Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
mimmozzoOffline
Post subject: Frequent system freeze after upgrade to 2.6.37  PostPosted: 13.01.2011, 12:18



Joined: 2011-01-13
Posts: 4

Status: Offline
Hello,

I experience frequent system freezes after upgrade to kernel 2.6.37. Unfortunately, I have removed my previous kernel (2.6.36) that worked fine.
Anyone who has the same problem?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: Frequent system freeze after upgrade to 2.6.37  PostPosted: 13.01.2011, 12:33



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
removing all but 1 kernel is a bad idea, as you found out.
debugging is impossible without:
- knowledge of your hardware
- you filtring logs (/messages, kern.log syslog etc) for hints

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
mimmozzoOffline
Post subject: RE: Frequent system freeze after upgrade to 2.6.37  PostPosted: 13.01.2011, 12:38



Joined: 2011-01-13
Posts: 4

Status: Offline
thanks for your answer Devil. Is it possibile to download the older kernel (2.6.36)? I can't find it on the repository.
Can you give me advice on what to do when system freeze happens? Like what logs to watch etc.
In between I post my hardware info (in attachment). Thanks in advance.

      Code:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 Host Bridge
00:02.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (ext gfx port 0)
00:11.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
00:12.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:12.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:12.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 3a)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 IDE Controller
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 LPC host controller
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge
00:14.5 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI2 Controller
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G98 [GeForce 8400 GS] (rev a1)
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
domiciusOffline
Post subject: RE: Frequent system freeze after upgrade to 2.6.37  PostPosted: 14.01.2011, 07:43



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 35
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Status: Offline
Mimmozzo, if you're still experiencing freezes, could you please provide output of:
      Code:
$ infobash -v3

I was also experiencing something I would describe more like random slowdowns (stalls in mouse movements etc.) but it was only on 2.6.37-0.slh.2 and upgrading to the latest (then 2.6.37-0.slh.4) everything was fine again.

Before trying to switch to 2.6.36 (which is dead in aptosid so you could perhaps switch to 2.6.32 from Debian unstable) have you tried upgrading to the latest 2.6.37?

_________________
domicius
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
mimmozzoOffline
Post subject: RE: Frequent system freeze after upgrade to 2.6.37  PostPosted: 14.01.2011, 12:05



Joined: 2011-01-13
Posts: 4

Status: Offline
I have 2.6.37-0.slh.4 now and I have no freeze whatsoever... Hope the problem is really gone. Thanks to all for your help Smile
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
mimmozzoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.01.2011, 16:54



Joined: 2011-01-13
Posts: 4

Status: Offline
Today I had another freeze. I was running Virtualbox, not sure if it is a useful information.

      Code:

Host/Kernel/OS  "frankenstein" running Linux 2.6.37-0.slh.6-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ aptosid 2010-02 Κῆρες - kde-lite - (201009132215) ]
CPU Info        (1) AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5400+ 512 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm svm ) clocked at [ 2800.000 MHz ]                                                                                                                       
                (2) AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5400+ 512 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm svm ) clocked at [ 2800.000 MHz ]                                                                                                                       
Videocard       nVidia G98 [GeForce 8400 GS]  X.Org 1.7.7  [ 1920x1080@50.0hz ]                                                                                                                                                               
Network cards   Ralink 802.11 bg WLAN                                                                                                                                                                                                         
Processes 123 | Uptime 2:30 | Memory 449.2/3966.9MB | HDD ST31000528AS Size 1000GB (44%used) | GLX Renderer GeForce 8400 GS/PCI/SSE2 | GLX Version 3.2.0 NVIDIA 195.36.31 | Client Shell | Infobash v3.34 
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 15.01.2011, 18:03



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
In your terminal window, run top and put this window where you can see it if the freeze happens. When the freeze happens, you need to see which process is using all the CPU resources -- this will tell you how to start troubleshooting.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
timrichardsonOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 16.01.2011, 02:20



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 66
Location: Melbourne
Status: Offline
From experience, even though it may sound a bit crazy, have you completely eliminated bad memory as a possible cause?

_________________
There are some who call me Tim
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio