Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
ajeetOffline
1 Post subject: Gnome 3  PostPosted: 23.02.2011, 18:52



Joined: 2010-11-04
Posts: 5

Status: Offline
There is now a Live CD ISO available for those that are interested in seeing where the Gnome DE is headed.

http://www.gnome3.org/tryit.html

I ran it earlier today and I was pleasantly surprised. Prior to testing I wasn't hopeful due to the similarities with Ubuntu's Unity interface (which I have many issues with) but Gnome 3 actually works quite well.

Having just the apps you want on screen seems to create a distraction free environment and the core apps are integrated into the DE well, interactive desktop notifications are especially helpful.

Can't wait for this to hit Sid.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
DebianCloneOffline
Post subject: RE: Gnome 3  PostPosted: 03.03.2011, 16:11



Joined: 2011-03-03
Posts: 6

Status: Offline
there is no gnome on aptosid.
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
dptOffline
Post subject: RE: Gnome 3  PostPosted: 03.03.2011, 19:21



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 281
Location: New Delhi
Status: Offline
Ubuntu comes with Gnome.

_________________
In a lunatic asylum, everyone thinks that he is the doctor.
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address  
Reply with quote Back to top
darioOffline
Post subject: RE: Gnome 3  PostPosted: 03.03.2011, 19:40



Joined: 2010-11-27
Posts: 63

Status: Offline
A curiosity, does aptosid come without Gnome for a particular reason?
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ragupoOffline
Post subject: RE: Gnome 3  PostPosted: 03.03.2011, 19:48



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 29
Location: Copenhagen
Status: Offline
Yup, theres a reason: theres not enough developers that cares much about gnome that they can support it here. If youre into it, i think some ppl are allready working on it, but im not sure, ask in irc
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
detaosOffline
Post subject: RE: Gnome 3  PostPosted: 03.03.2011, 20:47
Team Member


Joined: 2010-08-26
Posts: 166
Location: floating in the ether
Status: Offline
#aptosid-gnome contains all of the members of the gnome team.

_________________
#aptosid-art ftw!
(what would cleary do?)
 
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject: Re: RE: Gnome 3  PostPosted: 03.03.2011, 23:52
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
      ragupo wrote:
Yup, theres a reason: theres not enough developers that cares much about gnome that they can support it here. If youre into it, i think some ppl are allready working on it, but im not sure, ask in irc


Thats part of the reason(s)
gnome breaks alot in sid, and i'm sure there are more reasons besides the 2 that are mentioned here
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
ConvBSDOffline
Post subject: Gnome3  PostPosted: 22.11.2011, 07:34



Joined: 2010-09-16
Posts: 30

Status: Offline
Hi,

Gnome 3 is now in sid.
I work for an gnome3 aptosid iso.
The eagers can find us in #aptosid-gnome channel.

Regards

Ovidiu
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio