Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
dpdt1Offline
15 Post subject: [solved]chromium bug  PostPosted: 13.10.2010, 10:02



Joined: 2010-09-27
Posts: 48

Status: Offline
chromium from frickenplatz repo has a serious bug and is not working since upgrade (seems strange noone else has the same issue) :
https://code.google.com/p/chromium/issu ... l?id=58434

message from console:
[7447:7515:7957254592:FATAL:third_party/cacheinvalidation/files/src/google/cacheinvalidation/invalidation-client-impl.cc(207)] Check failed: !resources_->IsRunningOnInternalThread().
Aborted


seems to be solved in newest version according to this :
https://code.google.com/p/chromium/issu ... d=58530#c8

cleaning ~/.config/chromium is a workaround also, but if one tries to sync with g$gle account, then it fails all the same again.

i tried downgrading to debian sid version and it works ok, but not fully functional since newsets versions offer better options.


Last edited by dpdt1 on 14.10.2010, 09:36; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject: RE: chromium bug  PostPosted: 13.10.2010, 10:04



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
I installed chromium from the debain repo but do not see it in the menu.
64-bit Keres, KDE-Lite.

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject: Re: chromium bug  PostPosted: 13.10.2010, 10:18
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
      dpdt1 wrote:
chromium from frickenplatz repo has a serious bug and is not working since upgrade (seems strange noone else has the same issue) :
https://code.google.com/p/chromium/issu ... l?id=58434

message from console:
[7447:7515:7957254592:FATAL:third_party/cacheinvalidation/files/src/google/cacheinvalidation/invalidation-client-impl.cc(207)] Check failed: !resources_->IsRunningOnInternalThread().
Aborted


seems to be solved in newest version according to this :
https://code.google.com/p/chromium/issu ... d=58530#c8

cleaning ~/.config/chromium is a workaround also, but if one tries to sync with g$gle account, then it fails all the same again.

i tried downgrading to debian sid version and it works ok, but not fully functional since newsets versions offer better options.
Confirmed, is a new regression, should be fixed with next build. That's the price we pay for using dev versions. If you need a stable one, use Chromium from Debian Experimental meanwhile.
Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo


Last edited by slam on 13.10.2010, 10:39; edited 3 times in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: chromium bug  PostPosted: 13.10.2010, 10:18



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
did you install chromium or chromium-browser?

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
blackholeOffline
Post subject: RE: chromium bug  PostPosted: 13.10.2010, 10:32



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 110

Status: Offline
It can be fixed changing to
      Quote:

"has_setup_completed": false,

in
~/.config/chromium/Default/Preferences


Last edited by blackhole on 13.10.2010, 12:50; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: chromium bug  PostPosted: 13.10.2010, 11:09



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
      devil wrote:
did you install chromium or chromium-browser?

greetz
devil


I installed chromium.
I guess that I have to install chromium-browser.
Checked at http://packages.debian.org/sid/chromium-browser

Thanks.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
dpdt1Offline
Post subject: Re: chromium bug  PostPosted: 13.10.2010, 13:21



Joined: 2010-09-27
Posts: 48

Status: Offline
      slam wrote:
If you need a stable one, use Chromium from Debian Experimental meanwhile.


no amd64 package in experimental, i'm afraid. Sad
http://packages.debian.org/experimental ... um-browser

so, patience it is.. Smile
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOnline!
Post subject:   PostPosted: 13.10.2010, 13:50



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 497
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Online!
      Code:
chromium-browser:
  Installiert: 8.0.552.0~svn20101012r62225-1.frickel.1
  Kandidat:    8.0.552.0~svn20101012r62225-1.frickel.1
  Versionstabelle:
 *** 8.0.552.0~svn20101012r62225-1.frickel.1 0
        500 http://frickelplatz.de/debian/ sid/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
     6.0.472.62~r59676-1 0
        500 http://ftp.at.debian.org/debian/ sid/main amd64 Packages
        500 http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/ testing/main amd64 Packages

So test the new svn build, if the bug is gone.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dpdt1Offline
Post subject: yes  PostPosted: 14.10.2010, 09:35



Joined: 2010-09-27
Posts: 48

Status: Offline
this one works great!!

thanks!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio