Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
timrichardsonOffline
Post subject: aptosid 32 bit 64 bit, PAE  PostPosted: 05.02.2011, 08:28



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 66
Location: Melbourne
Status: Offline
Soon I will buy a new laptop. With 4GB probably. I would expect to use it for three years.
I've only ever used 32 bit linux.
My usage in general purpose, no games, but I run VMs (Windows) although not to do anything requiring lots of RAM.
General purpose means a lot of web use, thunderbird, and LibreOffice.
My current laptop has 2GB ram; I rarely use swap unless I have more than one VM running.

Does the 32 bit aptosid kernel support PAE?
Should I move to 64 bit for the new laptop?

I couldn't find this discussed in a FAQ or the manual, apologies if I failed to search properly.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
devilOffline
Post subject: RE: aptosid 32 bit 64 bit, PAE  PostPosted: 05.02.2011, 09:00



Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 491
Location: Berlin
Status: Offline
we do not support PAE in our kernels. it has quite some overhead. you should move to 64-bit, you will not see any difference in handling.

greetz
devil
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
timrichardsonOffline
Post subject: RE: aptosid 32 bit 64 bit, PAE  PostPosted: 05.02.2011, 13:25



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 66
Location: Melbourne
Status: Offline
OK, will try that. There's a lot of old Linux content warning of problems with 64 bit, but recent content is much more encouraging.

_________________
There are some who call me Tim
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject: RE: aptosid 32 bit 64 bit, PAE  PostPosted: 05.02.2011, 16:50



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
64-bit, 64-bit, 64-bit
On all 3 machines at home.
With just 1GB/2GB RAM.

I have seen no problem.

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
diblOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.02.2011, 19:40



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 302
Location: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Status: Offline
I have been using 64-bit sidux/aptosid for about 4 years now, on two different desktop platforms (I also have 32-bit on two notebooks). The only "64-bit" problem I ever had was when there was a debian packaging fiasco with ia32-libs in 2009. I did not check the upgrade warnings on the forum, and that d-u trashed my system. But that is the only example and only time that I ever saw a problem that you could say was due to running a 64-bit system (and certainly due to my own negligence as well).

On the VM, you'll need to use VBox. VMware does not support the current 2.6.37 kernel -- even the unofficial patches only support kernels up to 2.6.36. Fair warning.
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
LanziOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 05.02.2011, 22:58



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 126
Location: Hessen
Status: Offline
same for me. At minimum 2 years, probably nearly 3 years of 64bit.
Everything is okay!

_________________
Urlaub im Harz? http://pension-grueneinsel.de
 
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio