Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
oddballOffline
15 Post subject: (solved) realtek RTL8191se ?  PostPosted: 21.03.2011, 20:41



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 107
Location: Skåne, Sweden
Status: Offline
Can somebody tell me how to get this wifi network device to work in aptosid? I have 64 bit, but if necessary I can install 32 bit.

Edit: fw-detect wants me to install r8169 but after doing that there is still no wireless card showing up in ceni.

Edit2: Manage to compile and install the driver from realtek. It works but that's not really the aptosid way I believe.


Last edited by oddball on 24.03.2011, 19:21; edited 1 time in total
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
sidwardboundOffline
Post subject: RE: realtek RTL8191se ?  PostPosted: 24.03.2011, 16:51



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 2
Location: Austria Inferior
Status: Offline
just to push the question up again:
is there an aptosid way??
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
oddballOffline
Post subject: RE: realtek RTL8191se ?  PostPosted: 24.07.2011, 16:42



Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 107
Location: Skåne, Sweden
Status: Offline
Until today I have been forced to install the driver provided from realtek after every d-u to make this network-device work. After doing d-u yesterday installing among others the new 3.xxxx kernel the network was there by itself Smile
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
piperOffline
Post subject: RE: realtek RTL8191se ?  PostPosted: 24.07.2011, 18:23
Moderator


Joined: 2010-09-11
Posts: 480
Location: cheektowaga, ny
Status: Offline
I will mark this as solved, unless told by you (oddball) otherwise Wink

_________________
debian sid | apt-get into it
 
 View user's profile Send private message  
Reply with quote Back to top
mauser1891Offline
Post subject: RE: realtek RTL8191se ?  PostPosted: 28.09.2011, 20:28



Joined: 2010-09-12
Posts: 1
Location: Western WA, USA
Status: Offline
This is also the same reason why I am waiting for kernel version 3+ for support also. I lack the 'Net connection currently to get/install aptosid thus forced to use another distro currently.
I do not consider it solved, but if you could post the step by step procedure. Then it would be "solved".
 
 View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger  
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 12 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by Zafenio