Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
houndhenOffline
Post subject: install aptosid on second hard drive  PostPosted: 19.12.2010, 21:14



Joined: 2010-12-19
Posts: 6
Location: Alabama
Status: Offline
I have been searching and reading online but haven't been able to find the answer to my question.

I have two (sda & sdb) hard drives. Sda is multibooted with Windows XP and 5 Linux distro. I have Mepis 8.5 on a partition of sda. Some of the distros come and go but Mepis is my keeper and it holds my grub bootloader (menu.lst).

If I install Aptosid 2010 xfce to sdb1 and don't allow the MBR to be overwritten, and I edit the menu.lst on Mepis to chainload Aptosid by sending it to /dev/sdb1, should this work?

_________________
Thanks,
Harold
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
sx9Offline
Post subject: RE: install aptosid on second hard drive  PostPosted: 20.12.2010, 00:12



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 219
Location: Wiesbaden,Germany
Status: Offline
1. How have you installed 6 Operating Systems, if only 4 or 5 primary partitions are allowed?

2. Uhm... I think you can overwrite the MBR on sdb, because, like you've said it, it is another disk. But I think that chainloading should work. In some BIOS you are able to choose, with a special F key, which disk you want to boot from. But to have it all in one bootloader is really a bit more comfortable

_________________
My new self-made computer:
Intel Core i7-2600k
ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z (Mainboard)
2x4GB DDR3 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 6770
OCZ Vertex 3 60GB (SSD)
Western Digital Caviar Green WD20EARX 2TB (HDD)
...
aptosid x86_64
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
houndhenOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: install aptosid on second hard drive  PostPosted: 20.12.2010, 02:05



Joined: 2010-12-19
Posts: 6
Location: Alabama
Status: Offline
      sx9 wrote:
1. How have you installed 6 Operating Systems, if only 4 or 5 primary partitions are allowed?
Only 4 primary partitions are allowed. I have one extended partition with 6 logical partitions.

_________________
Thanks,
Harold
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
x-un-i
Post subject: Re: install aptosid on second hard drive  PostPosted: 20.12.2010, 10:59
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 170

      houndhen wrote:


If I install Aptosid 2010 xfce to sdb1 and don't allow the MBR to be overwritten, and I edit the menu.lst on Mepis to chainload Aptosid by sending it to /dev/sdb1, should this work?


it's a user choice where to install grub

_________________
Why do strong arms fatigue themselves with frivolous dumbbells?
To dig a vineyard is worthier exercise for men.
Marcus Valerius Martialis, römischer Satiriker und Epigrammdichter

Será que o diabo perdeu a virgindade?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
wofritzOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 20.12.2010, 14:22



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 30
Location: Uetze/NDS/DE
Status: Offline
      Quote:
If I install Aptosid 2010 xfce to sdb1 and don't allow the MBR to be overwritten, and I edit the menu.lst on Mepis to chainload Aptosid by sending it to /dev/sdb1, should this work?


Yes it should work. I have done that, but IIRC it was with Grub 1 (don't know what grub version you are using, but seems to be grub 1 as you are mentioning menu.lst)

Wolfgang
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
sx9Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 22.12.2010, 00:39



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 219
Location: Wiesbaden,Germany
Status: Offline
      Quote:

Only 4 primary partitions are allowed. I have one extended partition with 6 logical partitions.


Ah, right!
Just forgot that chainloading also works on non primary partitions.

_________________
My new self-made computer:
Intel Core i7-2600k
ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z (Mainboard)
2x4GB DDR3 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 6770
OCZ Vertex 3 60GB (SSD)
Western Digital Caviar Green WD20EARX 2TB (HDD)
...
aptosid x86_64
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
BequimãoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 23.12.2010, 11:09



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 14
Location: Mannheim
Status: Offline
      sx9 wrote:
      Quote:

Only 4 primary partitions are allowed. I have one extended partition with 6 logical partitions.


Ah, right!
Just forgot that chainloading also works on non primary partitions.


No, I start aptosid on /dev/sda9 directly without chainloading with grub2 from ubuntu. Furthermore I have an aptosid installed on an external harddrive with an grub2 installed into the MBR of that drive. So far I can boot only installations on primary partitions on that drive, but there are no limitations on my main drive.

Regards,
Bequimão

_________________
Bequimão (pronounced Be-ki-mão) is a brasilian revolutionary in Maranhão (? - 1685).
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 23.12.2010, 19:33
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

      Bequimão wrote:

No, I start aptosid on /dev/sda9 directly without chainloading with grub2 from ubuntu.


So , when you install a new aptosid kernel, then you edit the ubuntu's boot config manually? or boot on ubuntu to call update-grub?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
BequimãoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 23.12.2010, 20:16



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 14
Location: Mannheim
Status: Offline
      muchan wrote:
      Bequimão wrote:

No, I start aptosid on /dev/sda9 directly without chainloading with grub2 from ubuntu.


So , when you install a new aptosid kernel, then you edit the ubuntu's boot config manually? or boot on ubuntu to call update-grub?


I have to call update-grub on Ubuntu.

_________________
Bequimão (pronounced Be-ki-mão) is a brasilian revolutionary in Maranhão (? - 1685).
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
muchan
Post subject:   PostPosted: 23.12.2010, 22:54
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 468

      Bequimão wrote:

I have to call update-grub on Ubuntu.


Then, don't you think chainloading is better idea?
After getting new kernel, you can reboot straight into that new kernel...
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
BequimãoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 27.12.2010, 19:53



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 14
Location: Mannheim
Status: Offline
Hi muchan,

No, I actualize various installation simultaneously, and I get a new kernel every three to four weeks. I posted here, because grub2 should work regardless of a primary or logical partition. If not, it should be considered a bug.

Best wishes,
Bequimão

_________________
Bequimão (pronounced Be-ki-mão) is a brasilian revolutionary in Maranhão (? - 1685).
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio