Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
BequimãoOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 08.02.2011, 17:48



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 14
Location: Mannheim
Status: Offline
      brokenpike wrote:
Could someone please provide a full rsync command to a specific aptosid iso on a specific mirror?

I cannot quite get the path and flags correct.

Cheers,

Pike


      Code:
# list-only
rsync -r --list-only rsync://ftp.spline.de/aptosid/release
# download
rsync -a rsync://ftp.spline.de/aptosid/release/aptosid-2011-01-geras-kde-full-i386-amd64-201102052200.iso .

Best wishes,
Bequimão

_________________
Bequimão (pronounced Be-ki-mão) is a brasilian revolutionary in Maranhão (? - 1685).
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
bfreeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 08.02.2011, 17:52
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 254

Status: Offline
I should have checked if someone else had answered when I previewed the post Wink

No options are needed to download or fix an existing iso.
      Code:
rsync rsync://ftp.heanet.ie/pub/aptosid/release/aptosid-2011-01-geras-kde-lite-i386-201102051540.iso aptosid-2011-01-geras-kde-lite-i386-201102051540.iso

If the file you have is the right size but wrong you might need to make the size wrong to force it to fix it (heanet at least refuses the -c option to use checksums as it places a large load on the server). You can make the size wrong easily by appending some rubbish to the iso with a command like:

      Code:
echo rubbish >> aptosid-2011-01-geras-kde-lite-i386-201102051540.iso


Note that has two > marks together for appending, if you only put one you would end up replacing the broken iso you have and need to download the lot again, so make sure you have >> and not >


Last edited by bfree on 08.02.2011, 17:59; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 08.02.2011, 17:58



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
The problem may be in the full-version which perhaps even now is uploaded as a huge combo of 32-bit and 64-bit.
I go for the Lite versions. KDE-Lite 64-bit, so never even look at the full.

My speed is 512K-bits/s, and I have the option to use the sod(speed-on-demand) with speeds upto 2M-bits/s at nominal
rates (AirTel) with 5 minute pulses. I use the sod for dist-upgrade and sometimes HD videos.

So, as stated in earlier post, I see no need.

Everyone, have a nice day.

dpt

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
brokenpikeOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 14.02.2011, 13:45



Joined: 2011-02-08
Posts: 3
Location: Ohio USA
Status: Offline
Thanks Bequimao and Bfree,

It works like a charm.

V/R

Pike
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio