Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
King_CritterOffline
Post subject: WPA GUI connects to network, but I don't get an IP address  PostPosted: 17.11.2010, 23:12



Joined: 2010-11-17
Posts: 3

Status: Offline
I'm trying to connect to a WPA Enterprise network. I have set up roaming exactly as the manual told me to. It connects, but I don't get an IP address. The manual only says to recheck the configuration files at this point; I have, and can't see anything wrong.

I tried dhclient, and it didn't seem to do anything.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hubiOffline
Post subject: RE: WPA GUI connects to network, but I don  PostPosted: 18.11.2010, 00:21
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 228
Location: Vienna (AT)
Status: Offline
I only get that problem in some hotels. But I still could not figure out which setting provokes that behaviour, because it is very rare, and networkmanager connects (which does not connect at home or at work - reverse problem).

hubi

_________________
Tilos Rádió Budapest
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail  
Reply with quote Back to top
King_CritterOffline
Post subject: RE: WPA GUI connects to network, but I don  PostPosted: 23.11.2010, 18:54



Joined: 2010-11-17
Posts: 3

Status: Offline
Do you have any ideas? I'm willing to try anything, really -- Siux is the only distro I've ever used that I could get to work with WPA Enterprise, and then I broke it and switched to Ubuntu. Not having wireless in college is a real drag. Sad
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
HeSaidOffline
Post subject: RE: WPA GUI connects to network, but I don  PostPosted: 23.11.2010, 20:44
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 56
Location: southwest Florida, USA
Status: Offline
The enterprise network in a local hospital requires two tries to get an IP, no matter with ceni or wicd.
The first attempt always timed out. The second attempt, which I made immediately after the time out, was granted an IP. I was able to repeat this several times while there.
The hospital network has many, many access points configured in groups. Among each group is a public sub-group which requires no password. That is what I was using.
--
Neal

_________________
Registered Linux User # 159445
aptosid 64-bit Lenovo Thinkpad Edge
aptosid 64-bit HP dv6000 laptop
aptosid 32-bit eeePC 900A
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio