Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
arelatensisOffline
Post subject: Aptosid and another OS (BSD)  PostPosted: 13.01.2011, 18:02



Joined: 2011-01-13
Posts: 2
Location: Moscow, Russia
Status: Offline
How can I add a entry to Grub2 for booting PC- BSD, installed on the same computer.
I Try to do that, accrding BSD handbook "Adding PC-BSD to Grub Version 2" at http://wiki.pcbsd.org/index.php/Grub (points 1-3), but I receive notification from Grub, that unrecognized file system ufs
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: Aptosid and another OS (BSD)  PostPosted: 13.01.2011, 20:27



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
you could try to run os-prober.
it usualy inttegrates other OSes.
but my knowledge of BSD is very limited.

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slhOffline
Post subject: RE: Aptosid and another OS (BSD)  PostPosted: 13.01.2011, 20:44



Joined: 2010-08-25
Posts: 736

Status: Offline
os-prober can't detect BSD slices or just ufs2 partitions, Debian/ GNU kFreeBSD (which uses MSDOS partitions and no BSD slices, but still ufs2 as filesystem) would work with this added to /etc/grub.d/40_custom - which certainly needs to be adapted for BSD slices:
      Code:
menuentry 'Debian GNU/kFreeBSD, with kFreeBSD 8.1-1-amd64' --class debian --class gnu-kfreebsd --class gnu --class os {
        insmod part_msdos
        insmod ufs2
        set root='(hd0,1)'
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set 4b7329fd02e595e5
        echo                    'Loading kernel of FreeBSD 8.1-1-amd64 ...'
        kfreebsd                /boot/kfreebsd-8.1-1-amd64.gz
        set kFreeBSD.vfs.root.mountfrom=ufs:/dev/ad0s1
        set kFreeBSD.vfs.root.mountfrom.options=rw
}
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
jaegermeisterOffline
Post subject: RE: Aptosid and another OS (BSD)  PostPosted: 25.01.2011, 01:44



Joined: 2010-09-16
Posts: 28

Status: Offline
If, for instance, PC-BSD is on /dev/sda4, try this:

      Code:

echo "Adding PC-BSD" >&2
cat << EOF
menuentry "PC-BSD (on /dev/sda4)" {
set root=(hd0,4)
chainloader +1
}
EOF

_________________
------------------------------------------
SI VIS PACEM, PARA BELLVM
------------------------------------------
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio