Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
dptOffline
15 Post subject: selecting nonfree in installation, handling the bug  PostPosted: 10.10.2010, 13:27



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
There is a small installation bug given in the release notes.

      Quote:
A bug has been found in the installer, which accidentally removes /etc/apt/sources.list.d/aptosid.list if adding non-free Firmwares gets selected. Not selecting this option avoids this bug and allows adapting /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian.list afterwards, in order to install firmware or other non-free packages.


Since I would like to get nonfree installed during installation,
can I go ahead with nonfree selected and then add the aptosid.list after installation? Rather than what is suggested.


Last edited by dpt on 12.10.2010, 07:16; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
HeSaidOffline
Post subject: RE: selecting nonfree in installation, handling the bug  PostPosted: 10.10.2010, 13:32
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 56
Location: southwest Florida, USA
Status: Offline
Yes, that will work.
--
Neal

_________________
Registered Linux User # 159445
aptosid 64-bit Lenovo Thinkpad Edge
aptosid 64-bit HP dv6000 laptop
aptosid 32-bit eeePC 900A
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject: RE: selecting nonfree in installation, handling the bug  PostPosted: 11.10.2010, 16:11



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
Thanks.

I did not see any "add non-free" during installation.
So added later, especially for flash. Now cool in 64-bit.

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
HeSaidOffline
Post subject: RE: selecting nonfree in installation, handling the bug  PostPosted: 11.10.2010, 19:48
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 56
Location: southwest Florida, USA
Status: Offline
If you did not see add non-free during installation it is most likely because the installer did not detect any hardware in the system for which non-free modules would be needed. That's a good thing! Smile It means that your system is supported natively by aptosid.
--
Neal

_________________
Registered Linux User # 159445
aptosid 64-bit Lenovo Thinkpad Edge
aptosid 64-bit HP dv6000 laptop
aptosid 32-bit eeePC 900A
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject: RE: selecting nonfree in installation, handling the bug  PostPosted: 11.10.2010, 20:00



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
No,not that fortunate, I was using the tabs to move to next, not the next/forward button.
I had skipped the tab there.

Thanks.

dpt

EDIT: Thanks to everyone for the smooth, seamless switchover.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
rachely476Offline
Post subject: RE: selecting nonfree in installation, handling the bug  PostPosted: 29.10.2010, 08:07



Joined: 2010-10-29
Posts: 1

Status: Offline
Hi !
I've just visited this forum. Thanks you for the reply.

__________________
watch movies online for free
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio