Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
CrustOffline
Post subject: Recent dist-upgrade causes cups daemon to stop  PostPosted: 02.02.2011, 05:14



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 30

Status: Offline
After a recent dist-upgrade, several of my machines show the cups daemon stopping to run at random times. Restarting cups makes everything work again, but after a while, cupsd is not running. Does anyone have any other info about this bug?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
drbOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 02.02.2011, 08:00



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 96

Status: Offline
I've had the same problem for a few weeks but haven't found any bugs reported. I haven't reported it as I'm not sure what's causing it.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
hypper242Offline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 02.02.2011, 08:42



Joined: 2010-09-15
Posts: 15

Status: Offline
same problem here.

kernel: 2.6.37-0.slh.2-aptosid-686
cups-common (1.4.5-2)

dont know any bug-infos.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
blackholeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 02.02.2011, 10:24



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 110

Status: Offline
I confirm that, all upgraded.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
arwaOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 02.02.2011, 21:16



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 183

Status: Offline
I do have the same problem. From the kern.log:
      Code:

Feb  2 21:04:07 oink kernel: [ 3753.246987] cupsd[1782]: segfault at 38 ip b77a64a9 sp bff8cab0 error 4 in cupsd[b7799000+6e000]
Feb  2 21:52:00 oink kernel: [ 6626.388909] cupsd[3929]: segfault at 6fd248b1 ip b8289520 sp bff3927c error 6
Feb  2 22:00:59 oink kernel: [ 7165.525810] cupsd[4390] general protection ip:b8dfced4 sp:bff56bfc error:0
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
CrustOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.02.2011, 05:00



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 30

Status: Offline
Yeah, it's been bugging me, but I don't know where to start to debug. Thought I'd post because I know it's can't just be me.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DeepDayzeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.02.2011, 14:27



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 616
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Probably something in the cupsd config or a bad ppd?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
drbOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.02.2011, 15:50



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 96

Status: Offline
There's been one ppd update since this started with me. I've been printing a lot from acroread over the last month and I'm wondering if there is a connection.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
finottiOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.02.2011, 18:09



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 318

Status: Offline
      drb wrote:
There's been one ppd update since this started with me. I've been printing a lot from acroread over the last month and I'm wondering if there is a connection.


I doubt it, as I haven't used acroread and have the same problem with cups.

Can any developer reproduce this, or it is just us?

Luis
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
slamOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.02.2011, 19:15
Team Member


Joined: 1970-01-01
Posts: 607
Location: w3
Status: Offline
I am collecting infos for a possible hplip-cups bug report/fix, as I have seen those segfaults only with some (not all) HP printers, hplip-cups and Cups. Could everyone please post kernel, versions of cups and hplip-cups used, and printer id?
Greetings,
Chris

_________________
an operating system must operate
development is life
my Debian repo
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Reply with quote Back to top
finottiOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.02.2011, 19:33



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 318

Status: Offline
      slam wrote:
Could everyone please post kernel, versions of cups and hplip-cups used, and printer id?
Greetings,
Chris


Here is mine.

      Code:

Host/Kernel/OS  "t510" running Linux 2.6.37-0.slh.16-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ sidux 2010-01 Ύπνος - kde-full - (201006131622) ]
CPU Info        4x Intel Core i5 M 520 @ 3072 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm vmx ) clocked at [ 2400.000 MHz ]                                       
Videocard       nVidia GT218 [NVS 3100M]  X.Org 1.7.7  [ 1366x768@50.0hz ]                                                                           
Network cards   Intel 82577LM Gigabit                                                                                                               
                Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6200                                                                                                       
Processes 167 | Uptime 6:10 | Memory 1153.3/3829.0MB | HDD ST9320423AS Size 320GB (33%used) | GLX Renderer NVS 3100M/PCI/SSE2 | GLX Version 3.2.0 NVIDIA 195.36.31 | Client Shell | Infobash v3.34


      Code:

root@t510[/home/finotti]# apt-cache policy cups
cups:
  Installed: 1.4.5-2
  Candidate: 1.4.5-2
  Version table:
 *** 1.4.5-2 0
        500 http://lug.mtu.edu/debian/ sid/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status


      Code:

root@t510[/home/finotti]# apt-cache policy hplip-cups
hplip-cups:
  Installed: 3.10.6-2
  Candidate: 3.10.6-2
  Version table:
     3.11.1-1 0
         50 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ experimental/main amd64 Packages
 *** 3.10.6-2 0
        500 http://lug.mtu.edu/debian/ sid/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status


The printer I am using is a network printer from the university: "Toshiba e-Studio 523 Foomatic/pxlmono (recommended)". I also use a HP Laserjet 3055 (also via network) at home, but CUPS is not showing it, so maybe I haven't configured this new laptop to use it yet.

Thanks for looking into it,

Luis
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
drbOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.02.2011, 19:44



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 96

Status: Offline
      Code:
Host/Kernel/OS  "hypnos32" running Linux 2.6.37-0.slh.16-aptosid-686 i686 [ sidux 2010-01 Ύπνος - kde-full - (201006131622) ]
CPU Info        (1) AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5600+ 1024 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm svm ) clocked at [ 2800.000 MHz ]
                (2) AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5600+ 1024 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm svm ) clocked at [ 2800.000 MHz ]
Videocard       nVidia G73 [GeForce 7600 GS]  X.Org 1.7.7  [ 1680x1050@50.0hz ]
Network cards   nVidia MCP55
Processes 135 | Uptime 3:57 | Memory 389.8/3296.0MB | HDD WDC WD3200AAKS-0,WDC WD5000AAKS-0,WDC WD6400AAKS-0,WDC WD15EADS-00P Size 2960GB (36%used) | GLX Renderer GeForce 7600 GS/PCI/SSE2/3DNOW! | GLX Version 2.1.2 NVIDIA 260.19.36 | Client Shell | Infobash v3.34


      Code:
apt-cache policy cups
cups:
  Installed: 1.4.5-2
  Candidate: 1.4.5-2
  Version table:
 *** 1.4.5-2 0
        500 http://ftp.uk.debian.org/debian/ sid/main i386 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status


      Code:
apt-cache policy hplip-cups
hplip-cups:
  Installed: 3.10.6-2
  Candidate: 3.10.6-2
  Version table:
 *** 3.10.6-2 0
        500 http://ftp.uk.debian.org/debian/ sid/main i386 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status


Printer is USB connected HP P2015d
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
horoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 03.02.2011, 21:04



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 21
Location: Berlin & Lindau, Germany
Status: Offline
Hi,

same problem here:
      Code:

2.6.37-0.slh.16-aptosid-686

cups:
  Installiert: 1.4.5-2
  Kandidat:    1.4.5-2
  Versionstabelle:
 *** 1.4.5-2 0
        500 ftp://ftp.debian.org/debian/ sid/main i386 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

hplip-cups:
  Installiert: 3.10.6-2
  Kandidat:    3.10.6-2
  Versionstabelle:
 *** 3.10.6-2 0
        500 ftp://ftp.debian.org/debian/ sid/main i386 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status

hp deskjet 5652 connected via socket://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:9101


Ciao, Martin

_________________
omnia vincit pecunia Sad
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 04.02.2011, 01:45



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
I'm not seeing the issue -- I did d-u, got the newest kernel, and has been running almost 2 hours.

      Code:
root@aptosidbox:/home# apt-cache policy cups
cups:
  Installed: 1.4.5-2
  Candidate: 1.4.5-2
  Version table:
 *** 1.4.5-2 0
        500 http://cdn.debian.net/debian/ sid/main amd64 Packages
        500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
root@aptosidbox:/home# apt-cache policy hplip-cups
hplip-cups:
  Installed: 3.10.6-2
  Candidate: 3.10.6-2
  Version table:
 *** 3.10.6-2 0
        500 http://cdn.debian.net/debian/ sid/main amd64 Packages
        500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable/main amd64 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
root@aptosidbox:/home# ls /etc/rc5.d
K01rsync          S01virtualbox-ose-guest-utils  S02gpm            S03avahi-daemon     S04saned
README            S02acpid                       S02hddtemp        S03cpufrequtils     S05bootlogs
S01ifplugd        S02anacron                     S02irqbalance     S03hal              S05samba
S01microcode.ctl  S02atd                         S02loadcpufreq    S03pulseaudio       S06rc.local
S01nvidia-kernel  S02cron                        S02smartmontools  S03vboxweb-service  S06rmnologin
S01rsyslog        S02dbus                        S02ssh            S04cups             S06stop-bootlogd
S01sudo           S02exim4                       S02vboxdrv        S04kdm              S06tpdaemon
root@aptosidbox:/home# infobash -v3
Host/Kernel/OS  "aptosidbox" running Linux 2.6.37-0.slh.18-aptosid-amd64 x86_64 [ aptosid 2010-03 Ἀπάτη - kde-lite - (201012262151) ]                                                                                     
CPU Info        8x Intel Core i7 950 @ 8192 KB cache flags( sse3 ht nx lm vmx ) clocked at [ 1600.000 MHz ] 
Videocard       nVidia GF100 [GeForce GTX 480]  X.Org 1.7.7  [ 1920x1200@50.0hz ]                           
Network cards   Marvell 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit                                                               
Processes 207 | Uptime 1:52 | Memory 755.8/5979.1MB | HDD OCZ-REVODRIVE,OCZ-REVODRIVE,KINGSTON SS100S2,WDC WD1002FAEX-0,WDC WD1002FAEX-0 Size 2136GB (2%used) | GLX Renderer GeForce GTX 480/PCI/SSE2 | GLX Version 4.1.0 NVIDIA 260.19.36 | Client Shell | Infobash v3.34         
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
aylaOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 04.02.2011, 05:38



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 50
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Hi,

think I had this issue, too. Sorry, I'm not in reach of this notebook (IBM thinkpad T30) for a few days.

Fresh install of aptosid APATE KDE full on tuesday 01.02.11 . Dist-upgrade to kernel version 2.6.37-0.slh.16 arch i686.
Cups and hplip-cups newest version.

Printer was a Konica-Minolta pp4650en, running with the ppd-file from Konica-Minolta homepage.

Could print one or three pages, then connection was lost.
Running configure-cups/maintainence once or twice brought back connection.

hth
ayla

EDIT:
Got acces to the laptop this night. This is the message from /var/log/messages:
      Code:
 cupsd[1847]: segfault at 65 ip 00000065 sp bfb22cec error 4 in libnss_files-2.11.2.so[b7180000+a000]


Printer is connected via usb.


Last edited by ayla on 07.02.2011, 06:10; edited 2 times in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio