Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
darioOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 23.12.2010, 13:48



Joined: 2010-11-27
Posts: 63

Status: Offline
Sorry for the late reply, i had no chanche to make other tests in this month because i wasn't at home. If i configure the samba share like yours do i have to type the password every time in the Windows client?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dieresOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 23.12.2010, 16:17



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 30

Status: Offline
if you are logged in as an other user, sure.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
sx9Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.12.2010, 00:53



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 219
Location: Wiesbaden,Germany
Status: Offline
I have another question related to SAMBA, too:
How should I configure samba, if I want to allow one user (here example1) write access and want to allow every different users read-only access. And when I log in to any computer as example1 I want to have write access.
Should I do it with chown example1:example1 and chmod 755, or should I change samba.conf?

PS: Merry Christmas to all Smile

_________________
My new self-made computer:
Intel Core i7-2600k
ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z (Mainboard)
2x4GB DDR3 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 6770
OCZ Vertex 3 60GB (SSD)
Western Digital Caviar Green WD20EARX 2TB (HDD)
...
aptosid x86_64
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
dieresOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.12.2010, 12:26



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 30

Status: Offline
I think that should work.
If you have Problem that other users can make new files and directories, you can try to chown the upper directory or use force user = example1 in share definition.

But I don't have tested it. Please try out and tell us.


Last edited by dieres on 25.12.2010, 01:31; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
darioOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.12.2010, 13:41



Joined: 2010-11-27
Posts: 63

Status: Offline
@dieres ok, thanks!
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
sx9Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 25.12.2010, 23:54



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 219
Location: Wiesbaden,Germany
Status: Offline
@dieres

Well, I can't report if it works that fast, because it was planned for a network in my school so I can't test it now.

_________________
My new self-made computer:
Intel Core i7-2600k
ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z (Mainboard)
2x4GB DDR3 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 6770
OCZ Vertex 3 60GB (SSD)
Western Digital Caviar Green WD20EARX 2TB (HDD)
...
aptosid x86_64
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio