This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
sx9Offline
Post subject: Need to startx in virtualbox  PostPosted: 28.12.2010, 15:48



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 219
Location: Wiesbaden,Germany
Status: Offline
During the boot of apate in virtualbox, aptosid finishes init 5 without having started X completely (KDM). This has happened in keres, too, so I always have to do startx when I wan't to run the liveISO.

Is it still related to that EXTRAVERSION Problem in the kernel?
I don't think so, because the guest doesn't need to start any vbox related things, so I posted it as a bug report.

_________________
My new self-made computer:
Intel Core i7-2600k
ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z (Mainboard)
2x4GB DDR3 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 6770
OCZ Vertex 3 60GB (SSD)
Western Digital Caviar Green WD20EARX 2TB (HDD)
...
aptosid x86_64
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject: RE: Need to startx in virtualbox  PostPosted: 28.12.2010, 17:31
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
Cannot confirm, just fine here.
Does your vbox meet our minimal RAM requirements?
Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject: RE: Need to startx in virtualbox  PostPosted: 28.12.2010, 23:29
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
No problems here either, 32 bit, will try 64 bit after work

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
BarlafussOffline
Post subject: RE: Need to startx in virtualbox  PostPosted: 29.12.2010, 08:41



Joined: 2010-09-14
Posts: 45

Status: Offline
No problem here (32bit), while I had similar issue with previous 2010.02
Ciao,
Barlafuss
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
sx9Offline
Post subject: RE: Need to startx in virtualbox  PostPosted: 30.12.2010, 07:55



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 219
Location: Wiesbaden,Germany
Status: Offline
Hm... It works when I start it from a burned disk.
But I know that it happend multiple times with keres.

Well, sometimes I experiment with the memory/graphics settings to look if a build is able to run on older PCs or not. Maybe I have forgotten to reset the settings to maximum after I have finished testing.

EDIT: Wait! I have set all settings to maximum but it still doesn't work

      Code:
Starting VirtualBox Additions: error: VbglR3Init failed with rc=VERR_FILE_NOT_FOUND. failed!
Starting K Display Manager: kdm.
startpar: service(s) returned failure: virtualbox-ose-guest-utils ... failed!


Looks like that the failure of guest-utils causes a stop in continuing booting init 5.

_________________
My new self-made computer:
Intel Core i7-2600k
ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z (Mainboard)
2x4GB DDR3 RAM
ATI Radeon HD 6770
OCZ Vertex 3 60GB (SSD)
Western Digital Caviar Green WD20EARX 2TB (HDD)
...
aptosid x86_64
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject: RE: Need to startx in virtualbox  PostPosted: 30.12.2010, 10:04
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
Aptosid ships with virtualbox-ose-guest-utils & virtualbox-ose-guest-x11, version 3.2.12-dfsg-1 already installed. If they do not fit your host system, they will simply be turned off, but never should stop X from starting.

Said that, I have tested all our release ISOs several times over the last days (on Aptosid host system), with Virtualbox-OSE 3.2.12, and the new (not yet in Debian) 4.0.0., on 32bit and 64bit hosts. I was unable to reproduce this error.

Please take your time and check not just dmesg, but also /var/log/Xorg.0.log and /home/aptosid/.session-errors for problems.

And - another idea - please re-check the md5sum of the ISO-file you start.

Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
ikeinthaiOffline
Post subject: related?  PostPosted: 31.12.2010, 05:37



Joined: 2010-09-22
Posts: 119
Location: bigannastybkk
Status: Offline
perhaps this is similar, perhaps not: http://www.aptosid.com/index.php?name=P ... =3822#3822

_________________
aptosid: magic in action, the point of the spear. bleedin pearls before swine? lets hope not. freesoftware/freedomsoftware=a chance at freedom. participants, engage your vehicle. . . avatar by zenren
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio