Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
arlOffline
Post subject: low monitor resolution after dist-upgrade  PostPosted: 22.02.2011, 01:37



Joined: 2011-02-19
Posts: 32
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Status: Offline
I have been using an Asus 23.5 inch monitor with aptosid for about two months and it worked well at 1920x1080 resolution. I did a dist-upgrade and now the monitor will only run at 1280x1024 resolution with about three inches of blank space on each side of the desktop. The video card is a GeForce4 MX 4000 and a run of hwinfo shows it needs driver "nv" or driver "nvidia". My old Kubunto (on another hard disk) shows that it uses the driver xserver-xorg-video-nv and it runs the monitor at full (1920x1080) resolution nicely. This driver is not available on the aptosid.

There is a nvidia-glx driver on aptosid package seaarch, but the description says it will only work for GeForce 6xxx or higher.

I tried installing xserver-xorg-video-nouveau (as per a suggenstion on the aptosid newsgroup warnings, but it didn't help my resolution problem.

How do I get my full screen resolution back?

Al
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOnline!
Post subject:   PostPosted: 22.02.2011, 06:27



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 500
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Online!
      Quote:
I tried installing xserver-xorg-video-nouveau

What, exact, you have done?
Nouveau should support your old nv card good, so we need more advice.
I'm thinking, you run an old kernel, so you don't have the nouveau kernel-module. Without this kernel-module, nouveau does not work.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
arlOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 23.02.2011, 04:22



Joined: 2011-02-19
Posts: 32
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Status: Offline
I followed the directions given by "slam" in

http://aptosid.com/index.php?name=PNphp ... amp;p=5504

My kernel is:

arl@cledus-a:~/util$ uname -a
Linux cledus-a 2.6.37-1.slh.2-aptosid-amd64 #1 SMP PREEMPT Sun Feb 20 17:58:37 UTC 2011 x86_64 GNU/Linux

The nouveau module appears to be present via:

arl@cledus-a:/etc/X11$ grep -B2 'Module class: X.Org Video Driver' /var/log/Xorg.0.log
[ 19.288] (II) Module nouveau: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[ 19.288] compiled for 1.9.4, module version = 0.0.16
[ 19.288] Module class: X.Org Video Driver
--
[ 19.349] (II) Module vesa: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[ 19.349] compiled for 1.9.4, module version = 2.3.0
[ 19.349] Module class: X.Org Video Driver

Aptosid must be using the second driver (vesa) but I don't know how to make it use the first (nouveau).

Thanks for your reply, Al
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOnline!
Post subject:   PostPosted: 23.02.2011, 06:28



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 500
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Online!
Do not tell us prosa!
I want to see the Output of
aptosid-paste -s codepad /var/log/Xorg.0.log
dmesg | grep -i nouveau | aptosud-paste -s codepad
ls -al /etc/modprobe.d/ | aptosid-paste -s codepad
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
arlOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 23.02.2011, 18:42



Joined: 2011-02-19
Posts: 32
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Status: Offline
Here are the items you asked for:

arl@cledus-a:/etc/X11$ aptosid-paste -s codepad /var/log/Xorg.0.log
Pasting > 64 KB often tend to fail with codepad. Use --verbose or --debug to see the
error output from wget if it fails. Alternatively use another pastebin service.
Your paste can be seen here: http://codepad.org/KAc7bEWF

arl@cledus-a:/etc/X11$ dmesg | grep -i nouveau | aptosid-paste -s codepad
No input read. Nothing to paste. Aborting.

arl@cledus-a:/etc/X11$ ls -al /etc/modprobe.d/ | aptosid-paste -s codepad
Your paste can be seen here: http://codepad.org/AtVpK66M

Al
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOnline!
Post subject:   PostPosted: 23.02.2011, 18:45



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 500
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Online!
1. open /etc/default/grub with your favorite editor, remove vga=791 (as root)
2. update-grub
3. Reboot
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
arlOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 23.02.2011, 22:27



Joined: 2011-02-19
Posts: 32
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Status: Offline
I changed grub as you requested. Now the console uses the full screen instead of a central portion (with the first column missing). Unfortunately, kde acts the same with 1280x1024 resolution.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOnline!
Post subject:   PostPosted: 23.02.2011, 22:34



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 500
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Online!
Again and again and again!
Provide the relevant logfile, /var/log/Xorg.0.log.
dmesg | grep -i drm
lsmod | grep nouveau
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
arlOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.02.2011, 01:36



Joined: 2011-02-19
Posts: 32
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Status: Offline
root@cledus-a:/etc/default# aptosid-paste -s codepad /var/log/Xorg.0.log
Pasting > 64 KB often tend to fail with codepad. Use --verbose or --debug to see the
error output from wget if it fails. Alternatively use another pastebin service.
Your paste can be seen here: http://codepad.org/KOZivApa

root@cledus-a:/etc/default# dmesg | grep -i nouveau | aptosid-paste -s codepad
No input read. Nothing to paste. Aborting.

root@cledus-a:/etc/default# ls -al /etc/modprobe.d/ | aptosid-paste -s codepad
Your paste can be seen here: http://codepad.org/0kEZH766
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
arlOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.02.2011, 01:50



Joined: 2011-02-19
Posts: 32
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Status: Offline
These produce nothing:

dmesg | grep -i drm
lsmod | grep nouveau
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
towoOnline!
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.02.2011, 06:27



Joined: 2010-09-13
Posts: 500
Location: Pößneck / Thüringen
Status: Online!
Have you blacklisted nouveau?
Wat does modprobe nouveau say?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
BTOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.02.2011, 17:48



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 40
Location: Belgium
Status: Offline
What is in /etc/default/dmakms, /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/ and /usr/src ?
did you remove all traces off nvidia as asked by Slam ?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
arlOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.02.2011, 18:02



Joined: 2011-02-19
Posts: 32
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Status: Offline
I did a search and couldn't find any blacklist files that contained nouveau.

Here is an output for modprobe nouveau:
arl@cledus-a:/etc/modprobe.d$ cat /tmp/modprobe.txt | aptosid-paste -s codepad
Your paste can be seen here: http://codepad.org/mbYCQF9h
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
arlOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.02.2011, 18:14



Joined: 2011-02-19
Posts: 32
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Status: Offline
To: BT

      BT wrote:
What is in /etc/default/dmakms,?

There is no such file or directory.

      BT wrote:
/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/?

There is no such file or directory.

      BT wrote:
and /usr/src ?

linux-headers-2.6.34-0.slh.11-sidux-amd64 linux-headers-2.6.36-0.slh.3-aptosid-amd64 linux-headers-2.6.37-1.slh.2-aptosid-amd64
linux-headers-2.6.34-0.slh.9-sidux-amd64 linux-headers-2.6.37-1.slh.1-aptosid-amd64 linux-headers-2.6.37-1.slh.3-aptosid-amd64


      BT wrote:
did you remove all traces off nvidia as asked by Slam ?


Yes, I did.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
aylaOffline
Post subject:   PostPosted: 24.02.2011, 19:45



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 50
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
If nvidia driver was installed before:
have you tried
      Code:
apt-get install --reinstall xserver-xorg-core

to get the libs back nvidia has overwritten?

hth
ayla
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio