Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
bfreeOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Re: RE: howto change from sidux to aptosid?  PostPosted: 13.09.2010, 15:33
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 253

Status: Offline
      rossi wrote:

I don't have /etc/apt/sources.list.d/sidux.com
I don't have /etc/apt/sources.list.d/aptosid.com

That should say /etc/apt/sources.list.d/sidux.list and /etc/apt/sources.list.d/aptosid.list

There is now a quick guide to how the process should be done.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
seasonsOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: howto change from sidux to aptosid?  PostPosted: 13.09.2010, 15:42



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 92

Status: Offline
rossi, you need to change /etc/apt/sources.list.d/sidux.list from this:
      Code:
# Free University Berlin/ spline (Student Project LInux NEtwork)
deb ftp://ftp.spline.de/pub/sidux/debian/ sid main contrib non-free fix.main fix.contrib fix.non-free
#deb-src ftp://ftp.spline.de/pub/sidux/debian/ sid main contrib non-free fix.main fix.contrib fix.non-free

to:
      Code:
deb http://sidux.com/debian/ sid main fix.main
#deb-src http://sidux.com/debian/ sid main fix.main

AFAICT, sidux.com is the only old sidux mirror that supports the auto-updating.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
x-un-i
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: howto change from sidux to aptosid?  PostPosted: 13.09.2010, 15:55
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 170

      Quote:


AFAICT, sidux.com is the only old sidux mirror that supports the auto-updating.



for me office-vienna has also worked but i did not tried other mirrors.

_________________
Why do strong arms fatigue themselves with frivolous dumbbells?
To dig a vineyard is worthier exercise for men.
Marcus Valerius Martialis, römischer Satiriker und Epigrammdichter

Será que o diabo perdeu a virgindade?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: howto change from sidux to aptosid?  PostPosted: 13.09.2010, 16:01



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
I don't have /etc/apt/sources.list.d/sidux.com.

I don't have /etc/apt/sources.list.d/aptosid.com.
the names is sidux.list and aptosid.list.
please look at http://aptosid.com/index.php?module=new ... &sid=7 if still in doubt.

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ajmateusgOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 13.09.2010, 17:42



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 11
Location: Bogotá, D. C.
Status: Offline
      DonKult wrote:
      ajmateusg wrote:
4. find the new kernel linux-image-2.6-amd64

You successfully found the debian kernels… They are okay most of the time, but if i would have the option, i would prefer slhs kernels… Try the linux-image-2.6-aptosid-amd64 metapackage Smile


Done. I have already fit the slh-aptosid kernel installed with the metapackage. Working fine. Corrected my initial post.

Thank you.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
heppOffline
Post subject: ia32-libs-gtk  PostPosted: 13.09.2010, 19:34



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 30
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Status: Offline
Converting my 686 pc went smoothly. The nvidia driver updated without any problems.

Now, my pc at work is 64bit and the dist-upgrade want to remove ia32-libs-gtk that will make skype unusable. I do need skype. Can I dist-upgrade with the restriction to keep ia32-libs-gtk (and then ia32-libs and perhaps more...) or will I have to wait with dist-upgrade until the bug is resolved ? I installed skype using slams repository when that was available.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
rossiOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Re: RE: howto change from sidux to aptosid?  PostPosted: 14.09.2010, 11:53



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 35
Location: New York City
Status: Offline
      bfree wrote:
      rossi wrote:

I don't have /etc/apt/sources.list.d/sidux.com
I don't have /etc/apt/sources.list.d/aptosid.com

That should say /etc/apt/sources.list.d/sidux.list and /etc/apt/sources.list.d/aptosid.list

There is now a quick guide to how the process should be done.


Good Morning:

Thank you to everyone for your help. I believe that I am
      Quote:
Good to go now.


One more question please. How do I get rid of the initial grub screen? I tried deleting an entry placed there from the old Sidux distribution, but it is still there on re-boot. Chaining to grub2 seems to provide a more cluttered screen as well.

Regards,

Angelo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
ajmateusgOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Re: RE: howto change from sidux to aptosid?  PostPosted: 14.09.2010, 13:26



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 11
Location: Bogotá, D. C.
Status: Offline
      rossi wrote:

One more question please. How do I get rid of the initial grub screen? I tried deleting an entry placed there from the old Sidux distribution, but it is still there on re-boot. Chaining to grub2 seems to provide a more cluttered screen as well.

Regards,

Angelo


Run in terminal as root 'update-grub'.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ajmateusgOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: howto change from sidux to aptosid?  PostPosted: 14.09.2010, 13:44



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 11
Location: Bogotá, D. C.
Status: Offline
@rossi

If the previous indication not deleted the menu entry, it means that I still have not uninstalled the kernel. Remove the kernel (apt-get purge linux-image-xxxxxxx with headers). Uninstaller, automatically run the 'update-grub' and takes the grub entry.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Razgorov_Prikazka
Post subject:   PostPosted: 14.09.2010, 13:50



Joined: 2010-09-14
Posts: 9
Location: (City) Groningen (Province) Groningen (Country) The Netherlands
Well... Congrats dev.team! Nothing went wrong, I did it all in 1 go! Even the netbook didn't give any problems.
But ehhhh.... If I switch back to runlevel 5, I am still welcomed by a sidux screen. Is this because there isn't a aptosid screen made yet?

Anyway, Superb job!
Greetzzz Razgorov
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
meinhardt.jgbrOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 14.09.2010, 14:06



Joined: 2010-09-14
Posts: 9
Location: Porto Alegre / RS / Brazil
Status: Offline
I'm about half way done on the Full version DVD download, which is not that fast for obvious reasons, since the good news ref to the new 2010-02 release hit the net this morning.
Since my previous HDD installation was pretty new and I had experienced random locks with Hypnos, I'm gonna start from scratch as soon as I get my download finished. Will report how clean install happened as soon as finished. Should be no problem as usual.

Cheers
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ajmateusgOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Not working  PostPosted: 14.09.2010, 14:26



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 11
Location: Bogotá, D. C.
Status: Offline
      cajun wrote:
Ok, will do se7en. Thanks for the heads up. Thanks for the valiant effort. Maybe someone else will have an idea. If not, I'll re-install when aptosid makes their first release.

Thanks,
Mike


Do not reinstall. I think the system has been updated to fit. Would only have to manually everything about sidux art, kernel and headers. Change in / etc / apt / sources.d / the name of file sidux.list by aptosid.list and would completely fit.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Not working  PostPosted: 14.09.2010, 14:47



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
      Quote:

If I switch back to runlevel 5, I am still welcomed by a sidux screen. Is this because there isn't a aptosid screen made yet?

if you use kde you need to set the theme in systemsettings - advanced - loginmanager - theme.
you need to become root with sux and start it with dbus-launch systemsettings.

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dpeirceOffline
Post subject: RE: Re: RE: Not working  PostPosted: 15.09.2010, 00:48



Joined: 2010-09-15
Posts: 3
Location: Central Texas
Status: Offline
I saw all the questions and posts, so waited 'til today to do my change over. I followed exactly the instructions in the <a href="http://aptosid.com/index.php?module=news&func=display&sid=7">QuickGuide</a> and it all worked "right out of the box".

Synaptic shows that I still have a number of sidux packages but I understand from an earlier post that they will be removed in future dist-upgrades.

Thank you, sidux-to-aptosid team. Y'all done good!

In faith, Dave
Viva Texas

Registered Linux user #417229
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
chturneOffline
32 Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.09.2010, 07:41



Joined: 2010-09-15
Posts: 1

Status: Offline
I don't have any problems, the installation went without a hiccup for me.
I would like to thank the aptosid team for their time preparing the transition and for their continued support in the forum.

Much appriciated! Cool

-- Charles.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio