Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
c_cinqOffline
Post subject: xorg.conf  PostPosted: 22.11.2010, 23:28



Joined: 2010-09-20
Posts: 5
Location: miami, fl
Status: Offline
x windows was broken after dist-upgrade. more specifically, my custom xorg.conf broke x windows. when i removed my custom xorg.conf, everything works fines.

i decided to use a custom xorg.conf(from a deb lenny installation), because aptosid can't seem to render my display properly. For one, aptosid doesnt seem to use the radeon firmware. And current my display is set at 1360x768 @ 60hz, but I prefer 1440x1050 or 1600x1200.

What is the recommend way to my display at my preferred sizes?

_________________
miami, fl
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: xorg.conf  PostPosted: 23.11.2010, 00:08



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
usualy you do not need a xorg.conf if you use the radeon driver.

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ikeinthaiOffline
Post subject: systemsettings  PostPosted: 23.11.2010, 13:12



Joined: 2010-09-22
Posts: 119
Location: bigannastybkk
Status: Offline
in the systemsettings/display (reached from the launcher menu) you can specify the size you want for your display. the "save as default" button at the bottom [choose save as default] will save the setting for you.

the gui will do everything for you. you don't need to fiddle with an xorg.conf

ike.

_________________
aptosid: magic in action, the point of the spear. bleedin pearls before swine? lets hope not. freesoftware/freedomsoftware=a chance at freedom. participants, engage your vehicle. . . avatar by zenren
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
bfreeOffline
Post subject: Re: xorg.conf  PostPosted: 23.11.2010, 19:31
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 255

Status: Offline
      c_cinq wrote:
For one, aptosid doesnt seem to use the radeon firmware.

It will if you have it. The easiest way to get it is to install the firmware-linux-nonfree package. To do this with apt-get you will need to add non-free to your /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian.list
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio