Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
GastonOffline
Post subject: Need Howto to find out which program stuck...  PostPosted: 05.12.2010, 13:48



Joined: 2010-12-03
Posts: 21

Status: Offline
Hey Siduxianer,
is there a howto, how i can find which program just stucking?
In the last few months sometimes my aptosid just stuck by using iceweasel. I think somewhere the program do something which just stuck everything. Just a reboot help me to continue working with aptosid. If its stuck i can't reach "Ctrl+Esc" or "Ctrl+F1".
Now i just like to know, how i beginning to search to find the problem if a program stuck the hole system.
THX for Your Help Very Happy
Best regards
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: Need Howto to find out which program stuck...  PostPosted: 05.12.2010, 14:20



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
this might help to prevent the need for reboot: http://www.debian-administration.org/articles/457

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.12.2010, 14:23



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
You can run htop in a terminal, and watch it while you are using the browser -- maybe you can learn what is wrong (npviewer is a likely culprit).

You can give the chromium-browser a try -- I personally dropped the mozilla browser almost a year ago, because chromium-browser is much lighter on the system.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
GastonOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.12.2010, 15:41



Joined: 2010-12-03
Posts: 21

Status: Offline
I just saw in htop that there are many entrys with /usr/lib/iceweasel/firefox-bin which use VIRT 299M and RES 123M. Is this to much or normal?
Regards
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.12.2010, 15:48



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
that depends on how many tabs you have open (and if some use flash)

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
GastonOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.12.2010, 15:51



Joined: 2010-12-03
Posts: 21

Status: Offline
/usr/bin/plasma-desktop VIRT 290M
/usr/bin/krunner VIRT 263M
/usr/bin/kmix VIRT 261M
kwin VIRT 248M
kxkb VIRT 103M
kded4 VIRT 100M
ksmserver VIRT 100M

If i count them together it need really a huge.
Could be that my system just collaps cause of the huge VIRT?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
GastonOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.12.2010, 15:52



Joined: 2010-12-03
Posts: 21

Status: Offline
@devil
mostly i have 7 tabs and the most of the webpages need falsh Sad
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio