Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
JohnMLOffline
Post subject: Installing GoogleEarthLinux.bin (Version 6 Beta1 )  PostPosted: 02.12.2010, 18:37



Joined: 2010-12-02
Posts: 3

Status: Offline
found that tipp that worked for me:

For those still having issues installing GE6 after installing lsb-core, I found this on an ubuntu forum worked for me:

./GoogleEarthLinux.bin --target /tmp/ge
cd /tmp/ge/setup.data/bin/Linux/x86/
mv setup.gtk setup.gtk2
cd /tmp/ge
./setup.sh
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject: RE: Installing GoogleEarthLinux.bin (Version 6 Beta1 )  PostPosted: 03.12.2010, 20:58



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
Why not use the googleearth-package package, which will let you make a proper .deb file that you can install with dpkg? First install googleearth-package (and also lsb-core if you don't have it already). Then, as user in your /home directory

      Code:
make-googleearth-package


This will build the .deb file from your downloaded .bin file. If you are missing some dependencies, it will tell you, so you must install them. When the googleearth_6.0.0.xxxxxx.deb file is built, then (as root) you can copy it to /tmp and install it with dpkg.

Also, if you use the proprietary Nvidia driver (64-bit) and googleearth only shows you a black screen where the earth should be, then you need to install the nvidia-glx-ia32 package.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
snvvOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 06.12.2010, 13:54



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 287

Status: Offline
After all those new packages (*) installed as dependencies for the latest version of googleearth I decided to purge googleearth for my system.


      Quote:
alien at exim4 exim4-base exim4-config exim4-daemon-light guile-1.8-libs libelf1 libgsasl7 libmailutils2 libntlm0 libpython2.6 librpm1 librpmbuild1 librpmio1 lsb-core m4 mailutils ncurses-term pax rpm rpm-common rpm2cpio time


Also, please note that there is a bug for i386 systems.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 06.12.2010, 14:12



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
snvv,
good move, this is not tolerable at all.
you could give marble a lchance.

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 06.12.2010, 23:28
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
marble is a pretty good app, not ge, but nice indeed

      Code:
apt-get install marble marble-plugins marble-data libmarblewidget4 libmarble-dev

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.12.2010, 07:42
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
Googleearth got bloated more and more, pulls in too many unrelated packages, does not build cleanly, is still closed source ... enough reasons to give it up. Marble is nice, and one can always use maps.google.com online, too.
Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
myloOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.12.2010, 09:43



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 116
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany
Status: Offline
      slam wrote:
... enough reasons to give it up.


yes! I just miss a command for proper and complete deinstallation...

is it:

      Code:
apt-get remove --purge googleearth X Y Z ?

_________________
Regards
mylo

Linux 3.1-6.slh.1-aptosid-amd64 x86_64[2010-03 Ἀπάτη (201012262151)]
Intel Core2 Duo E6550 @ Cache/Ram 4MB/4GB nVidia G72 7300 nouveau 2*250GB
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.12.2010, 09:57



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 496
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Offline
apt-get purge googleearth-package googleearth lsb-core
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dpdt1Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 07.12.2010, 13:58



Joined: 2010-09-27
Posts: 48

Status: Offline
marble is a kde package, so, for us, non-kde users, is a pretty bad option, since it needs to install the "whole" kde environment, for it to work..

      Code:
# apt-get install marble marble-plugins marble-data libmarblewidget4 libmarble-dev
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following package was automatically installed and is no longer required:
  linux-headers-2.6.36-1.slh.2-aptosid-amd64
Use 'apt-get autoremove' to remove them.
The following extra packages will be installed:
  hal hal-info kaboom kdebase-runtime kdebase-runtime-data kdelibs-bin kdelibs5-data kdelibs5-plugins kdoctools libattica0 libclucene0ldbl libgps19
  libgraphicsmagick3 libilmbase6 libiodbc2 libkde3support4 libkdecore5 libkdesu5 libkdeui5 libkdnssd4 libkfile4 libkhtml5 libkio5 libkjsapi4 libkjsembed4
  libkmediaplayer4 libknewstuff2-4 libknewstuff3-4 libknotifyconfig4 libkntlm4 libkparts4 libkpty4 libkrosscore4 libktexteditor4 libkutils4 libnepomuk4
  libnepomukquery4a libopenexr6 libplasma3 libpolkit-qt-1-0 libqca2 libqt4-dev libqt4-multimedia libqt4-opengl-dev libqt4-qt3support libsolid4 libsoprano4
  libssh-4 libstreamanalyzer0 libstreams0 libthreadweaver4 libvirtodbc0 libwmf0.2-7 libxcb-shape0 libxine1 libxine1-bin libxine1-console libxine1-ffmpeg
  libxine1-misc-plugins libxine1-plugins libxine1-x odbcinst odbcinst1debian2 oxygen-icon-theme phonon-backend-xine plasma-scriptengine-javascript
  qt4-qmake shared-desktop-ontologies soprano-daemon virtuoso-minimal virtuoso-opensource-6.1-bin virtuoso-opensource-6.1-common
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
marbleglobeOffline
Post subject: Marble Qt Only  PostPosted: 08.12.2010, 09:16



Joined: 2010-12-08
Posts: 3

Status: Offline
Actually Marble itself doesn't necessarily depend on KDE. You can very easily build and package your own KDE-free version of Marble. For earlier Debian releases there was a package maintained that had no KDE dependencies. If you want to build the Qt only version just follow the instructions here:

http://edu.kde.org/marble/obtain.php

Complaining about the "overhead" of the KDE libraries is a bit strange though if you compare it to Google Earth which comes with its own local copies of libraries like Qt, libicu and what not which potentially duplicate those installed on your system already ... Wink
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
myloOffline
Post subject: RE: Marble Qt Only  PostPosted: 08.12.2010, 11:28



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 116
Location: Wiesbaden, Germany
Status: Offline
marble ist ja super! danke an piper und towo für die Hinweise!

_________________
Regards
mylo

Linux 3.1-6.slh.1-aptosid-amd64 x86_64[2010-03 Ἀπάτη (201012262151)]
Intel Core2 Duo E6550 @ Cache/Ram 4MB/4GB nVidia G72 7300 nouveau 2*250GB
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
phenOffline
Post subject: RE: Marble Qt Only  PostPosted: 08.12.2010, 11:53



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 27

Status: Offline
Thanks as well, it is right that "Atlas"-view of Marble that provides way better usability for some purposes than Googleearth - however, Marbles very poor performance keeps me sticking to Googleearth.

On my 64bit with proprietary nvidia I had no issues at all to install Googleearth the debian way.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
marbleglobeOffline
Post subject: RE: Marble Qt Only  PostPosted: 08.12.2010, 14:41



Joined: 2010-12-08
Posts: 3

Status: Offline
phen: If performance is poor on linux in Marble then please try changing the graphicssystem to "Raster": You can change it using

Settings -> Configure Marble Desktop Globe -> View -> Graphics System: Raster (Software Rendering)

We will change the default for this in Marble 1.0.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
phenOffline
Post subject: RE: Marble Qt Only  PostPosted: 08.12.2010, 15:18



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 27

Status: Offline
Thanks, marbleglobe, with default quality settings it is significantly smoother now!
But I am wondering: Having an nvidia GTX 295, shouldnt X11-rendering superior?

(PS: Sorry for offtopicness)
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
marbleglobeOffline
Post subject: RE: Marble Qt Only  PostPosted: 08.12.2010, 17:47



Joined: 2010-12-08
Posts: 3

Status: Offline
phen: In theory X11-rendering should be superior. Unfortunately for many (if not most) drivers it's not.

See: http://labs.qt.nokia.com/2008/10/22/so- ... -the-blit/

for more information on this issue.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio