Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
Ilinsekt
Post subject: Network-Manager can't access WiFi, wpa_supplicant can  PostPosted: 29.10.2010, 16:38



Joined: 2010-10-29
Posts: 43

Hey everybody,

I am using an Intel 5100 card with a AVM 7141 WiFi router set on WPA2. Even though I have configured the connection in the NetworkManager, it does not connect. It does in fact not do anything when I click on the connection in the menu. However, configuring the network in wpa-roam.conf, then stopping the Network-Manager via [/etc/init.d/network-manager stop] and executing [ifdown wlan0 && ifup wlan0] gets me connected. As soon as I start the network manager via [/etc/init.d/network-manager start], the connection is lost. (earlier today it sufficed to just disable WiFi in the NetworkManager context menu, but not anymore)

Does anybody know what could cause this? I would really appreciate having all my networking in one place.

Ilinsekt
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: Network-Manager can  PostPosted: 29.10.2010, 18:48



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
please remove networkmanager completely and try to set up with ceni.

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
myloOffline
Post subject: RE: Network-Manager can  PostPosted: 29.10.2010, 20:45



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 116
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany
Status: Offline
If you use code tags instead of brackets, your post is easier to read though.
Thereby you help the guys who can support you!

_________________
Regards
mylo

Linux 3.1-6.slh.1-aptosid-amd64 x86_64[2010-03 Ἀπάτη (201012262151)]
Intel Core2 Duo E6550 @ Cache/Ram 4MB/4GB nVidia G72 7300 nouveau 2*250GB
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
start2usefrsiduxOffline
Post subject: RE: Network-Manager can  PostPosted: 30.10.2010, 02:05



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 26

Status: Offline
knetworkmanager is crap.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Ilinsekt
Post subject: RE: Network-Manager can  PostPosted: 30.10.2010, 15:36



Joined: 2010-10-29
Posts: 43

For now, I've just
      Code:
chmod -x /etc/init.d/network-manager
, however I still would like to get it to work, as this is a notebook and I need to connect to different WiFis with different settings.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject: RE: Network-Manager can  PostPosted: 30.10.2010, 18:06
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
Follow above suggestions, we do have very good reasons to not ship networkmanager, but ceni.
Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: Network-Manager can  PostPosted: 30.10.2010, 18:06



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
ceni does that perfectly with .
just read our manual on wlan.
http://manual.aptosid.com/en/inet-setup-en.htm#net-set1

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
LatOffline
Post subject: RE: Network-Manager can  PostPosted: 30.10.2010, 18:43



Joined: 2010-09-19
Posts: 166

Status: Offline
http://manual.aptosid.com/en/inet-setup-en.htm#net-set3 explains what you want to achieve with network-manager
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Ilinsekt
Post subject:   PostPosted: 06.11.2010, 13:32



Joined: 2010-10-29
Posts: 43

Hello again,

apparently the problem lies not in the network-manager daemon, but in knetworkmanager. I just installed network-manager-gnome, and it works.

/edit: After playing around a bit I found that knetworkmanager requieres kwalletmanager to be installed. Everything seems to be working now.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio