Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
gangstaOffline
15 Post subject: [SOLVED] KDE SystemMonitor-Temperature not working after D-U  PostPosted: 21.10.2010, 12:47



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 37
Location: Poland
Status: Offline
In the settings of this add-on does not have sensors.


Thanks for any helps.


Last edited by gangsta on 25.10.2010, 15:54; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hkOffline
Post subject: RE: KDE System Monitor - Temperature not working after D-U.  PostPosted: 22.10.2010, 01:11



Joined: 2010-09-22
Posts: 3

Status: Offline
Probably related: my cpu fan is at 100% all the time after upgrading to 2.6.36. Running kde.

---

I just noticed that acpi -t says 45 degrees and sensors gives 76 degrees.

=/
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hopimetOffline
Post subject: RE: KDE System Monitor - Temperature not working after D-U.  PostPosted: 22.10.2010, 20:49



Joined: 2010-10-13
Posts: 62
Location: France
Status: Offline
Same for me: the temperature monitor plasmoid doesn't work anymore with the new kernel.

acpi -t gives 55 and sensors reports 57.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject: RE: KDE System Monitor - Temperature not working after D-U.  PostPosted: 24.10.2010, 19:37
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
Ok, been on holiday the past 2 weeks, then had internet problems (still do but good enough to surf and do a du now) I have a lot of catching up to do here.

I did du's on both my main (32bit) and 2nd primary (64bit) and KDE System Monitor - Temperature works fine on both, I use fahrenheit instead of celsius on both

here is a snapshot



thumbnail.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  45.98 KB
 Viewed:  9725 Time(s)

thumbnail.png


 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hkOffline
Post subject: RE: KDE System Monitor - Temperature not working after D-U.  PostPosted: 25.10.2010, 00:12



Joined: 2010-09-22
Posts: 3

Status: Offline
it appears that /proc/acpi/thermal_zone is missing in 2.6.36 (along with many other things)

anyone want to confirm it?

---

d-u not responsible for the fan thing, apparently one of my media keys maxes the fan out. very very odd.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
gerdOffline
Post subject: RE: KDE System Monitor - Temperature not working after D-U.  PostPosted: 25.10.2010, 06:54



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 94

Status: Offline
Conky and xfce panel plugin for temp. have problems to get the temp. too
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
finottiOffline
Post subject: RE: KDE System Monitor - Temperature not working after D-U.  PostPosted: 25.10.2010, 12:58



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 312

Status: Offline
I had this problem with the system monitor widget i KDE. Closing it and opening it again solved the problem. In fact, now it has more temperatures to show than before....
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
etorixOffline
Post subject: RE: KDE System Monitor - Temperature not working after D-U.  PostPosted: 25.10.2010, 14:42
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 137

Status: Offline
my gkrellms just needed looking in the Configuration Menu

works fine on 2.6.36

it however appears maybe some sensor-chips have read problem
      Code:

apt-get install --reinstall lm-sensors 
sensors-detect


may help
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
gangstaOffline
Post subject: RE: KDE System Monitor - Temperature not working after D-U.  PostPosted: 25.10.2010, 15:25



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 37
Location: Poland
Status: Offline
I reinstalled lm-sensors and
      Code:
sensors-detect
# sensors-detect revision 5818 (2010-01-18 17:22:07 +0100)
# System: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. K70IO (laptop)

This program will help you determine which kernel modules you need
to load to use lm_sensors most effectively. It is generally safe
and recommended to accept the default answers to all questions,
unless you know what you're doing.

Some south bridges, CPUs or memory controllers contain embedded sensors.
Do you want to scan for them? This is totally safe. (YES/no): y
Silicon Integrated Systems SIS5595...                       No
VIA VT82C686 Integrated Sensors...                          No
VIA VT8231 Integrated Sensors...                            No
AMD K8 thermal sensors...                                   No
AMD Family 10h thermal sensors...                           No
AMD Family 11h thermal sensors...                           No
Intel Core family thermal sensor...                         Success!
    (driver `coretemp')
Intel Atom thermal sensor...                                No
Intel AMB FB-DIMM thermal sensor...                         No
VIA C7 thermal sensor...                                    No
VIA Nano thermal sensor...                                  No

Some Super I/O chips contain embedded sensors. We have to write to
standard I/O ports to probe them. This is usually safe.
Do you want to scan for Super I/O sensors? (YES/no): y
Probing for Super-I/O at 0x2e/0x2f
Trying family `National Semiconductor'...                   No
Trying family `SMSC'...                                     No
Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Nuvoton/Fintek'...               No
Trying family `ITE'...                                      No
Probing for Super-I/O at 0x4e/0x4f
Trying family `National Semiconductor'...                   No
Trying family `SMSC'...                                     No
Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Nuvoton/Fintek'...               No
Trying family `ITE'...                                      No

Some hardware monitoring chips are accessible through the ISA I/O ports.
We have to write to arbitrary I/O ports to probe them. This is usually
safe though. Yes, you do have ISA I/O ports even if you do not have any
ISA slots! Do you want to scan the ISA I/O ports? (YES/no): y
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM78' at 0x290...       No
Probing for `National Semiconductor LM79' at 0x290...       No
Probing for `Winbond W83781D' at 0x290...                   No
Probing for `Winbond W83782D' at 0x290...                   No

Lastly, we can probe the I2C/SMBus adapters for connected hardware
monitoring devices. This is the most risky part, and while it works
reasonably well on most systems, it has been reported to cause trouble
on some systems.
Do you want to probe the I2C/SMBus adapters now? (YES/no): y
Using driver `i2c-nforce2' for device 0000:00:03.2: nVidia Corporation nForce SMBus (MCP79)
Module i2c-dev loaded successfully.

Next adapter: SMBus nForce2 adapter at 4d00 (i2c-0)
Do you want to scan it? (YES/no/selectively): y

Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter  (i2c-1)
Do you want to scan it? (YES/no/selectively): y

Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter  (i2c-2)
Do you want to scan it? (YES/no/selectively): y

Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter  (i2c-3)
Do you want to scan it? (YES/no/selectively): y
Client found at address 0x50
Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1033'...                     No
Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1034'...                     No
Probing for `SPD EEPROM'...                                 No
Probing for `EDID EEPROM'...                                Yes
    (confidence 8, not a hardware monitoring chip)

Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter  (i2c-4)
Do you want to scan it? (YES/no/selectively): y

Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter  (i2c-5)
Do you want to scan it? (YES/no/selectively): y

Next adapter: NVIDIA i2c adapter  (i2c-6)
Do you want to scan it? (YES/no/selectively): y
Client found at address 0x50
Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1033'...                     No
Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1034'...                     No
Probing for `SPD EEPROM'...                                 No
Probing for `EDID EEPROM'...                                No
Client found at address 0x51
Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1033'...                     No
Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1034'...                     No
Probing for `SPD EEPROM'...                                 No
Client found at address 0x52
Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1033'...                     No
Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1034'...                     No
Probing for `SPD EEPROM'...                                 No
Client found at address 0x53
Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1033'...                     No
Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1034'...                     No
Probing for `SPD EEPROM'...                                 yNo

Now follows a summary of the probes I have just done.
Just press ENTER to continue:

Driver `coretemp':
  * Chip `Intel Core family thermal sensor' (confidence: 9)

To load everything that is needed, add this to /etc/modules:
#----cut here----
# Chip drivers
coretemp
#----cut here----
If you have some drivers built into your kernel, the list above will
contain too many modules. Skip the appropriate ones!

Do you want to add these lines automatically to /etc/modules? (yes/NO)y
Successful!

Monitoring programs won't work until the needed modules are
loaded. You may want to run '/etc/init.d/module-init-tools start'
to load them.

Unloading i2c-dev... OK
and
      Code:
# /etc/init.d/module-init-tools start
Loading kernel modules...done.

In settings widget still no sensors.


------------
I did restart Aptosid and now it works:)

Thanks!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hopimetOffline
Post subject: RE: KDE System Monitor - Temperature not working after D-U.  PostPosted: 25.10.2010, 19:01



Joined: 2010-10-13
Posts: 62
Location: France
Status: Offline
It works again for me now.
Thx
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ikeinthaiOffline
Post subject: how hot is hit?  PostPosted: 27.10.2010, 09:51



Joined: 2010-09-22
Posts: 119
Location: bigannastybkk
Status: Offline
for me
      Code:
 
sensors-detect

as root, answer "y" to all questions, and reboot was enough.

one install i had to remove the widget from the kde panel and then put it back in.

thanks for the speedy help,

ike.

_________________
aptosid: magic in action, the point of the spear. bleedin pearls before swine? lets hope not. freesoftware/freedomsoftware=a chance at freedom. participants, engage your vehicle. . . avatar by zenren
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
kb0haeOffline
Post subject: RE: how hot is hit?  PostPosted: 27.10.2010, 14:37



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 50

Status: Offline
After a d-u last evening on 3 laptops (an IBM T41, an IBM T42, and an HP Pavillion), on all three the temp monitor widget was not working. Removing an re-installing did the trick for all three. Very Happy
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ikeinthaiOffline
Post subject: spiffy new widget.  PostPosted: 01.11.2010, 06:32



Joined: 2010-09-22
Posts: 119
Location: bigannastybkk
Status: Offline
the new version running on my desktop gives a separate temp for my ati graphics card... YAY!

all the best, ike.

_________________
aptosid: magic in action, the point of the spear. bleedin pearls before swine? lets hope not. freesoftware/freedomsoftware=a chance at freedom. participants, engage your vehicle. . . avatar by zenren
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
meierOffline
Post subject: RE: spiffy new widget.  PostPosted: 06.11.2010, 12:16



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 11

Status: Offline
Actually, to solve this problem I had to do the following, and I'd like to know if I'm just stating the obvious, or if I have even done something incredibly stupid by inserting stuff by hand and not relying on some better way to get my modules loaded:

(1) apt-get install lm-sensors (which wasn't on my system yet)
(2) run sensors-detect as root
(3) paste its output regarding coretemp into /etc/modules
(4) reboot

Then, and only then, did I regain a working SystemMonitor-Temperature.

Cheers!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio