:

System:    Host: Defiant Kernel: 4.9.1-towo.1-siduction-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: Cinnamon 3.2.7
           Distro: siduction 13.2.0 December - xfce - (201312310323)
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
clubexOffline
Post subject: RE: Panel Freezes  PostPosted: 09.01.2017, 22:54



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 100

Status: Offline
I've also heard that nouveau doesn't react too well with some graphics chips. And thinking back, although it seemed adequate at the time, i realise that haven't been totally satisfied with my machines video performance since I installed nouveau. So I guess I have one of those chips

Incidentally this afternoon I tried turning off video acceleration using
      Code:

nouveau.accel=1

in grub. This seemed to reduce the frequency of panel freezing quite a bit. There was only a slight jerkiness when playing Minetest with the large dreambuild mod pack. But then if one wants speed I suppose it's always preferable to use the Nvidia drivers. Which is is what I shall do when the panel freezing passes my toleration point.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
debabaOffline
Post subject: RE: Panel Freezes  PostPosted: 14.01.2017, 15:57



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 51
Location: Hessen
Status: Offline
@finotti
Same problem here, from time to time panel freezes, sometimes startup is hanging after kde login at kde sign, sometimes only plasmashell is hanging. No NVidia, no tainted kernel (4.9.0-3.slh.1-aptosid-amd64).
Happens mostly after or while using Gtk progs (Synaptic, Firefox) or Multimedia stuff like kodi.

Easy but annoying workaround: Change to TTY1 by Ctrl-Alt-F1 and back to Graphical Screen with Ctrl-Alt-F7, after this ~/.xsession-errors shows a reinit of mouse. Helps till next freeze. Then do it again, and again, and again....
By the way, still getting
      Code:

QXcbConnection: XCB error: 3 (BadWindow), sequence: 47209, resource id: 33554606, major code: 3 (GetWindowAttributes), minor code: 0
QXcbConnection: XCB error: 9 (BadDrawable), sequence: 47210, resource id: 33554606, major code: 14 (GetGeometry), minor code: 0

every time moving mouse over plasmashell

Have a nice time

debaba
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
samohtOffline
Post subject: Re: Panel Freezes  PostPosted: 15.01.2017, 11:59



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 17
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
@debaba,
on which video hardware, which driver?
On my system no more freezes after removing xserver-xorg-video-nouveau driver, only KMS working.
Greetings,
Tom
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
debabaOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: Panel Freezes  PostPosted: 15.01.2017, 18:38



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 51
Location: Hessen
Status: Offline
@samoht

lshw
      Code:

           *-display
                description: VGA compatible controller
                product: Cypress XT [Radeon HD 5870]
                vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]
                physical id: 0
                bus info: pci@0000:06:00.0
                version: 00
                width: 64 bits
                clock: 33MHz
                capabilities: vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
                configuration: driver=radeon latency=0
                resources: irq:38 memory:d0000000-dfffffff memory:fdec0000-fdedffff ioport:9e00(size=256) memory:c0000-dffff


lsmod:
      Code:

radeon               1397162  7


uname -r
      Code:

4.9.0-3.slh.1-aptosid-amd64


Cheers
debaba
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
debabaOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: Panel Freezes  PostPosted: 15.01.2017, 18:49



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 51
Location: Hessen
Status: Offline
Ähm, forgot this:

after changing the TTYs to 1 and back to 7, i always can see these lines in ~/.xsession-errors
      Code:

powerdevil: ACTIVE SESSION PATH CHANGED: "/"
powerdevil: Switched to inactive session - leaving unchanged
powerdevil: ACTIVE SESSION PATH CHANGED: "/org/freedesktop/login1/session/_33"
powerdevil: Current session is now active
kdeinit5: Got SETENV 'KDE_MULTIHEAD=false' from launcher.
Initializing  "kcm_input" :  "kcminit_mouse"
kdeinit5: Got SETENV 'XCURSOR_THEME=Breeze_Snow' from launcher.
kdeinit5: Got SETENV 'XCURSOR_SIZE=0' from launcher.
QXcbConnection: XCB error: 3 (BadWindow), sequence: 33479, resource id: 134217736, major code: 18 (ChangeProperty), minor code: 0
kdeinit5: Got SETENV 'KDE_MULTIHEAD=false' from launcher.
Initializing  "kcm_input" :  "kcminit_mouse"
kdeinit5: Got SETENV 'XCURSOR_THEME=Breeze_Snow' from launcher.
kdeinit5: Got SETENV 'XCURSOR_SIZE=0' from launcher.
QXcbConnection: XCB error: 3 (BadWindow), sequence: 33858, resource id: 136314888, major code: 18 (ChangeProperty), minor code: 0


Maybe helps someone who knows about the kde-internals...

cheers

debaba
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
samohtOffline
Post subject: Re: Panel Freezes  PostPosted: 19.01.2017, 13:53



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 17
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
Hi all,

upstream pretends that this annoying bug should be fixed:

https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=99333#c4
https://bugs.freedesktop.org/attachment.cgi?id=128844

      Code:


xorg-server (2:1.19.1-1) unstable; urgency=medium
...
[ Andreas Boll ]
  * New upstream release.
    - AttendClient of grab-pervious client must queue to
      saved_ready_clients [v2] (Closes: #846779, #850940).
    - present: Only call present_flip_notify if vblank->queued == FALSE
      (Closes: #849250).
...


Greetings,
Tom
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
finottiOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: Panel Freezes  PostPosted: 19.01.2017, 14:18



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 470

Status: Offline
Thanks for reporting it @samoht. As I was not having problems before (after editing my xorg config), I cannot confirm that it solves the problem on all cases, but I will mark this as solved. (If anyone still has the problem after the updated, please let me know and I will remove the "solved".)

BTW, does anyone know if it is better to keep or remove the edit
      Code:

Option      "DRI" "3

in 20-intel.conf?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio